What We Do in the Shadows: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 62
March 29, 2019
I've seen the first batch of episodes of this series. And they're all so clever and genuinely amusing.
March 29, 2019
The series is far too silly to qualify as a horror show, but there's a giddy thrill within that silliness whenever one of the vampires takes flight, or transforms into a bat, or munches on the neck of an unfortunate.
March 28, 2019
But while the look, the beats, and the premise are familiar, the TV version of What We Do In The Shadows expands upon the vampire lore established in the movie in some funny and insightful ways.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
March 28, 2019
It seems to me that What We Do in the Shadows has more up its sleeve than just re-creating the vibe of the original.
March 27, 2019
This is an appealingly low-stakes series that's content to be silly and mildly perverse, and that packs a lot of jokes into its half-hour running time.
March 27, 2019
Quirky, droll and surprisingly dry given its preoccupation with drinking, the show serves up an amusing riff on vampire lore, and as a bonus, living in Staten Island.
May 20, 2019
A delirious feast of vampire comedy with nothing to envy its predecessor. [Full Review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 20, 2019
This is rambunctious, silly, dry and deadpan, and I will never say "crepe paper" again.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 18, 2019
All the necessary components are there, but fails to capture the magical chemistry of its source material nor conjure a unique experience of its own.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
May 14, 2019
With all the riches of the vampire myth in literature, folklore, art and cinema to plunder, What We Do In The Shadows is visually arresting, smart and witty.
April 21, 2019
What We Do in the Shadows works. It truly, pardon the pun, doesn't suck.
April 17, 2019
It works exceedingly well, although Mark Proksch is so far the stand-out, as an energy vampire playing basically a version of Gary Cole's character in Office Space. He bores people, and feeds off their energy.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
April 9, 2019
Clement and Waititi have brought the mockumentary-mundane style to a hair-raising Gothic situation with felicitous results: Every week brings more opportunities to watch the undead be mortified.
April 8, 2019
The humor is still very dry and character-driven, and the show is simply delightful.
April 4, 2019
Pleasingly nothing has been lost in its voyage across the seas, despite a whole new cast -- including the smashingly funny Matt Berry -- the TV show has captured the same vibes and dry humour of the original.
April 3, 2019
Ultimately, What We Do In the Shadows shines because of its fun tone and excellent cast. Everyone brings their best comedy chops and bites into the fun concept.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
April 2, 2019
Great dark humor and horror in worthy movie followup.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 2, 2019
A darkly funny "vérité vampire comedy".
March 30, 2019
The new series takes certain elements from the original 2014 film and takes them to even more bitingly clever places.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
March 29, 2019
A great series that already aims to position itself as one of the comedy revelations of the season. As fun as it is wonderful. [Full Review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 27, 2019
The drawbacks of immortality meet the farcical realities of present-day suburban life in this 10-episode series created by Jemaine Clement... is carefully crafted and hilarious.
Top Critic
March 27, 2019
The four leads are great, the jokes crisp and fast and funny, and the visual effects are employed just as effectively as in the movie, folded seamlessly into the handheld-camera aesthetic so they seem all the more uncanny.
March 26, 2019
It fits perfectly into FX's off-kilter sense of humor, and actually gets a little funnier with each episode.
March 26, 2019
So yes, these vampires still suck -- but in a unique series that otherwise just tickles.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Page 1 of 62