Wu Assassins: Season 1 Reviews

August 13, 2019
"Wu" coasts on the same, all-important rule of cool every Hollywood action franchise save the "John Wick" movies (with whom this series shares actor Mark Dacasos) seems to have forgotten.
August 8, 2019
[Wu Assassins] harnesses Uwais' energy as both a fighter and an actor in an exciting fashion, and creates a giddy opportunity for martial arts awesomeness to flourish.
August 20, 2019
All in all, Wu Assassins is full of potential. It shines when it comes to character development and fight choreography.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
August 20, 2019
Earnestness can work with world-building-it certainly did for Netflix's absurdly straight-faced, dearly departed The OA-but not when it's as inconsistently utilized as it is here.
August 20, 2019
Wu Assassins started streaming on Netflix today and if you're looking to just have a nice time and watch some silly TV with some great fights this weekend, you could do a lot worse.
August 20, 2019
Because here's the thing: the show took some impressively big swings in trying to create an original fantasy showcase - and so what if it fell on its face sometimes in the process? It also did a whole lot right.
August 20, 2019
It's a pleasant surprise; an entertaining mixture of fantasy, action, and a little bit of melodrama. [Full review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 17, 2019
Wu Assassins is a fun, fast-paced fighting fantasy that excels in its delivery of awesome fight scenes and skilful camerawork. It loses its allure with dodgy CGI and weak script work, but makes for an easy and not particularly taxing watch.
Full Review | Original Score: 6.5/10
August 16, 2019
The storytelling is erratic and the special effects are conventional. But the series lights up in its battle scenes. [Full Review in Spanish]
August 14, 2019
A stupendous action series. [Full Review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 13, 2019
Fortunately, the show's strengths overpower its inconsistencies, making it a fun popcorn series that at least deserves another season.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
August 13, 2019
A hard-hitting supernatural adventure series that falters when the fights stop.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
August 13, 2019
I was so blown away with the camera work, the stunts and the commitment. You could tell a lot of time and love went into making sure these scenes were top notch.
August 9, 2019
Nine hundred and ninety-nine monks? Not enough. But 1,000 monks? Just right.
August 8, 2019
The clichés, plot holes, and stilted dialogue would all be forgivable if there were more fight scenes, and if the show wasn't so often soaked in its own sodden seriousness.
August 7, 2019
I think this show has potential. I like the cast. I like the premise. I like the Shaw Brothers vibes and that faint odor of tokusatsu I'm picking up on, too.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 6, 2019
Wu Assassins shines with its brutal and bloody martial arts action from Iko Uwais and Mark Dacascos. The same can't be said of the dialogue and some of the acting from the supporting cast.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 5, 2019
There's a lot to be hopeful for in Wu Assassins. So, here's to crossing all the fingers and toes we have that it delivers on that hope when the dust settles on its debut season.