Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace Reviews

Page 1 of 11
November 20, 2015
There was a soul - a spiritual momentum - to the original trilogy that this new film lacks.
Kate Muir
Times [UK]
November 16, 2015
Do kids really want to follow a plot about intergalactic trade embargoes?
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Noel Murray
Nashville Scene
November 16, 2015
If there's anything really disappointing about Episode I, it's not being able to line up for Episode 2 tomorrow.
Stephen Cole
National Post
November 16, 2015
In his new work, Lucas often forgets his story to linger on sets. Perhaps more accurately, this is a film about sets and mythologies that come out of the cheesiest sci-fi tradition.
Andrew O'Hagan
Daily Telegraph
November 16, 2015
The visual effects in The Phantom Menace are so good that you find yourself not caring very much about Qui-Gon's prophetic murmurings.
Serena Donadoni
Metro Times (Detroit, MI)
November 16, 2015
As each magnificently choreographed set piece unfolds in The Phantom Menace, there's little doubt that George Lucas knows how to create populist entertainment at its best.
Alan Jones
Radio Times
November 16, 2015
Forget the overworked plot... Marvel instead at the state-of-the-art technical wizardry and fizzing action that's just enough to keep nostalgic wistfulness at bay.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Ann Hornaday
Baltimore Sun
November 16, 2015
Neeson and McGregor seem so focused on hitting their marks for the blue screen, that they barely make eye contact, let alone generate any genuine emotion.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Leah Rozen
People Magazine
November 16, 2015
None of the human actors here make much of an impression.
Top Critic
Joe Morgenstern
Wall Street Journal
November 16, 2015
What I can't comprehend is why the political details had to be so tedious and abstract. Will the kids of our nation and the world truly be titillated by trade wars and the spectacle of a do-nothing Senate?
Top Critic
November 16, 2015
Look, I wanted to love The Phantom Menace, too. I was an adolescent boy and would enjoy being one again for a couple of hours. But the movie has a way of deflating all but the most delusional of hopes.
Top Critic
Andrew Sarris
New York Observer
November 16, 2015
Mr. Lucas is not without a certain technocratic sagacity, but I don't think he's communicating even with the young as astutely as he once did.
Top Critic
Jay Carr
Boston Globe
November 16, 2015
Character and personality take a back seat on this ride.
Will Chadwick
We Got This Covered
December 13, 2013
This is just another 3D cash grab by George Lucas. If you didn't like the film before, you won't like the film now.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/10
John Hanlon
Big Hollywood
June 30, 2013
The Force may not be strong in this episode, but it's there.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Ben Kendrick
September 30, 2012
Anyone hoping the 3D would make-up for the film's many shortcomings, will probably continue to feel cheated by the first Star Wars prequel.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Roger Moore
Tribune News Service
March 23, 2012
We don't want to remember it's pretty bad. Then we do.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
March 8, 2012
Has a film director ever induced such terrible performances from such great actors? Liam Neeson - wooden, Ewan McGregor - monotone and the Oscar winning Natalie Portman - a speaking alarm clock!
Full Review | Original Score: 1/10
Martin Roberts
Fan The Fire
March 1, 2012
It hardly needs to be said that the 3D conversion here is nothing more than proficient, that it adds nothing and actually takes away some of the clarity and vividness of the film's varied colour palette.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Paul Chambers
February 27, 2012
Darth Maul is back, this time waving his wand in 3D. "Star Wars Episode I: The Phantom Menace" was poorly received by critics when it debuted, so does it fare any better with its new up-conversion? Not really. Paul Chambers, CNN.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Page 1 of 11