Buffy the Vampire Slayer: Season 7 Reviews

September 30, 2019
But season 6 and season 7, however messy and polarising, actually throw into sharp relief why Buffy resonates 20 years later: they are works of art that come from a place of honesty.
July 12, 2018
While a lot of superheroes are plucky outsiders when shown in high school...Joss Whedon takes Buffy in a different direction.
July 10, 2018
A tightly written, emotional rollercoaster with memorable characters and one of the best superhero shows the '90s had to offer.
June 22, 2018
The thing that's interesting about season seven, in premise, is that it asks Buffy to be a leader to a group of people who don't really want to be there.
November 22, 2017
By the time of its seventh and final season, there was a feeling that many of the cast just wanted it all to be over - something unfortunately reflected in the performances.
November 22, 2017
However, season seven took this farther than it had to, losing the series' signature comedy and making it feel more like a chore to watch week to week than anything else.
November 22, 2017
The reason why Buffy is so relatable is there is no way the viewer could miss its metaphors.
November 22, 2017
Buffy Summers saved the world a lot. One of the worlds she saved was mine.
November 22, 2017
I... didn't really like this season. More clunkers than good episodes, but "Chosen" still stands as one of the best series finales I've ever seen.
November 22, 2017
Buffy the Vampire Slayer is still incredibly relevant and, let's be honest, it's a work of freaking art!
November 21, 2017
Subversive, funny and emotionally engaging: there is still nothing like this cultural icon.
November 21, 2017
You can violate the laws of the universe you created, using a raft of new characters in whom we have no investment, or you can drag nine episodes' worth of doing so over 22 hours of TV. Not both.
November 21, 2017
Buffy the Vampire Slayer, at its heart, has always been about testing what defines a hero - beneath the trappings of costumes and powers and tragic back-stories.
November 21, 2017
While it wasn't as good as what had come before, it still managed to pack one hell of a punch.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
November 21, 2017
Exactly the kind of big-budget finale the show needed to go out on a bang.
November 21, 2017
The new season of Buffy the Vampire Slayer is being touted as going back to basics after something of a convoluted, murky season, but so far, it strikes me more as a transitional one
Full Review | Original Score: A
November 17, 2017
But on TV, the Buffyverse still stands alone. I don't know when - or if - we'll see its thrilling, clever, moving, funny, feminist like again.
November 17, 2017
One of the most improbable pop-culture phenomena of recent times.
November 17, 2017
The reunion is no accident, but it is very satisfying, in a full-circle, complete-the-story sort of way. So is this last hour itself, one of the most satisfying series finales in years.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 17, 2017
I liked season seven by and large, [but] I feel like the having it follow the usual Buffy arc was a mistake, given that the ultimate aim of this season seemed to be to show how Buffy is a Chosen among Chosen, destined to change the rules of the game.