Armed and Dangerous - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Armed and Dangerous Reviews

Page 1 of 10
movieguru12
Super Reviewer
½ August 8, 2008
Funny,but not the greatest comedie!
middleeasternfilms
Super Reviewer
½ March 18, 2008
A typical John Candy movie, co-starring Eugene Levy (before he decided to hop aboard the American Pie milktruck), Meg Ryan (before she decided to leave her marriage for a telephone-slinging Aussie), Robert Loggia, Duke from Rocky and Mr Strickland from Back To The Future. Really enjoyable if you're into these types of movies, which I find a guilty pleasure.
deano
Super Reviewer
½ July 3, 2007
Average John Candy & Eugence Levy comedy movie, not much funny, but I was affecting on my favourite actress, Meg Ryan.
Super Reviewer
January 27, 2013
John Candy and Eugene Levy are Armed and Dangerous in this quirky '80s buddy comedy. The story follows a disgraced ex-cop and an incompetent lawyer who become armed security guards that accidentally stubble across a major criminal operation. The plot's fairly thin and the characters are pretty formulaic. But Candy and Levy have good chemistry, and they work well with this type of screwball humor. Despite the light story, Armed and Dangerous works as a silly, cornballish comedy and it delivers some good laughs.
DrStrangeblog
Super Reviewer
March 6, 2011
Eugene Levy in assless chaps is the memory from this movie burned into my brain. You've been warned.
iLeo
Super Reviewer
½ December 10, 2007
Hilarious! This will leave you laughing like crazy.
chadroesti
Super Reviewer
April 15, 2007
Yeah, it's a 50 caliber. They used to use it to hunt buffalo with. Up close! It's only legal in two states. This isn't one of them.
½ December 3, 2007
Frank Dooley (John Candy) and Norman Kane (Eugene Levy) are both have lost there way and are now teamed up together as security guards. The begin to suspect union corruption and are determined to get to the bottom of it. Candy provides the muscle and Levy the brains in this action comedy. Armed and Dangerous isn't great, but its easy to watch and has some character. Its pretty typical for a cop action comedy, but it has its moments.
½ February 18, 2012
Oh, John Candy, you made some wonderful movies (Uncle Buck, Planes, Trains and Automobiles), but this was a stinker. This may be the worst movie starring you, I think.
July 10, 2013
I saw this movie last night and I can't remember a damn thing about it. John Candy and Eugene Levy play a cop and a lawyer who lose their jobs and become security guards. Meg Ryan shows up as Eugene Levy's love interest. Uh...yeah. Not a lot of reality to be found in this stinker.
May 27, 2012
Candy and Levy have nice comedic timing together as bumbling and inept security guards having to play hero for Meg Ryan. It's a fun, if forgettable time.
½ August 24, 2007
I remember really liking this as a kid, but alas like most good memories it's not quite as good as you remembered. It just wasn't that funny.
February 25, 2012
Gotta love Meg Ryan, I seen this years ago and laughed my ass off , i finally ordered it on dvd the ending chase scene is awesome too
December 15, 2010
Was funny, had a great cast. John Candy and Eugene Levy make an odd pair, giving you a funny comedy.
½ November 18, 2010
It might be one of the quintessential 80s movies, right down to the soundtrack with the theme song and the 'score' throughout the movie. It's corny as all hell, but it gets some nostalgic points for John Candy.
March 28, 2010
If you have never seen this movie and you like comedy it's very very funny. Eugene Levey is every bit as good as John Candy.
½ December 20, 2009
This movie is not funny... it's silly. Candy and Levy run around like a couple of kids. It's worth watching if you can find it somewhere on the discount rack at the movie store!
November 24, 2008
A disgraced cop (Candy) and an incompetent lawyer (Levy) become friends after they take jobs as security guards to make ends meet. However, they are soon forced to rely upon each other for survival when they get caught up in the illegal dealings of the security company's owner (Loggia).

"Armed and Dangerous" is a fast-paced action comedy that careens from joke to joke, from screwball set-pieces to car chases with wild abandon. It features a fun collection of cartoony characters played by a cast that's mostly at the top of their game, but the film swerves so rapidly and severely through comedic styles that it gets in its own way and times, giving an impression that the writers and director didn't quite know what kind of movie they wanted to make. In some cases, it even feels like they didn't quite know what they wanted certain charaters to be.

The most obvious example of inconsistencies with the film's characters is in Maggie Cavanaugh, another employee of the security company and the manager's daugther, portrayed by Meg Ryan. In the earliest scenes she's in, she comes across either as ditzy or drunk, but later she apears quite intelligent (and there's no indication that the character hits the sauce to excess). She makes references to a bad marriage, but nothing ever comes of this in the film, nor is there ever any indication how she can afford the very large, very fancy house she lives in. All in all, the character is badly focused and developed, and, while it's most obivous with this character, the same is true of John Candy's Frank Dooley (who is alternatively very smart and very stupid, or very industrious or very lazy).

These lapses in good writing and firm direction detract from the overall cohesion of the film and lead to it being a good comedy as opposed to a great one. With just a little more effort on the part of the writers and the director, this could have been a classic, becauase John Candy and Eugene Levy are as good in this film as they've ever been.


Armed and Dangerous
Starring: John Candy, Eugene Levy, Meg Ryan, Robert Loggia and Kenneth McMillan
Director: Mark L. Lester
½ August 29, 2008
Probably one of his best, John Candy is just absolutely hilarious in this film. If anyone loved John Candy's films like I did when I was growing up, you'd like this one for sure.
Page 1 of 10