Reviews

Jul 20, 2021
If anyone from the show is reading this, the reunion was nice, but no one needs a reboot, remake, revamp, re-imagining or regurgitative next-generation Friends project, at least not for a while.
Jul 1, 2021
The result: A moving special program that celebrates the actors and characters who built a worldwide phenomenon. [Full review in Spanish]
Jun 22, 2021
Friends, like all sitcoms, was always shot indoors by pure artifice, disconnected by complex from the real world. And this reunion neither could nor wanted to get out of its bubble. [Full Review in Spanish]
Jun 9, 2021
Whatever you were expecting, the reunion show, long asked-for and finally arriving 17 years (yikes!) after Ross, Rachel, Chandler, Monica, Phoebe and Joey walked out the door for the very last time, certainly lived up to it, and maybe even exceeded it.
Jun 5, 2021
Nothing interested me here, I seem to be looking for my kind of film in the right pew but wrong church.
Jun 5, 2021
Oh. My. God. Could this have BEEN any more schmaltzy?
Jun 5, 2021
I have to admit that I, personally, was utterly sold from the first moment that Ross Geller walked on to the remade set. Waves of fondness. Constant smile. Not sure what's happened to me. No one told me life was going to be this way.
Jun 5, 2021
Collectively, they look great for people you haven't seen in 17 years, but time marches on, even for the Jennifer Anistons of the world. Yet the appeal of Friends still rings clear after all these years, to multiple generations.
Jun 4, 2021
The stark contrast between their sheer physical beauty and crack timing in their heyday, and their slowed-down, vastly more hesitant selves in the present is, at last, something directly relatable.
Jun 3, 2021
Aside from a few underwhelming moments, this is the reunion we have been waiting for.
Jun 2, 2021
I was DEFINITELY a sceptic, unsure why we needed this re-union...is the conversation around Friends dated?...but this goes into each and every reason why the show was successful, and you can't help but relate hard.
Jun 2, 2021
This special is an exciting idea: Viewers were as invested in the lives of Friends' six actors as they were in the show, but it's often awkward to watch these stars get reacquainted in public.
Jun 2, 2021
Emitted the vibe of people who feel like everyone should be grateful they at last came down from their cloud to grace us with superficial nostalgia.
Jun 2, 2021
This nostalgia- fest, with a pretty standard group interview conducted with kid gloves by James Corden, doesn't probe very deeply... Still, it's warm and perfectly pitched to the sitcom's legion of fans.
Jun 2, 2021
For the most part Friends: The Reunion will serve only to make Friends fans sad. The cast itself seems far less interested in the show than its eager viewers.
Jun 1, 2021
It is a telethon guided by a tautology: Why is Friends so popular? Because Friends is so popular. Nostalgia, the special suggests, is its own value.
Jun 1, 2021
Friends: The Reunion is equal doses of sentiment and saccharine, hitting all the required marks of a television reunion. It has laughter, it has tears. It wheels out more surprise appearances than a rerun of This Is Your Life.
Jun 1, 2021
Cast members' reminiscing is fun, but HBO Max's show could have dug deeper about how they're doin'...
Jun 1, 2021
We could fill 18 pages-front and back-with the ways the boring, overly earnest Friends reunion is a letdown. And this is coming from a "Friends" superfan!
Jun 1, 2021
Yes, it's all a little Oprah-esque and sappy, but it's believable. Light, comic television can soothe like little else, when the time is right.