Inspector Morse (1987 - 2000)

Inspector Morse

Avg Tomatometer


Avg Audience Score

Series Info

The cases of author Colin Dexter's prickly, eccentric Oxford sleuth, whose passions include ale, crosswords and, of course, a good mystery. Indeed, these first-rate whodunits established `Morse' as PBS's longest running detective series. Sadly, the inspector's style of `inspirational methodology' came to an end in 2002 with the death of star John Thaw.

Inspector Morse Photos


No Tomatometer score yet...

1995, ITV, 5 episodes

No Tomatometer score yet...

1993, ITV, 3 episodes

No Tomatometer score yet...

1992, ITV, 5 episodes

No Tomatometer score yet...

1991, ITV, 5 episodes

No Tomatometer score yet...

1990, ITV, 4 episodes

No Tomatometer score yet...

1989, ITV, 4 episodes

No Tomatometer score yet...

1987, ITV, 4 episodes

No Tomatometer score yet...

1987, ITV, 3 episodes


John Thaw
as Chief Inspector Morse
Kevin Whately
as Det. Sgt. Lewis
James Grout
as Chief Superintendent Strange
Judy Loe
as Adele
Bernard Brown
as Wheatley
Andrew Bradford
as Trevor Radford
Clare Holman
as Dr. Hobson
Suzanne Bertish
as Cheryl Baines
Michael Kitchen
as Russell Clarke
Robert Stephens
as Sir Wilfred Mulryne
Keith Allen
as John Peter Barrie
Trevor Martin
as Alan Sowden
Maurice Denham
as Mandeville
Peter McEnery
as Phillipson
Adie Allen
as Barbara
Harriet Walter
as Dr. Esther Martin
Derek Fowlds
as Kurt Friedman
Paul Mooney
as Pathologist
Tessa Wojtczak
as Angie Howe
Anna Massey
as Lady Emily
Brian Cox
as Steppings
Gwen Taylor
as Margaret
Robert Lang
as Chief Superintendent Dewar
Simon Slater
as Norman Weeks
Patrick Malahide
as Jeremy Boynton
Richard Pasco
as Bryce-Morgan
Neil Dudgeon
as Michaels
James Laurenson
as Tony Richards
Patrick O'Connell
as Jack Vaizey
Pat Heywood
as Mrs. Mitchell
Andrew Ray
as Rydale
Malcolm Storry
as DCI Johnson
Jean Ainslie
as Cleaning Lady
Peter Blythe
as Lawrence
Kim Thomson
as Helen Radford
Aran Bell
as PC Pringle
Isabel Dean
as Isobel Radford
Maggie Shevlin
as Mrs. Daley
Paul Shelley
as Stephen Radford
Lionel Jeffries
as Charles Radford
Patrick Drury
as Frank McTeer
Peter Attard
as Mack Shaw
John Malcolm
as Williams
Alex Jennings
as Victor Preece
Betty Marsden
as Cynthia Preece
Wayne Norman
as Larry Broomfield
John Bird
as Linacre
Nicola Scott
as 1st Press Person
Richard Hodder
as 2nd Press Person
Richard Griffiths
as Canon Humphrey Appleton
Jacqueline Leonard
as Miss Sarah Spillers
Lisa Harrow
as Thelma Radford
David Griffith
as Timothy Perry
Katrina Levon
as WPC Nora Curtis
Gilly Coman
as Holly Trevors
Michael Culver
as Maugham Willowbank
Gavin Richards
as Steven Trevors
Rob Dixon
as TV Press Man
Pamela Jikiemi
as Press Person
Martyn Read
as Sgt. Brenner
Nick Hobbs
as Night Hawk 2
Bill McCabe
as Poacher
Naomi Capron
as Identikit Officer
Sarah Booth
as Jane Post
Mike Murray
as Mr. Fox
Kevin Stoney
as Heironymous St John
Antony Carrick
as George Granger
Martin Gower
as Fingerprint Officer
Show More Cast

Series Details

TV Network: ITV
Premiere Date:
Genre: Mystery & Suspense
Executive Producers: Ted Childs, John Thaw, Barry Lynch
Full Cast
Related News & Interviews