Caught Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Super Reviewer
September 26, 2012
A really smart, melodramatic, intense and interesting movie. The cast is good, everyone plays their part right. I really enjoyed it.
rubystevens
Super Reviewer
½ August 20, 2011
a fun film, mostly for robert ryan's terrific portrayal of a neurotic howard hughes like character. this is more soap opera than film noir but everything ophuls did is interesting. mason's doctor character is a little too noble maybe. at least he gets to play the good guy for once. this isn't on dvd but is streaming on netflix instant
jjnxn
Super Reviewer
½ May 8, 2011
Moody drama with fantastic acting. All three leads offer strong performances. Robert Ryan playing perhaps an even more odious character than usual. James Mason, no stranger to menace himself, handling the upright fellow this time and being very dashing about it. Interesting to see Barbara Bel Geddes this early in her career and playing a character so different from her famous Miss Ellie. Well directed with heavy use of shadows really making even the large rooms of the mansion feel closed in and oppressive. Watch closely towards the beginning and you will see Barbara Billingsley as a customer in the department store.
Harlequin68
Super Reviewer
August 20, 2011
In "Caught," Leonora(Barbara Bel Geddes) dreams of the finer things of life in her sweltering apartment. So, her roommate Maxine(Ruth Brady) promises she will get her a job at the department store where she works when she graduates from charm school. To afford to pay tuition, Leonora has to cut expenses like only being able to afford 25 cents for lunch. But graduate she does, and while working as a floor model, she is invited to a yacht party that is being thrown by Smith Ohlrig(Robert Ryan) who turns out to be very different from what she imagined.

Directed by Max Ophuls, "Caught" is a soapy melodrama that has a couple things going for it that push it above the purely routine. The first is James Mason who can do little wrong. The other is the movie's protofeminist message that strongly suggests that marrying for money is never the way to go. And it's not only women this is aimed at, as Smith has a bad heart, both figuratively and literally. However, at this point in time, women are not yet above the secretarial pool and it is hard to have sympathy for such a feckless lead character.
½ June 24, 2013
.. belongs as much to the murky world of American film noir as to the polished European dramas of high society social appearances and power games.
½ November 8, 2014
I really enjoyed this classic film.....
July 29, 2013
I was expecting a film noir (like Ophuls' later The Reckless Moment) but instead this definitely tilts into melodrama territory of the soapy Sirkian kind, laced with social commentary. Barbara Bel Geddes plays the poor girl who goes to charm school to find a way to marry rich and she does...to her detriment beause she marries Robert Ryan (playing a veiled version of Howard Hughes) who is seriously messed up. Later in the film, she escapes into the arms of James Mason (or does she?). Ophuls' gliding camera is here and he has a way of making the material sing.
September 28, 2012
Finely acted and peculiar with occasionally inventive camerawork. Begins in familiar territory and returns to touch base with the familiar from time to time, but becomes increasingly dark and transgressive. The ending would be tragic in most films, here it's played as a happy ending.

Imagine a classic Hollywood romance with Wednesday Addams behind the lens.
Harlequin68
Super Reviewer
August 20, 2011
In "Caught," Leonora(Barbara Bel Geddes) dreams of the finer things of life in her sweltering apartment. So, her roommate Maxine(Ruth Brady) promises she will get her a job at the department store where she works when she graduates from charm school. To afford to pay tuition, Leonora has to cut expenses like only being able to afford 25 cents for lunch. But graduate she does, and while working as a floor model, she is invited to a yacht party that is being thrown by Smith Ohlrig(Robert Ryan) who turns out to be very different from what she imagined.

Directed by Max Ophuls, "Caught" is a soapy melodrama that has a couple things going for it that push it above the purely routine. The first is James Mason who can do little wrong. The other is the movie's protofeminist message that strongly suggests that marrying for money is never the way to go. And it's not only women this is aimed at, as Smith has a bad heart, both figuratively and literally. However, at this point in time, women are not yet above the secretarial pool and it is hard to have sympathy for such a feckless lead character.
½ April 21, 2011
My first film by any of the Ophüls brothers. And I gotta say, despite it being old and a little boring, it was actually quite good.
I didn't expect it to be so well made and as emotional as it was. Usually I don't like this kind of films (Hitchcock's Rebecca, anyone?). But this one really surprised me. And the ending was very nice too...
June 1, 2010
Mit dem Kino von Max Ophüls habe ich mich dato nur sehr selten auseinander gesetzt. Das musste sich ändern, deshalb habe ich mir Caught angesehen. Der Film war auch wunderschön mit anzusehen, es gibt einige tolle Kamerafahrten und das Spiel mit Licht und Schatten passt auch ganz ausgezeichnet. Von der Geschichte her fand ich den Film nicht ganz so packend, caught plätschert teilweise ein wenig vor sich her und da können auch die tollen Schauspieler nicht viel dran ausrichten. Mit dem Ende bin ich außerdem auch nicht einverstanden, ganz im Gegenteil, ich finde es ganz gräuslich. Als sehenswert möchte ich "caught" aber dennoch bezeichnen, ein grandioses Meisterwerk ist dieser Film aber auf keine Fälle.
3/5
Page 1 of 2