Whore - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Whore Reviews

Page 1 of 2
April 18, 2008
I didn't understand very well the importance of Denise Richards and Daryl Hannah for the movie. It could just be a documentary about prostitution.
April 9, 2007
Crap. There really is no point to this film. It reminded me as a horrible copycat of Taxi Cab Confessions. I fastforwarded thru the film.
November 1, 2011
At last! A brilliant film set to please the audience, fun through out! this specific film should be rated 100 % for it is magnificent.
November 25, 2011
this movie is a dream come true
November 21, 2011
BRILLIANT ACTING! I AM AMAZED!
July 17, 2009
pointless movie.
the director had a half intresting idea but completly missed the point
my 8 years old son is better at telling a story than her
½ May 26, 2009
The fiction part is awful. I mean, it is the so called story of a pure, innocent, smart girl that has to get into the "disgusting" bussiness of sex. On the other hand we have the true heart of the film: the inteviews; people involved on the prostituition talk about it. There we have many points of view, many discussions and the director desn't want us to have a lesson or something. That's what I liked: there's only the facts and the opinions without make an apologize neither a condemn of prostitution. By showing the facts, good or bad we can form a personal opinion. The edition makes the interviews more dynamical and less boring and the the directors follows a logic order.
La parte de ficción es bastante mediocre y trillada pero ayuda a seguir con más facilidad la verdadera parte importante de la película: la de las entrevistas. La directora nos lleva a un viaje interesante en el que los entrevistados, personas involucradas en la prostitución. Anque a veces es un poco gratuito la profusión de mujeres desnudándose y escenas de sexo, si mantiene una postura objetiva. Las entrevistas están editadas de manera muy interesante y al final no se nos exige tomar una postura a favor o en contra.
April 24, 2009
I am a fan of this movie. period.
February 5, 2009
Yo Puta !!! Just as women are tricked into being prostitutes and whores I was tricked into thinking this was a movie. This is a pathetic attempt to combine a documentry with a story line. BAD BAD attempt. I would advise this movie to be used as a drink coaster.
January 13, 2009
I sure learned a lot more about prostitutes, I suppose. I think this should have either been a documentary or a movie because it just didn't fit with it being both. I think they just wanted Denise Richards
September 30, 2008
This was worse than usually documents are. It looked so horrible and it was just so uninteresting. Awful movie.
September 22, 2008
se veut un pseudo "docu" sur la prostitution mais n'apporte rien de neuf au debat.
½ August 6, 2008
The highlight was the documentary-style interviews - it wasn't that the Richards/Hannah segments weren't good, it's just that they were so far and few between they felt underdeveloped.
June 17, 2008
I thought one girl looked like Paris Hilton. And the 2 students were redundant. Lots of shallowness, but still worth watching for some.
May 4, 2008
I watched this movie last night and I thought that the movie is an interesting mix of documentary (with many interviews in different languages with subtitles) and a slightly shallow and predictable but still essentially necessary storyline involving the famous Daryl Hannah, Denise Richards and Joaquim Almeida.
The movie shows us real interviews (at least that is what is claimed in the movie) intertwined and edited with the fictional story of the anthropology student Rebecca (played by Denise Richards) being drawn into the world of prostitution by her lack of money. The movie does not offer any new insights or solutions but that is not the point of the movie, I believe. The movie is not a real documentary. The movie offers an insight into the brutal and illegal background of prostitution. There is no universal statement expressed in the documentary-movie but I believe that if the movie makes one person think about the desperate situation of the people who are working in the sex industry then it has been well worth producing this movie. Personally, I would have preferred a more personal and more intense documentary approach to the subject but then the movie would probably not have appealed to that many people.
We, as the viewers, are left to draw our own conclusions from the statements expressed by the real prostitutes and clients. That is good. Daryl Hannah and Denise Richards are there to make us watch the movie, I believe. I think that both actresses did a fine and convincing job. I don't think that this movie will change anything about the existance or acceptance of prostitution but maybe it will make us more aware of what is going on around us.
April 18, 2008
I didn't understand very well the importance of Denise Richards and Daryl Hannah for the movie. It could just be a documentary about prostitution.
February 21, 2008
Que distinto el nombre de la pelicula en español y en ingles. En Español es "Yo puta" y en ingles "La vida". Creo que el primer titulo es mas apropiado porque trata de entrevistas a personas dedicadas a este oficio, puede considerarsele un esfuerzo serio, o una vacilada, el espectador decide.
½ February 14, 2008
I was attracted to this in the video store because I thought it was going to give me a unique insight into a world that I know very little about. It was in fact, quite boring and over produced, which detracted from believability. However, it does go to show that there is a very fine line... a very fine line!
November 23, 2007
I felt that the creator of the movie focuses on the importance of solitude and evenmore on sharing this solitude with the rest of us.
½ December 12, 2007
Misguided and unfocused are 2 good words to describe this film. It's basically a barrage of interviews with prostitutes of all calibers ranging from street walkers to high class social escorts. The interviews, obviously staged, were interesting enough and then they had to weaken an already threadbare vehicle by dovetailing an awkward plot that makes no sense to the rest of the interviews. A lot of the scenes were nothing but soft porn with no other purpose than titillation. Overall this is crap, neither here nor there, but I had to give it 50% because the interviews were at least interesting and fairly well written.
Page 1 of 2