Chaos

Chaos

6%
  • R, 1 hr. 13 min.
  • Drama, Horror
  • Directed By:
    David DeFalco
    In Theaters:
    Oct 10, 2005 Wide
    On DVD:
    Aug 22, 2006
  • Dinsdale Releasing

Opening

63% The Maze Runner Sep 19
65% A Walk Among the Tombstones Sep 19
43% This Is Where I Leave You Sep 19
82% Tracks Sep 19
93% The Guest Sep 17

Top Box Office

11% No Good Deed $24.3M
70% Dolphin Tale 2 $15.9M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $8.1M
19% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $4.9M
20% Let's Be Cops $4.4M
88% The Drop $4.1M
37% If I Stay $3.9M
35% The November Man $2.8M
35% The Giver $2.6M
67% The Hundred-Foot Journey $2.4M

Coming Soon

70% The Equalizer Sep 26
71% The Boxtrolls Sep 26
84% The Two Faces of January Sep 26
—— Two Night Stand Sep 26
91% Jimi: All Is by My Side Sep 26

Premieres Tonight

100% The Good Wife: Season 6
58% Madam Secretary: Season 1
—— Miss Marple: Season 6

New Episodes Tonight

—— American Dad!: Season 11
87% Boardwalk Empire: Season 5
53% The Lottery: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
78% Ray Donovan: Season 2
87% The Strain: Season 1
—— Witches of East End: Season 2

Discuss Last Night's Shows

91% Doctor Who: Season 8
—— Hell on Wheels: Season 4
40% Intruders: Season 1
90% Outlander: Season 1

Chaos Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Rob Gonsalves
eFilmCritic.com

It is bad, but not in an enjoyable way; it is violent and squalid, but not in a memorable way.

Full Review Source: eFilmCritic.com | Original Score: 0/5

September 24, 2007
Josh Bell
Las Vegas Weekly

Critics have called the film offensive and morally repugnant, but that's overstating things. It's far too inept to achieve anything that complex.

Full Review Source: Las Vegas Weekly | Original Score: 1/5

October 21, 2005
John Monaghan
Detroit Free Press
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Chaos will likely find an audience based on its infamy as the most brutal film ever made. Yet I don't think I'd like to meet anyone who would subject himself to this thing willingly.

| Original Score: 1/4

August 26, 2005
Frank Scheck
Hollywood Reporter
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Amateurishly shot, written and acted, the film lacks any redeeming values to compensate for its horrific aesthetic.

August 22, 2005
Luke Y. Thompson
Los Angeles CityBeat

There doesn't seem to be much point to the movie except to shock, and even that is in the seemingly phony guise of being socially responsible.

August 19, 2005
Robert Koehler
Variety
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Male exploitation denizens will file this under 'must-see,' but everyone else above legal age should consider the barf bags that distribdistrib Dinsdale Releasing is considering handing out during limited release.

Full Review Source: Variety

August 18, 2005
Kevin Crust
Los Angeles Times
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Chaos presents itself as a cautionary tale for young women and their parents but proves to be pure exploitation.

Full Review Source: Los Angeles Times | Original Score: 0/5

August 18, 2005
John Patterson
L.A. Weekly
Top Critic IconTop Critic

A prefatory title-card-cum-alibi suggests that the film's extreme brutality is intended 'to educate and, perhaps, save lives,' but that's little more than a nauseating rationalization.

Full Review Source: L.A. Weekly

August 18, 2005
Michael Wilmington
Chicago Tribune
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Definitely gave me the worst time I've had at a movie in years -- and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone but my worst enemies. Even then, I'd flinch.

Full Review Source: Chicago Tribune | Original Score: 0/4

August 11, 2005
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
Top Critic IconTop Critic

I urge you to avoid it. Don't make the mistake of thinking it's 'only' a horror film, or a slasher film. It is an exercise in heartless cruelty and it ends with careless brutality. The movie denies not only the value of life, but the possibility of hope.

Full Review Source: Chicago Sun-Times | Original Score: 0/4

August 11, 2005
Ken Fox
TV Guide's Movie Guide

Unlike so many other Last House rip-offs, this virtual remake is reasonably well shot and convincingly acted.

Full Review Source: TV Guide's Movie Guide | Original Score: 2.5/5

August 10, 2005
Laura Kern
New York Times
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Unless you enjoy viewing senseless, extreme acts of rape and mutilation, stay far, far away from this one.

Full Review Source: New York Times | Original Score: 0/5

August 10, 2005
Brian Juergens
Bloody Disgusting

To endure Chaos, keep repeating: "It's only a ripoff... it's only a ripoff..."

Full Review Source: Bloody Disgusting | Original Score: 0/10

August 9, 2005
Joshua Land
Village Voice
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Another depressing reminder of how far the genre has fallen.

Full Review Source: Village Voice

August 9, 2005
Donald J. Levit
ReelTalk Movie Reviews

Firmly among the most graphically violent, bloody movies yet made.

Full Review Source: ReelTalk Movie Reviews

August 2, 2005
Ed Gonzalez
Slant Magazine

Where's the lesson here? Don't let your kids out of the house? Don't ask for Ecstasy from strange men in the woods?

Full Review Source: Slant Magazine | Original Score: .5/4

July 27, 2005
Page 1 of 1
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile