Destricted Reviews

Page 1 of 8
Super Reviewer
½ November 25, 2008
Words fail me. I knew what I was getting into before renting this - an artistic look at porn in our society from the point of view in short film by various film makers. Not really something I would generally be drawn to, but I thought I would give it a go to see the Larry Clark one. Of all, his would be the best film - he interviews some young guys looking to get into the industry and some of the girls. That is actually quite informative and brings some much needed humanity to this collection. Much of it is pretty gross and sterile. None of it, (in my opinion) is titilating - not what I was looking for anyhow, but I can figure some people would rent it thinking that. I'm sure there is some big statements being made here, but it's over my head. If you like Larry Clark, may be worth a look just to check out his short film, but otherwise couldn't really recommend this.
Super Reviewer
August 26, 2007
An extraordinarily tedious collection of X-rated short art flicks.
Super Reviewer
½ February 21, 2008
Where sex meets art. And then they both meet boredom.
I know the films are made as art, and don't necessarily have to have a narrative (even though, one of the better shorts, Clark's Impaled has a very loose narrative, probably making it my favourite), and much it's much like watching the Cremaster films (speaking of Cremaster, Barney's film was pretty good in this too) only with more dudes whacking off. The one I rented this one for, Noe's, We Fuck Alone, was decent if only for it's audacity with it's strobe effect and constantly moving camera à la Irreversible, but when it comes right down to it, it's just more whacking off. My suggestion is, if you watch it, view it in sections just to keep hardcore boredom at bay.
June 11, 2009
We Fuck Alone and Death Valley as the only shorts that mar this compilation, this is recommended to those with interest in ultimate sexual explicitness with purpose (Art, har har). I'm really not a fan of compilations as they immediately bore me after my forty-minute attention span, but Destricted is a rare case where my curiosity led to front-to-back enjoyment. Sexually explicit (Porn but not-porn) documentaries, plot-less, art house and avant-garde shorts. More contemplative than titillating.
August 9, 2009
I watched this solely for Gasper Noe's short entitled "We Fuck Alone" (a clever take on his first film "I Stand Alone"). It's um... different is a good word. It's pretty much a porn film that's been Irreversible-ised. Meaning heartbeat soundtrack and strobing throughout. Ok. To get a better understanding do this: watch a porn film while blinking ultra fast. Yeah, that's about it. The only other short anyone would ever care about is Larry Clark's "Impaled." Starting off as an interview with a buncha dorky dudes who wanna be a porn star and ends up a hardcore porn film complete with a weak money shot. Well, at least he stayed away from pre-teens this time..
April 22, 2009
A shocking sexual film by some of the best artists in the world. Larry Clarks (Kids) was my favorite.
½ August 6, 2007
Watch this for "Hoist" Alone Matthew Barney's short about how man giving birth to industry, INCREDIBLE
October 14, 2012
Porn is an art and I love the industry. This so called "film" however is one random ass piece of work. Collaboration of shorts talking about the evolution of porn and it was all just downright silly especially the first 12 minutes. Only part enjoyable was the porn casting scene.
½ August 6, 2012
I did not read the film description before streaming this online. I saw the title and all the film festival emblems on the cover and thought, this should be interesting. Hard to believe this was marketed as a real film and not a porn.
April 22, 2011
Uma compilação da visão diretores polêmicos sobre sexo. A ideia parece boa, mas a execução foi péssima. Talvez isso aconteça pq por mais que polêmicos, esse diretores são tdos ruins rsrs. Tirando o segmento do iniciante no porno e o We Fuck Alone do Noé que são os 2 únicos que valem a pena. Imagino como seria se convidasse diretores fodas como Scorcese, Bertolucci, Almodovar e Ang Lee
December 30, 2010
(***): Thumbs Up

An interesting mix of erotic shorts. Like any other collection of shorts, some work and some don't. I've seen both the UK and US versions of this and both are pretty equal to me.
½ April 28, 2010
This is a collection of 7 erotic short films or segments, which by some are labeled art-porn. I decided to check it out when I heard that Caspar Noe had a contribution to this project called We Fuck Alone. This was mainly because I had seen his disturbing French movie Irreversible. We Fuck Alone might be equally disturbing in some ways, but unlike Irreversible it just isn't any good. And most of the other segments are even worse. The only segment that is somewhat interesting is called Impaled, which shows interviews with a bunch of people auditioning for that same film and in the end shows the two people being picked having sex. In short Destriced is a waste of time.
January 8, 2010
Porn = Art (apparently) in this collection of short films. I wanted controversy. I was bored. Noe's contribution was very disappointing. Having seen Irreversible I thought I was in for something much more intense. These movies are considered as art. I like art, but I didn't like this. This is the 'black line on white canvas' type of art. It's just a black line on a white canvas!
Page 1 of 8