The Way Back Reviews

Page 1 of 8
March 27, 2020
The Way Back is not only a soap opera - it's a beer opera.
March 26, 2020
As with Gone Girl, Ben Affleck's character in The Way Back feels frighteningly semi-autobiographical at times, but the film lacks the confessional bite of something like Shia LaBeouf's Honey Boy, or Jonathan Demme's Rachel Getting Married.
March 26, 2020
Gavin O'Connor beautifully uses basketball as a cathartic outlet, while Ben Affleck gives the best performance of his career. [Full review in Spanish]
March 25, 2020
I really enjoyed the movie more than I thought I would. For a movie about a very tragic figure, there were some good laughs...
March 21, 2020
Life is messy, but you wouldn't know it from watching this film.
March 21, 2020
Ben Affleck draws on his own boozing experiences for authenticity in this somber, simplistic redemption saga.
March 19, 2020
Despite its sports movie clichés, "The Way Back" is a modestly moving film, thanks to Affleck's sobering depiction of an alcoholic stumbling along the slow road to recovery and redemption.
March 17, 2020
Movies like this are a dime a dozen and almost always have the same frustrating, formulaic retelling, but The Way Back is still watchable thanks to Affleck's performance.
March 16, 2020
One of those tests to see if the positive elements of a film can overcome clichés.
March 16, 2020
Ben Affleck... plays this role in a deeply-felt and convincing manner.
March 16, 2020
The Way Back works in part because of Affleck's great performance, but I won't deny that Affleck's own baggage doesn't add an extra layer here, lifting it from a very good sports movie to a great and at times gutting addiction drama.
March 15, 2020
The Way Back is pretty standard sports movie fare, but the excellent and heartbreaking work of Ben Affleck turns it into something more...an absolute slam dunk.
March 15, 2020
The Way Back doesn't reinvent the wheel. It doesn't need to, as it's a solid little film that features a brave and vanity-free performance by Ben Affleck.
March 13, 2020
Ben Affleck's performance is both devastating and remarkable to watch in this realistic depiction of addiction.
March 13, 2020
Could have been a contender, ended up a bummer.
March 13, 2020
While Affleck has gone on record of saying that working on the film was both a therapeutic and cathartic experience for him, watching it from the balcony is a far drier experience.
March 12, 2020
The Way Back spends most of its run time making the difficult decision, and the final few minutes of the film offer a moment of hope that both satisfies and feels at odds with the grounded storytelling of the first two acts.
March 12, 2020
Sold as a sports movie, The Way Back wishes instead to render a harrowing portrait of addiction but only manages to evoke the bleariest stages of a midweek hangover.
March 12, 2020
I guess there's something poetic and in character about a solid Ben Affleck comeback vehicle finding a way to screw everything up in its second hour.
March 12, 2020
Reasonably entertaining, if predictable. It's great while it lasts but it ends before it ever really hits the kind of crescendo you expect in an underdog sports movie.
Page 1 of 8