Star Trek: Discovery: Season 1 Episode 9 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Star Trek: Discovery: Season 1 Episode 9 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
María Garduño
Geeks of Color
August 15, 2018

The episode ends with an incredible cliffhanger...

Annalee Newitz
Ars Technica
May 22, 2018

A white-knuckle cliffhanger ended the first half of Star Trek: Discovery's first season. Frenetic, fascinating, and sometimes shocking, "Into the Forest I Go" raised more questions than it answered.

Monique Jones
Slashfilm
March 14, 2018

I'm so glad that, at the end of the first half of this season, Star Trek: Discovery has found its path forward.

Andrew Lowry
Independent (UK)
Top Critic
November 17, 2017

It does offer some pretty robust weight to the theories around Tyler being an unwitting Klingon fifth columnist.

Mark Trammell
TV Equals
November 14, 2017

To say the least, the mid-season fall finale of "Star Trek: Discovery" was everything a fan of the show could want, and might even have been ground-breaking enough to convince a few naysayers in the process.

Dave Nemetz
TV Line
November 13, 2017

I'll say it again: Never make plans for the future on a TV drama. It always leads to bad things.

Eric Renner Brown
Entertainment Weekly
Top Critic
November 13, 2017

The tension between science and violence - and a deftly paced episode - made for compelling viewing.

Full Review | Original Score: B+
Chris E Hayner
Hollywood Reporter
Top Critic
November 13, 2017

There were far more questions than answers in the Star Trek: Discovery midseason finale.

Lauren O'Callaghan
SFX Magazine
November 13, 2017

After a fairly 'meh' episode last week, Star Trek Discovery sees it's mid-season break in with one hell of a finale.

Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Andrew Todd
Birth.Movies.Death.
November 13, 2017

It doesn't even have the depth of Enterprise's Xindi arc.

Megan Davies
Digital Spy
November 13, 2017

With the main bulk of the action over, the episode falters and stumbles around loose ends and new ideas until it walks into a conclusion that seemingly launches another soft reboot akin to the shake-up we saw in episode three.

Kayti Burt
Den of Geek
November 13, 2017

Discovery is a show that is taking longer than I would like to find its footing, but I've waited much longer for far less interesting shows to get their narrative together and take me in bold, focused, new directions.

Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Ed Gross
Empire Magazine
November 13, 2017

Some solid elements, but the story contrivances -- particularly the relatively simple solution to the problem that has been plaguing them -- are infuriating.

Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Mallory Ortberg
New York Magazine/Vulture
Top Critic
November 13, 2017

There are few things I love more than a good "one day away from retirement" setup.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Kevin Yeoman
ScreenRant
November 13, 2017

The episode itself felt too eager to get to what was next on the docket, when it would have been better served ending this current chapter in a way that felt more earned than it was.

Diana Keng
TV Fanatic
November 13, 2017

Personally, although I may question the direction we seem to be heading, this was a great finale in terms of addressing many of the biggest issues introduced so far.

Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Liz Shannon Miller
indieWire
Top Critic
November 12, 2017

Thanks to the ending, there's a very clear endpoint for at least one storyline, but plenty more to be explored going forward.

Full Review | Original Score: B
Sopan Deb
New York Times
Top Critic
November 12, 2017

This week's episode, the midseason finale, felt like it was ignoring the previous eight episodes and all of their character work.

Zack Handlen
AV Club
Top Critic
November 12, 2017

"Into the Forest I Go" pulls out all the stops. Space battles! Explosions! Dead Klingons! PTSD! And a not at all terrible ending that leaves plenty of things to chew on during the two month break ahead of us.

Full Review | Original Score: B+
Scott Collura
IGN Movies
November 12, 2017

The first half of Discovery Season 1 ends on a solid note, even if "Into the Forest I Go" doesn't quite rise to the level of some previous episodes.

Full Review | Original Score: 8.2/10
Page 1 of 2