• PG-13, 1 hr. 50 min.
  • Drama
  • Directed By:
    Nick Cassavetes
    In Theaters:
    Jun 26, 2009 Wide
    On DVD:
    Nov 17, 2009
  • Warner Bros. Pictures

Opening

97% Ghostbusters Aug 29
30% As Above/So Below Aug 29
36% The November Man Aug 27
98% Starred Up Aug 27
76% The Congress Aug 29

Top Box Office

92% Guardians of the Galaxy $17.2M
20% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $16.7M
37% If I Stay $15.7M
21% Let's Be Cops $10.8M
18% When The Game Stands Tall $8.4M
34% The Expendables 3 $6.5M
32% The Giver $6.4M
45% Sin City: A Dame to Kill For $6.3M
65% The Hundred-Foot Journey $5.3M
19% Into The Storm $3.8M

Coming Soon

—— Innocence Sep 05
—— The Longest Week Sep 05
—— The Identical Sep 05
67% Thunder and the House of Magic Sep 05
74% God Help the Girl Sep 05

New Episodes Tonight

—— Breathless: Season One
100% Falling Skies: Season 4
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
78% Ray Donovan: Season 2
46% Reckless: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
—— Unforgettable: Season 2

Discuss Last Night's Shows

91% Doctor Who: Season 8
—— Hell on Wheels: Season 4
39% Intruders: Season 1
89% Outlander: Season 1
46% Reckless: Season 1
—— Unforgettable: Season 3

Certified Fresh TV

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
91% Doctor Who: Season 8
83% Extant: Season 1
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
87% The Knick: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
73% Murder in the First: Season 1
89% Outlander: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
82% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

My Sister's Keeper Reviews

Vadim Rizov
Time Out
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Diaz is a whiny irrelevance, but sharp supporting work from Alec Baldwin and Joan Cusack makes the proceedings tolerable for boyfriends.

Full Review Source: Time Out | Original Score: 2/5

July 3, 2009
Betsy Sharkey
Los Angeles Times
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Where restraint might have raised up My Sister's Keeper, a heavy hand has brought it down.

Full Review Source: Los Angeles Times | Original Score: 2.5/5

July 1, 2009
Ben Lyons
At the Movies
Top Critic IconTop Critic

I found the movie to be really tough and challenging and enjoyable.

Full Review Source: At the Movies

June 29, 2009
Ben Mankiewicz
At the Movies
Top Critic IconTop Critic

I have a heart. I just don't want schlock.

Full Review Source: At the Movies

June 29, 2009
Lou Lumenick
New York Post
Top Critic IconTop Critic

My Sister's Keeper targets tear ducts so ruthlessly, it might as well be sponsored by Kleenex.

Full Review Source: New York Post | Original Score: 2/4

June 26, 2009
Colin Covert
Minneapolis Star Tribune
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Uneven but deeply moving.

Full Review Source: Minneapolis Star Tribune | Original Score: 3.5/4

June 26, 2009
Tom Long
Detroit News
Top Critic IconTop Critic

A surprisingly lovely movie about an absolutely awful subject, My Sister's Keeper features what also may be the year's first performance worthy of Oscar mention.

Full Review Source: Detroit News | Original Score: B

June 26, 2009
A.O. Scott
New York Times
Top Critic IconTop Critic

My Sister's Keeper takes on a very tough subject, but ultimately it is too soft, too easy, and it dissolves like a tear-soaked tissue.

| Original Score: 2/5

June 26, 2009
Lisa Kennedy
Denver Post
Top Critic IconTop Critic

My Sister's Keeper humanizes vexing questions about medical ethics without sacrificing rattling family drama.

Full Review Source: Denver Post | Original Score: 3.5/4

June 26, 2009
Joe Williams
St. Louis Post-Dispatch
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Although the compelling courtroom drama gets forgotten for much of the movie, My Sister's Keeper also is relatively realistic about the physical and emotional toll of disease.

Full Review Source: St. Louis Post-Dispatch | Original Score: 2.5/4

June 26, 2009
Bruce Demara
Toronto Star
Top Critic IconTop Critic

With solid performances and an intelligent script, My Sister's Keeper offers a moving and powerfully realistic portrait of a family stalked by tragedy that somehow manages to emerge from crisis battered but intact.

Full Review Source: Toronto Star | Original Score: 3.5/4

June 26, 2009
Joe Morgenstern
Wall Street Journal
Top Critic IconTop Critic

For all its awkward structure, the film is heartfelt and deeply affecting.

Full Review Source: Wall Street Journal

June 26, 2009
Claudia Puig
USA Today
Top Critic IconTop Critic

My Sister's Keeper takes a compelling ethical dilemma and turns it into formulaic pap by trying relentlessly to ensure an emotional reaction with sentimental exploitation and plot contrivances.

Full Review Source: USA Today | Original Score: 2/4

June 26, 2009
Ann Hornaday
Washington Post
Top Critic IconTop Critic

An adaptation that, although departing dramatically from such key elements as the book's ending, will please fans.

Full Review Source: Washington Post

June 26, 2009
Steven Rea
Philadelphia Inquirer
Top Critic IconTop Critic

My Sister's Keeper offers a couple of twists, one of them crucial and the other cruelly unnecessary and melodramatic.

Full Review Source: Philadelphia Inquirer | Original Score: 2.5/4

June 26, 2009
Mick LaSalle
Houston Chronicle
Top Critic IconTop Critic

My Sister's Keeper has a gutsy premise, but no guts.

Full Review Source: Houston Chronicle | Original Score: 1/4

June 26, 2009
Lisa Schwarzbaum
Entertainment Weekly
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Their message in My Sister's Keeper? Cancer sucks, but there's always the balm of beach scenes and an emo soundtrack.

Full Review Source: Entertainment Weekly | Original Score: C+

June 26, 2009
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Full Review Source: ReelViews | Original Score: 3.5/4

June 26, 2009
Rafer Guzman
Newsday
Top Critic IconTop Critic

A moving story, but the film's overly romantic tone rings hollow.

Full Review Source: Newsday | Original Score: 2/4

June 25, 2009
Stephen Whitty
Newark Star-Ledger
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Don't avoid My Sister's Keeper because it's a film about a serious issue. Avoid it because it approaches that issue like a very special episode of Grey's Anatomy -- complete with whining pop songs and all the comforts of cliche.

Full Review Source: Newark Star-Ledger | Original Score: 2/4

June 25, 2009
Joe Neumaier
New York Daily News
Top Critic IconTop Critic

A shameless attempt at manipulation that wants but doesn't earn audience tears.

Full Review Source: New York Daily News | Original Score: 2/5

June 25, 2009
Michael Phillips
Chicago Tribune
Top Critic IconTop Critic

You may cry at the film's designated crying times, approximately every 10 minutes, like the traffic and weather. Or you may not, and wonder instead why some high-gloss weepies treat their source material quite so shamelessly.

Full Review Source: Chicago Tribune | Original Score: 2/4

June 25, 2009
James Adams
Globe and Mail
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Less an exercise in catharsis than an obstacle course of premise-heavy, flashback-drenched plot points, it's an emotional flat-liner, even though virtually every character (including Alec Baldwin as the lawyer) carries some hurt or grief.

Full Review Source: Globe and Mail | Original Score: 2/4

June 25, 2009
Ty Burr
Boston Globe
Top Critic IconTop Critic

This book hasn't been adapted, it's been taken outside and shot.

Full Review Source: Boston Globe | Original Score: 2/4

June 25, 2009
Scott Tobias
AV Club
Top Critic IconTop Critic

It would take a heart of stone not to be affected by My Sister's Keeper, but the film's unceasing manipulation has a Medusa effect on the organ.

Full Review Source: AV Club | Original Score: C-

June 25, 2009
Connie Ogle
Miami Herald
Top Critic IconTop Critic

It's a family melodrama that never misses the opportunity for a heartbreaking, acoustic musical montage that brims with portent, as if we could forget that losing a child is hard and terrible.

Full Review Source: Miami Herald | Original Score: 2/4

June 25, 2009
J. R. Jones
Chicago Reader
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Surrounding and ultimately subsuming this ethical struggle is a fair amount of pediatric-cancer horror and mush, though Cassavetes is frequently bailed out by his cast.

Full Review Source: Chicago Reader

June 25, 2009
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
Top Critic IconTop Critic

My Sister's Keeper is an immediate audience-grabber.

Full Review Source: Chicago Sun-Times | Original Score: 3.5/4

June 25, 2009
Vadim Rizov
Time Out New York
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Cassavetes has unexpectedly toned down the over-the-top series of twists from the novel's last third, though restraint is still a relative concept.

Full Review Source: Time Out New York | Original Score: 2/5

June 25, 2009
Peter Travers
Rolling Stone
Top Critic IconTop Critic

The infuriating cop-out ending reduces the premise to mush.

Full Review Source: Rolling Stone | Original Score: 1.5/4

June 25, 2009
Randy Cordova
Arizona Republic
Top Critic IconTop Critic

A lot of things don't work that well in My Sister's Keeper, a tearjerker adapted from Jodi Picoult's best-seller. But one thing is guaranteed: The movie practically forces you to shed a tear or two.

Full Review Source: Arizona Republic | Original Score: 3.5/5

June 24, 2009
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Films that present a moral dilemma and make us consider the unthinkable are as rare as bargain popcorn in the summer. Cassavetes manages that feat and turns this weeper into a keeper.

Full Review Source: Orlando Sentinel | Original Score: 4/5

June 24, 2009
Rex Reed
New York Observer
Top Critic IconTop Critic

The writing team of Jeremy Leven and director Cassavetes have joined forces with a great cast to bring the best-selling book by Jodi Picoult to life with a purity that can only be called inspirational.

Full Review Source: New York Observer

June 24, 2009
Nick Pinkerton
Village Voice
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Makeup department realism alone can't redeem the dramatic fallacies surrounding it.

Full Review Source: Village Voice

June 24, 2009
Christy Lemire
Associated Press
Top Critic IconTop Critic

My Sister's Keeper is a shameless weepy, one of the most manipulative and fundamental of genres, but it also raises some surprisingly difficult and thought-provoking ethical questions.

Full Review Source: Associated Press

June 23, 2009
Kirk Honeycutt
Hollywood Reporter
Top Critic IconTop Critic

If you're going to make a weepy, there's no reason you can't make it with intelligence and insight as the makers of My Sister's Keeper have done.

June 22, 2009
Justin Chang
Variety
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Unsubtle, uneven and undeniably effective.

Full Review Source: Variety

June 22, 2009
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile