Jupiter Ascending Reviews

Page 1 of 4
July 6, 2020
No amount of visual pyrotechnics, no matter how spectacular, can save such a tired, weak story.
May 30, 2016
The storytelling is clumsy, the characters are befuddling, and the Wachowskis' action sequences - once so graceful and thrilling - are ugly, noisy, and worst of all, boring.
April 17, 2015
Aggressively dull and terribly paced.
March 2, 2015
Directors Lana and Andy Wachowski excel at creating fantastic new worlds lurking under the surface of our own, but in Jupiter Ascending, they've overstuffed the turkey with too many tangents and false endings.
February 26, 2015
Where were the Guardians of the Galaxy when we needed them? If only they had prevented the disastrous atrocity that is "Jupiter Ascending" from infiltrating Earth's movie theaters before it was too late!
February 20, 2015
I still don't know what Jupiter Ascending is about but, wow, what a ride.
February 10, 2015
A lot of people spent a lot of time and a lot of money making a lot of movie, but there's not much there.
February 9, 2015
The Wachowskis create a churning, swooping C.G.I. universe that's decorated to the corners of the frame without taste or imagination.
February 8, 2015
When it comes to bonkers, overcooked, overambitious sci-fi, writer/directors Andy and Lana Wachowski really are in a world of their own.
February 6, 2015
Don't even get me started on the aliens, many of whom would have been turned away from the cantina door in Mos Eisley.
February 6, 2015
Redmayne's farcical grandiosity harkens back to science-fiction serials of the 1930s, but unfortunately so does Jupiter's passivity throughout the film.
February 6, 2015
Jupiter Ascending is inane from first frame to last - the dialogue is so clunky, I wondered if George Lucas had been brought in to do the rewrite.
February 6, 2015
Upon exiting, my wearied delight with Jupiter Ascending coexisted with pure bafflement. But I exited knowing that I'd seen a movie no other filmmaker could have made.
February 6, 2015
This sci-fi-inflected fantasy has many a wince-worthy romantic exchange between stars Channing Tatum and Mila Kunis.
February 6, 2015
This movie often plays like a super-expensive, 21st-century version of one of those "Star Wars" knockoffs made around 1980 by people who weren't George Lucas.
February 6, 2015
Jupiter Ascending's early cleverness dries up quickly, especially when Kunis is offscreen, leaving us with just another incoherent sci-fi spectacle.
February 6, 2015
This kind of pandering FX padding, unnurtured by humor or heart, is what shifts Jupiter Ascending from a shambles to a fiasco. The Wachowskis wind up where you never expected to find them creatively: on the ropes.
February 6, 2015
A beautiful muddle from The Matrix-making Wachowski siblings.
February 6, 2015
A big, woozy, spacey fairy tale with a science-fiction exoskeleton and a core of pure mush.
February 6, 2015
"Technically, I'm an alien," Mila Kunis voice-overs, by way of introduction to this epically kitschy space opera ...
Page 1 of 4