What We Do in the Shadows: Season 1 Reviews

March 29, 2019
I've seen the first batch of episodes of this series. And they're all so clever and genuinely amusing.
March 29, 2019
The series is far too silly to qualify as a horror show, but there's a giddy thrill within that silliness whenever one of the vampires takes flight, or transforms into a bat, or munches on the neck of an unfortunate.
March 28, 2019
But while the look, the beats, and the premise are familiar, the TV version of What We Do In The Shadows expands upon the vampire lore established in the movie in some funny and insightful ways.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Top Critic
March 28, 2019
It seems to me that What We Do in the Shadows has more up its sleeve than just re-creating the vibe of the original.
March 27, 2019
This is an appealingly low-stakes series that's content to be silly and mildly perverse, and that packs a lot of jokes into its half-hour running time.
March 27, 2019
Quirky, droll and surprisingly dry given its preoccupation with drinking, the show serves up an amusing riff on vampire lore, and as a bonus, living in Staten Island.
March 27, 2019
The drawbacks of immortality meet the farcical realities of present-day suburban life in this 10-episode series created by Jemaine Clement... is carefully crafted and hilarious.
Top Critic
March 27, 2019
The four leads are great, the jokes crisp and fast and funny, and the visual effects are employed just as effectively as in the movie, folded seamlessly into the handheld-camera aesthetic so they seem all the more uncanny.
March 26, 2019
It fits perfectly into FX's off-kilter sense of humor, and actually gets a little funnier with each episode.
March 26, 2019
So yes, these vampires still suck -- but in a unique series that otherwise just tickles.
Full Review | Original Score: B+