Bandslam - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Bandslam Reviews

Page 1 of 5
Neil Pond
American Profile
September 29, 2011
A message that never gets old: On stage or in high-school hallways, sometime it's the losers that turn out to be the real winners.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 29, 2010
Fun without too much camp.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Mark Palermo
The Coast (Halifax, Nova Scotia)
November 4, 2009
What keeps Bandslam afloat is the way its sweet moments find weird ways of stepping into convention.
Richard Knight
Windy City Times
August 26, 2009
Though it wears out its welcome as it teeters rather than rocks toward the finish line, there is something inherently enticing in the old "let's put on a show" formula it utilizes.
Jim Lane
Sacramento News & Review
August 20, 2009
The music is the movie's best feature, but even that's not much...
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Armond White
New York Press
August 19, 2009
The barely hyped Bandslam must settle for simply being the best American movie this summer.
Jeff Vice
Deseret News, Salt Lake City
August 19, 2009
While it's pretty effervescent for the first hour, things really take a dire turn toward the end. The whole thing nearly becomes undone at that point.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
August 19, 2009
Though predictable, it at least tries to put on a fresh face to a tiresome old feelgood story.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Top Critic
Ben Mankiewicz
At the Movies
August 17, 2009
There is really just a lot to like here.
Top Critic
Ben Lyons
At the Movies
August 17, 2009
These are characters that make mistakes, they redeem themselves, and they grow throughout the course of the film.
Cosmo Landesman
Times (UK)
August 17, 2009
Bandslam is a mix of the icky, the corny and the comic, but there's no denying that it's fun.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Philip French
Observer (UK)
August 17, 2009
A witty, touching, cleverly plotted film with excellent music and it made me feel for the first time in years that I'd like to be an American teenager.
Derek Malcolm
London Evening Standard
August 17, 2009
The characterisations are just a little unorthodox and the whole thing, despite a soggy middle during which nothing much happens, goes with an above average swing.
| Original Score: 3/5
Austin Kennedy
Sin Magazine
August 16, 2009
My 6 year old enjoyed it. I guess I would just like a little more effort from the filmmakers. Maybe worth a DVD rental, though.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Linda Cook
Quad City Times (Davenport, IA)
August 16, 2009
Dear Todd Graff: Thanks, man.
Full Review| Original Score: 3.5/4
Jolene Mendez
Entertainment Spectrum
August 15, 2009
"Bandslam" is a terrific family film that showcases the importance of constructive teenage friendship.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Jim Judy
Screen It!
August 14, 2009
Parental Content Review
Top Critic
Stephen Whitty
Newark Star-Ledger
August 14, 2009
Bandslam is hardly the definition of a great movie, but it is pleasant and bright and doesn't insult its audience's intelligence. And that's as rare and welcome as a well-crafted three-minute pop song.
| Original Score: 3/4
Kevin Carr
7M Pictures
August 14, 2009
I would have had much more interest in this film if the cinematographer would have just handed the camera over to Vanessa Hudgens and turned her loose alone in her hotel room.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Loey Lockerby
Kansas City Star
August 14, 2009
You have to respect any movie that name-checks the Velvet Underground and assumes its tweenage viewers will get the reference -- or ask their parents later.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Page 1 of 5