Greetings - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Greetings Reviews

Page 1 of 3
Super Reviewer
½ March 30, 2012
Sometimes clever and funny, but DePalma's Greetings presents a lot of unfunny, unecessary and boring scenes; very dumb and no prespective to make somebody laugh with the poor screenplay. De Niro, however, show a nice acting. Greetings it's in my list of the most disappoint films that I ever saw. Rotten.
Super Reviewer
March 30, 2010
Almost too relevant for its own good, this is a hauntingly realistic interpretation of life in the 60s. It consists of draft dodging techniques, clues to the Kennedy assassination and making low budget porn. Following three friends, you really get a sense of what it was like to be a guy in his 20s at the brink of the Vietnam War. Itâ??s a subject that you donâ??t often see that much in film, but this does it so well that I donâ??t see the need to do it anywhere else. Brian De Palma presents a very experimental looking film that takes the camera places it doesnâ??t usually go. With a series of jump cuts, odd focus changes and panning, youâ??re being given a lens that wasnâ??t typical of the time period. It also happens to be Robert De Niroâ??s first starring role and an amazing one at that. Jon Rubin is an intellectual peeping tom that uses his manipulation skills to lure girls and film them stripping nude.
Super Reviewer
½ June 4, 2007
A quirky early film for De Niro, where it doesn?t really give his acting skills chance to shine through and yet, it is strangely intriguing. It feels like the type of movie which could have developed a Cult following, being an either love it or hate it type of film and yet I?m guessing as a lesser known title, this didn?t seem to be the case.
Super Reviewer
January 25, 2008
A fascinating time-capsule from Brian De Palma, featuring Robert De Niro. The pair had previously worked together in 1963 on a film called "The Wedding Party", which still hadn't been released theatrically by the time "Greetings" came out in 1968. You can tell how dated this film is by listing its primary interests: draft-dodging, the Vietnam War in general and conspiracy theories surrounding President Kennedy's assassination. In fact, just about the only topic the film deals with which hasn't dated is that ageless concern of young people the world over, getting laid. There's no discernible plot or a particular point being made here; it's just an irreverent, episodic, freewheeling, ballsy poke in the eye to the prevailing sacred cows of the time. De Palma's thematic interest in voyeurism can be traced back to De Niro's character in "Greetings", Jon Rubin, who would be further developed in the superior sequel, "Hi, Mom!" a couple of years later. Gerrit Graham is very funny as an obsessive critic of the Warren Commission, and there's a great scene where he meets a paranoid eyewitness to the JFK assassination in a bookstore: "There's a plaster cast of the pillow that was used to smother my aunt!"
Super Reviewer
½ September 22, 2006
The objectives of this peculiar film are clouded by its microscopic budget, and as a result it drags even at the short length of 88 minutes. The dialogue exchanged between the talented young actors is its only real appeal.
littlecharmer1959
Super Reviewer
August 12, 2009
An early film for Brian De Palma, and the debut role for Robert De Niro. "Greetings" follows three friends in late 60s New York all trying to avoid being drafted into the army to fight in Vietnam. We have De Niro's "Jon", the peeping tom (whose film within a film is one of the funniest sequences), then there's Gerrit Graham's "Lloyd", who has an obsession with the Kennedy Assassination, finally there's "Paul" (Jonathan Warden) who seems to be the most normal of the bunch. The little touches De Palma puts in give it a very Godardian feel, with title cards, jump cuts, speeded up film etc. As a flowing film it doesn't really work but as a series of satirical sketches I rather enjoyed it.
In my opinion a rather underated film from the counter-culture era, also De Niro reprised his role in the sequel "Hi, Mom!"
Super Reviewer
January 4, 2009
Very, very underrated film, and in my opinion, this is one of Brian De Palma's finest films. It is great to see Robert DeNiro in his humble years, and this is certainly not an exception for me. His performance and the film itself is very natural, but still with artistic touch. The amateurish look of the film added to its humor, and the editing was good. The ending determined the fate of the three main characters, each having a semi-tragic feeling, but still be giving your face a weird smile as the credit rolls. I was very surprised by "Greetings" as a whole, I never thought it will be this good, because I just picked my copy of this in a "sale" bin, so thank god I've bought this unique film. The non-linear approach to the film made the film one-of-a-kind, filled with quick cuts and colorful title cards to separate the episodic scenes. The "peeping tom" scene was very unforgettable, one proof that Brian De Palma, even at a young age, can make a film that is both artistic and humorous. The satirical approach to hot issues at the time was hilarious, especially the one about the JFK assassination and how can it drive a normal person into paranoia. "Greetings" is literally a hidden gem, one that I really did not expect to be that good.
January 19, 2008
A bumpy, amateurish production only of interest to fans of De Palma and De Niro. Neither leaves much of an impression with "Greetings," but fans might enjoy seeing the early stages of development for these two major artists. The film's other two leads, Gerrit Graham and Jonathan Warden, get the best jokes, involving JFK conspiracy and a dating saga, respectively.
September 1, 2009
This suceeds more as pop art than as a comedy. I was completely spellbound by this film. Everything about it is so off-beat and really strange that you can't look away. Everything is shot in really long takes, there are jump cuts, people look at the camera, and there's an assassination. Seriously, you will not expect what this film shows you, and I could see why someone could hate it, but I really dug it.
August 24, 2009
Interesting satire. I of course only bought this because of De Niro, but found that this movie had much more to offer. It's a quick watch that gives some memorable comedic scenes. Two that stick out are De Niro's peephole scene and the scene where the guy performs the Kennedy autopsy on his sleeping nude girlfriend. Also De Niro stalking the girl in the park is amusing as well. The movie isn't shot to perfection, but if you consider the time it was shot and the stages of the careers of the actors and director then you'll learn to love it. Im interested to see the sequel Hi Mom now.
½ April 21, 2008
Brian De Palma's breezy, Godardian first feature distills the heady atmosphere of Greenwich Village in an era of countercultural experimentation and anti-war protest.
½ January 6, 2016
It's hard to know what to make of this early film from Brian De Palma - it's sort of a cross between those Godard films where everyone just delivers monologues to the camera and those Warhol films where non-actors sit around and talk about or engage in trashy behaviour. And it's a comedy or filmed in a comic vein that is pretty easy-going and never really boring. Three guys try to get out of going to Vietnam by flunking their draft physical, debate the Warren Commission results, engage in computer dates, and create films that peeping toms might love. But mostly they just talk. Some of their monologues are dirty and some are funny. You feel like you are with a bunch of goof-offs who are pretty good at enjoying themselves. One of the guys happens to be Robert De Niro (in his first film). Allen Garfield has a good bit as a smut peddler. But, yeah, De Palma seems to have been a pervert from the start. Godard and Warhol may have had more to say.
Super Reviewer
½ March 30, 2012
Sometimes clever and funny, but DePalma's Greetings presents a lot of unfunny, unecessary and boring scenes; very dumb and no prespective to make somebody laugh with the poor screenplay. De Niro, however, show a nice acting. Greetings it's in my list of the most disappoint films that I ever saw. Rotten.
June 15, 2013
Brian DePalma's comedy starts off with the hillarious draft dodging sequence of scams but it is all down hill from there. The only other highlights are a decent performance from a young De niro and the JFK conspiracy stuff, which was quiet brave considering that he was assassinated just five years previously.
½ January 13, 2013
I didnt know what to think of this but I'm glad I got to see de niro's first
½ January 18, 2012
Again watching this after Redacted it has no real structure but the sum of all parts here make a sense and a coherent film. Interesting at times and just absurd at others, is it an anti-war film? who knows. just a mad cavalcade of episodes. more like a sketch show with the same characters
October 10, 2011
2nd feature length movie of De Palma !!! okay
October 10, 2011
Kinda have mixed feelings, but I guess I'll check it out.
½ September 20, 2011
You've heard of 'Pop Art' right? Well this is Peep Art.
October 21, 2010
In which De Palma continues to learn his trade, hone his themes and chronicle the late 60s disaffection of America's youth.
Page 1 of 3