License to Wed - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

License to Wed Reviews

Page 1 of 7
Jamie Russell
Radio Times
July 18, 2014
The dull romance between Sadie and Ben is revealed as little more than a prop for the comedian's patented schtick.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Christy Lemire
Associated Press
June 7, 2013
It's exactly what it looks like from the commercials -- a one-joke movie, and that one joke isn't even funny to begin with.
Ali Gray
TheShiznit.co.uk
November 3, 2012
I would honestly rather watch the Holocaust In Colour than sit through this again.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
John Lekich
Georgia Straight
July 6, 2010
It's enough to make anybody squirm.
Urban Cinefile Critics
Urban Cinefile
October 18, 2008
It's a bit short of laughs, but there are a few cute ideas in this formulaic, predictable romantic comedy.
Heather Huntington
ReelzChannel.com
August 25, 2008
Sadly, License to Wed lived up to my expectations 100%. That is to say, it was unfunny and uninspired.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Jeff Bayer
The Scorecard Review
March 3, 2008
As someone engaged, I felt they disrespected what marriage can and should mean. And most importantly, I'm offended at their attempt at cringe-worthy humor.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/10
Sandie Angulo Chen
Common Sense Media
October 31, 2007
Predictable wedding comedy is all about Williams.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
John J. Puccio
Movie Metropolis
October 24, 2007
You know it's bad when there are more interesting things happening during the outtakes in the closing credits than in the movie itself.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/10
Tim Brayton
Antagony & Ecstasy
September 12, 2007
It's not quite as bad as some would have it (it will not, for example, kill puppies), but it is really very horrible.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/10
Philip French
Observer (UK)
August 18, 2007
This movie is an ecclesiastical disaster and, like the Rector of Stiffkey, Williams should be thrown to the lions.
Mark Adams
Sunday Mirror (UK)
August 10, 2007
Forget Wedding Crashers... this is a plain old Wedding Disaster.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Derek Malcolm
London Evening Standard
August 10, 2007
The worst film I've seen so far this year.
| Original Score: 1/5
Neil Smith
thelondonpaper
August 10, 2007
The biggest letdown, is Williams, whose manic improvisations now bear all the hallmarks of a pub bore.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Anthony Quinn
Independent (UK)
August 10, 2007
Robin Williams is back in this horrifically embarrassing and misconceived wedding comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Peter Bradshaw
Guardian
August 10, 2007
Josef Goebbels had a home movie made of the failed 1944 Hitler assassins being hanged from meathooks with piano wire. It probably had more laughs, more fun, more feelgood moments than this family comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5

The Sun (UK)
August 10, 2007
The comedy, starring Robin Williams as a reverend who won't marry couples until they have passed several ridiculous tests, raised a good few laughs.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Wendy Ide
Times (UK)
August 10, 2007
Divorce is more fun than this film.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5

Daily Mirror (UK)
August 10, 2007
I now pronounce Licence To Wed a total flop.
August 10, 2007
License To Wed never escapes the combined trap of terminal blandness and a severe lack of decent jokes.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Page 1 of 7