Contagion Reviews

Page 1 of 12
John Hanlon
Big Hollywood
June 30, 2013

This high-stakes drama is infected with too many characters and a silly subplot.

Full Review | Original Score: 2.0/5
Will Leitch
Deadspin
June 22, 2013

This is a movie that will pound your pulse without having a pulse itself. It's quite proud of it.

Full Review | Original Score: C+
Roger Moore
McClatchy-Tribune News Service
January 9, 2013

"As slick and polished as this "real" version of "28 Days Later" is, it's an utterly heartless affair."

Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Jeff Beck
Examiner.com
September 19, 2012

What we end up with is a film that is not particularly bad, just one that seemed unnecessary since it's a story we've already seen many times before.

Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Kristal Cooper
We Got This Covered
September 15, 2012

Contagion may be a case of feverishly good filmmaking (and an excellent, if slightly more high brow, addition to the disaster movie genre), but ultimately it will leave you with little besides an admiration for Soderbergh's artistry.

Full Review | Original Score: 7.5/10
Jeffrey Overstreet
Filmwell
June 15, 2012

A drama of this magnitude deserves memorable, nuanced characters. [But] as a reminder that a single gust of panic can bring down civilization like a house of cards, it works.

Full Review | Original Score: B
Rob Gonsalves
eFilmCritic.com
April 30, 2012

Before Contagion is anything else, it's a master class in filmmaking - shooting, editing, making a movie move.

Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Michael Dequina
TheMovieReport.com
April 6, 2012

Soderbergh's detachment actually creates an effective air of understatement when working in tandem with the contrasting warmth and commitment of his cast.

Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Matt Neal
The Standard
February 28, 2012

If you're a hypochondriac or paranoid (or both), don't watch this film.

Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
R. L. Shaffer
IGN DVD
January 29, 2012

A bit emotionless and clinical, but Contagion is a pretty spot-on blow-by-blow of what it would be like if a real viral epidemic were to break out.

Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Shaun Munro
What Culture
January 25, 2012

The fiercely intelligent Contagion outdoes its genre competition precisely because it doesn't dumb itself down for our sake.

Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Jordan Hiller
Bangitout.com
January 20, 2012

Soderbergh, who is as skilled as they come at uplifting routine templates, gives the infection movie über-A-list treatment.

Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Kevin Carr
7M Pictures
January 7, 2012

At the heart of Contagion is the fear of a disease that can send the world into anarchy, a scenario which seems extreme but is actually dangerously realistic.

Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
John J. Puccio
Movie Metropolis
December 31, 2011

A first-rate cast, excellent acting, and a reasonably taut pace help a somewhat lackluster and sometimes melodramatic story line over its more-predictable soft spots.

Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Richard Knight
Knight at the Movies
December 30, 2011

No one becomes a zombie as in 28 Days Later but the trajectory here is about the same and 10 times more frightening because of its true-to-life, very probable scenario.

Michael W. Phillips, Jr.
Goatdog's Movies
December 29, 2011

A supercharged cross between an episode of CSI and a World Health Organization infographic.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Greg Maki
Star-Democrat (Easton, MD)
December 28, 2011

The disease/pandemic movie has grown up.

Full Review | Original Score: B
S. James Wegg
JWR
December 23, 2011

Steven Lederberg's realization of Scott Burns' original screenplay is more interesting for its statistics and protocols than gripping drama as the world comes to terms with a virus that threatens to remove one-in-twelve from the planet.

Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Linda Cook
KWQC-TV (Iowa)
December 22, 2011

I'm not making this up: I had a coughing fit during 'Contagion.'Luckily, I was sitting at the very back of the theater, so I was less likely (I hope) to add to the tension unfolding on the screen.

Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Steve Newall
Flicks.co.nz
December 7, 2011

Contagion is a reminder that we're hardly in as much control of the globe as we think.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 12