Paper Towns Reviews

Page 1 of 2
August 20, 2015
The film is thankfully shorn of the sentimentality which weighed down The Fault in Our Stars.
August 20, 2015
Paper Towns is a breathtakingly vanilla adaptation of another soppy novel from The Fault in Our Stars author John Green.
August 14, 2015
Paper Towns is particularly good at pinpointing that certain point in teenage male friendships where the guys are getting older, but they still sometimes resort to silly voices and goofy humor when the girls aren't around.
August 13, 2015
Wolff has something, Delevingne has something, and no doubt the book had something, too - its devotees should find enough here to warm to, while the rest of us look on slightly bemused.
August 13, 2015
Paper Towns is way outside the US tradition of high-school movies that are funny and sharp.
August 7, 2015
Paper Towns is too nice. And that is, coincidentally, also the problem its hero has been facing.
July 30, 2015
This is sensitive and often winning in its depiction of adolescent behavior; the characters speak openly about their vulnerabilities, which makes them sympathetic.
July 26, 2015
Paper Towns is an exercise in artifice.
July 24, 2015
Paper Towns is a movie that I really liked, but I probably would have loved if I'd seen it when I was 13.
July 24, 2015
It's the rare movie that can sacrifice the clean lines of fantasy and melodrama for the messiness of ordinary life - that neither burnishes nor condemns the up-down turmoil of the teenage soul, but rather lets it be.
July 24, 2015
Lukewarm as a romance, but the charming young cast helps compensate.
July 24, 2015
Fans expecting more than a routine coming-of-age story had better prepare for a paper movie.
July 24, 2015
"Paper Towns" might be the only movie to ever pay tribute to Walt Whitman's poetry, Woody Guthrie's music and the empowering theme song from the "Pokemon" cartoon series.
July 23, 2015
Even literate voiceovers (this one isn't so much) telegraph that we're in for safe if dark ironies and rueful platitudes that inevitably resolve in some glib life lesson.
July 23, 2015
Sure, it's a movie aimed at teenagers in which an unpopular guy wants to get a popular girl, but there's a lot more to this story's map between points A and B.
July 23, 2015
If you're searching for smart, soulful teen entertainment, you can start looking inside "Paper Towns."
July 23, 2015
Neustadter and Weber, who also adapted "A Fault in Our Stars" for director Josh Boone, have a feel for the mundane moments of teen life that carry an emotional punch.
July 23, 2015
We've seen the elements that make up "Paper Towns" before, but that's OK. Schreier proves adept at avoiding clichés, and is helped by his actors.
July 23, 2015
A serenely bland adaptation of the John Green young-adult novel about a regular boy in love with the mystery girl next door.
July 23, 2015
A satisfying look at young unrequited love, bromances, independence and letting go.
Page 1 of 2