The Dark Knight Rises - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Dark Knight Rises Reviews

Page 1 of 17
October 23, 2017
... it's still better than many movies, especially blockbuster types, but...It's just not one I feel compelled to make people see, like I did with The Dark Knight.
September 7, 2017
The Dark Knight Rises is the taut and satisfying finale to a beastly franchise that not only proposed new interpretations of a beloved tale, but it also re-engineered what we imagine a superhero movie to be.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
August 9, 2017
The Dark Knight Rises is good enough though the storyline seems thin, a little better than a retread, and the special effects tinny.
May 31, 2017
Begins' grounded comic-inspired origin tale and Dark Knight's masterfully brazen crime saga are closed off with a convoluted but intriguing societal revolution epic.
July 14, 2016
The Dark Knight Rises may not reach the heights of its predecessor, but it is a worthy, epic conclusion to a trilogy that has raised the bar for an entire genre.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
June 30, 2016
'The Dark Knight Rises' tries to be very dark and serious. The problem is, that rubber-headed costume just looks sort of, well, comical, when things get too realistic.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
June 21, 2016
Nolan somehow never loses control - this is an accomplished and tremendously confident filmmaker, both in the execution of his thrilling chases and action beats, and in his manipulation of the complicated, multi-faceted narrative.
May 10, 2016
The Dark Knight Rises, awaited by the whole world as if it were the coming of a messiah, delivers on its promise as a mega-entertainment, but it's less dark, and with uncharacteristic inelegance along the way.
April 9, 2016
Nothing here compares to the spastic, crackling electricity of the interrogation scene between Batman and the Joker in "The Dark Knight."
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
August 1, 2015
By the thrilling... Nolan satiates his taste for the big action set piece, but all is grounded in an intricately woven world of fierce loyalty and even more fierce enmity.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 1, 2015
You should consider the overall brilliance of Nolan's series of "Dark Knight" films and wonder whether the next filmmaker willing to take on the caped crusader's story is batty.
August 1, 2015
Lacking a central figure as dazzling as Heath Ledger's Joker, The Dark Knight Rises is not as strong as its predecessor, but it's still a doozy. Um, a violent, grim, nightmarish doozy.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
August 1, 2015
My issues with it are few and didn't detract from my love for this film, which I believe you're going to love, too.
August 1, 2015
The Dark Knight Rises succeeds because it's rooted in real-world experiences and fears.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
August 1, 2015
Intense action and emotion make for gripping viewing and along with a dash of playfulness that occasionally lifts the dark mood it feels like the comic book hero has been rightly adapted for our times.
Full Review | Original Score: 10/10
August 1, 2015
It's a film with so much it wants to say that the words sometimes collide.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 1, 2015
Nolan has become hooked on the grandiose, at times even the biblical. For anyone who admired the witty playfulness of his early films, it's a dark night indeed.
August 1, 2015
I respected The Dark Knight Rises; I didn't quite love it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 28, 2015
Although often absorbing and on par with the quality of spectacle we expect from the franchise Rises proves that its predecessor is a film nearly impossible to follow.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 28, 2015
Maybe not quite up to the standard of the first two in the series, but deserving of a very honourable mention.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 17