The Dark Knight Rises Reviews

Page 1 of 17
Randall King
Winnipeg Free Press
August 1, 2015
By the thrilling... Nolan satiates his taste for the big action set piece, but all is grounded in an intricately woven world of fierce loyalty and even more fierce enmity.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Michael Smith
Tulsa World
August 1, 2015
You should consider the overall brilliance of Nolan's series of "Dark Knight" films and wonder whether the next filmmaker willing to take on the caped crusader's story is batty.
Edward Johnson-Ott
NUVO Newsweekly
August 1, 2015
Lacking a central figure as dazzling as Heath Ledger's Joker, The Dark Knight Rises is not as strong as its predecessor, but it's still a doozy. Um, a violent, grim, nightmarish doozy.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
David Blaustein
ABC News Radio
August 1, 2015
My issues with it are few and didn't detract from my love for this film, which I believe you're going to love, too.
Emma Simmonds
The Arts Desk
August 1, 2015
The Dark Knight Rises succeeds because it's rooted in real-world experiences and fears.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
August 1, 2015
Intense action and emotion make for gripping viewing and along with a dash of playfulness that occasionally lifts the dark mood it feels like the comic book hero has been rightly adapted for our times.
Full Review | Original Score: 10/10
Scott Renshaw
Salt Lake City Weekly
August 1, 2015
It's a film with so much it wants to say that the words sometimes collide.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Ryan Gilbey
New Statesman
August 1, 2015
Nolan has become hooked on the grandiose, at times even the biblical. For anyone who admired the witty playfulness of his early films, it's a dark night indeed.
Jenny McCartney
Daily Telegraph
August 1, 2015
I respected The Dark Knight Rises; I didn't quite love it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
John Serba
MLive.com
July 28, 2015
Although often absorbing and on par with the quality of spectacle we expect from the franchise Rises proves that its predecessor is a film nearly impossible to follow.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Margaret Pomeranz
At the Movies (Australia)
July 28, 2015
Maybe not quite up to the standard of the first two in the series, but deserving of a very honourable mention.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Kim Newman
Sight and Sound
June 22, 2015
As befits the saga's engagement with the economics of Gotham City, a great deal of topical material floats about here, insufficiently digested.
Samuel Roberts
SciFiNow
June 22, 2015
The Dark Knight Rises is an intense and brutal viewing experience, easily the most emotionally exhausting of the three films.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Sean Burns
Philadelphia Weekly
May 3, 2015
A sprawling mess that basically reboots itself and starts all over again roughly halfway through its ludicrous 164-minute running time.
Christopher Lawrence
Las Vegas Review-Journal
October 17, 2014
Cold, bleak and brutal, it's easily the moviegoing spectacle of the year.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Jonathan Kiefer
Sacramento News & Review
October 17, 2014
The pleasure, however preposterous, is in Nolan's dedication -- creating, maintaining, and to an extent defending a universe in which people still take this stuff very seriously.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Clayton Davis
AwardsCircuit.com
September 14, 2014
If there were ever doubts about Christopher Nolan and his ability as a filmmaker, he puts all things to rest and declares himself one of the most innovative and visionary directors working today.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Brian D. Johnson
Maclean's Magazine
June 11, 2014
There's no contest. The Dark Knight Rises, which opens next week, is the most hotly anticipated movie of the summer. And yes, it lives up to the hype.
Glenn Dunks
Trespass
September 8, 2013
I was surprised at just how much of a great, thrilling time I had. It's a film that genuinely earns its stripes as a grand, epic work of cinema.
Top Critic
David Edelstein
New York Magazine/Vulture
August 3, 2013
[This] wrap-up wraps up few of the threads in the first two films, and that the climactic cliff-hangers are nothing special (as well as flabbily edited).
Page 1 of 17