Wild Wild Country: Season 1 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Wild Wild Country: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
June 20, 2018
Rather than sitting on the edge of my seat, I became comfortable in its story beats and with its rhythmic editing. I found myself going days between episodes because my attention kept slipping.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
May 3, 2018
Although it might seem counterintuitive, part of what makes the series compelling (and seriously bingeable) is its relatability.
April 13, 2018
The tale of the Rajneesh commune in Oregon is a tale of regular people (and some extraordinary ones) in all of their beautiful, violent, loving, greedy, generous, selfish, ecstatic, manipulative, messy glory. And that's what makes it so good.
March 26, 2018
As with all excellent documentaries, it's really about so much more than appearances suggest.
March 27, 2018
Superb doc explores religious freedom, cults, xenophobia.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
March 14, 2018
At the series' conclusion, I was left feeling impartial, full of new questions but satisfied that another "cult" story had been told.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 24, 2018
Wild Wild Country...is a true story that seems too strange to be real, but with the sure hands of directors Chapman and Maclain Way, who weave this together with a keen artistic skill, it manages to feel not only tangible, but it provokes sincere emotion.
March 26, 2018
More than anything, though, it's about humans and the mad, stupid stuff we need to do to fill up our mad, far-too clever brains.
April 10, 2018
Forget all the click-baity reviews dubbing Wild Wild Country a "sex cult doc" - the truth is far more complicated and fascinating than a group of horny hippies living on a commune.
April 5, 2018
Wild Wild Country is hella addictive.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
March 15, 2018
Wild Wild Country's greatest failing is that it doesn't effectively interrogate the corruption and hypocrisy of the Rajneeshee organization...That said, you still gotta see Wild Wild Country. It's a crazy story.
March 22, 2018
Wild, Wild Country leaves audiences enraptured with a story that, at several points, sounds like the worst blend of tall tale, racial bigotry, and true crime drama that leaves you questioning motives at every turn.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
March 16, 2018
There's too much TV at the moment, but what a thrill to come across a subtle and strange discovery like this.
April 10, 2018
What's exceptional about Wild Wild Country is its episodic treatment manages to make the cult attractive: a sense of purpose, self-realisation, free love.
April 23, 2018
Sheela [is] a flinty ball-buster who is the incongruous star of one of the best documentaries I've seen in a while.
March 16, 2018
Wild Wild Country will both astound and frustrate you.
March 27, 2018
Wild Wild Country understands that behind every tabloid-friendly utopia-gone-awry headline is a group of people, however misguided, who earnestly thought they'd found utopia.
April 20, 2018
Isn't it just like a cult leader to let a powerful woman do all the work and then take the fall?
March 25, 2018
Wild Wild Country is quite incredible. It's a searing, almost unbelievable inside look at a controversial moment in history. This, coming from someone whose country elected a godman into political office.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
March 26, 2018
While each episode might have been more suited to 40-minute installments instead of hour-long slogs, Wild Wild Country is enthralling.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Page 1 of 2