• R, 2 hr. 14 min.
  • Drama
  • Directed By:
    Lawrence Kasdan
    In Theaters:
    Dec 25, 1991 Wide
    On DVD:
    Mar 13, 2001
  • Twentieth Century Fox Home Entertainment

Opening

92% Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes Jul 11
100% Boyhood Jul 11
15% Rage Jul 11
18% A Long Way Down Jul 11
—— The Class Of '92 Jul 08

Top Box Office

17% Transformers: Age of Extinction $37.1M
23% Tammy $21.6M
85% 22 Jump Street $9.8M
30% Deliver Us from Evil $9.7M
92% How to Train Your Dragon 2 $9.0M
48% Earth to Echo $8.4M
49% Maleficent $6.2M
54% Jersey Boys $5.2M
24% Think Like a Man Too $4.9M
90% Edge of Tomorrow $3.7M

Coming Soon

—— The Purge: Anarchy Jul 18
—— Sex Tape Jul 18
—— Hercules Jul 25
—— Lucy Jul 25
—— Guardians of the Galaxy Aug 01

Premieres Tonight

—— The Almighty Johnsons: Season 3
—— Hemlock Grove: Season 2

New Episodes Tonight

61% Crossbones: Season 1
82% Girl Meets World: Season 1
—— The Legend of Korra: Season 3

Discuss Last Night's Shows

25% Black Box: Season 1
100% Defiance: Season 2
40% Dominion: Season 1
41% Gang Related: Season 1
86% Maron: Season 2
94% Rectify: Season 2
—— Rookie Blue: Season 5
88% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
44% Working the Engels: Season 1

Grand Canyon Reviews

Page 1 of 15
Sajin P

Super Reviewer

August 9, 2010
An uplifting drama from Larry Kasdan that takes a peek into the modern urban life, about the fear and confined spaces within which everyone's living.
The plot revolves around six characters, each of them having trouble to get on with their daily lives, for several different reasons. As these lives serendipitously criss-cross each other, they're convinced eventually that there's hope at the end of the tunnel.
Conner R

Super Reviewer

May 18, 2010
Almost like an unofficial prequel to Crash, but it really doesn't have the unique style or writing. It's pretty obvious that this was made to be an edgy race film and it almost has no purpose aside from that. A lot, if not all, of the characters are one-noted. It's good for a casual viewing in your high school classroom, but it is so unrealistic and negligent that it can't be taken seriously.
Jens S

Super Reviewer

October 7, 2007
This ensemble drama follows the lives of a couple of Los Angeles residents in the early 90s and their exceedingly pessimistic view on their lives and the state of the world at that time. Carried by excellent performances (Kevin Kline, Mary McDonnell and Steve Martin in a surprisingly serious, yet not entirely humorless role) the film develops a quite mesmerizing pace, despite of a few slow scenes (especially the dream sequences could have used some editing), also thanks to James Newton Howard's great soundtrack score. The fact that the film doesn't feel the need to end in a pretentiously dramatic and bad way is another big plus. It's keeping its optimistic view throughout the small twists of fate the characters have to go through, stating that it pays off to care about others and trying to help them out. And the final moments of the film are as overwhelming and humbling for the characters as for the audience. A smart, touching and heart-warming experience.
Anthony L

Super Reviewer

September 29, 2009
Nice film but I?m yet to reach middle-age (I hope) so I?m not really ready for it. Interesting performance from Steve Martin
bbcfloridabound
bbcfloridabound

Super Reviewer

March 31, 2009
Givein this film 2 stars shows just how good of a person I really am, because this film SUCKS. Ahh I feel better now. Look if you caught the meaning of this film, there is help out there for you. The very best part of this film was the preview I saw of it on another DVD, where Danny Glover saves a white mans ass from becoming gutter food for rats in LA. After that it falls even farther into the gutter then the waste itself from the rat. I can only warn my friends to find something else to do for 1 1/2 hrs like swat flies or something as meaningful, cause if meanful is what your after its not to be found in this film. Oh I want to hit 1 star if I spend much more time thinking about this movie, ahhh 1/2 star is now coming to mind, Runnnnnnnn
TheGame90
TheGame90

Super Reviewer

July 6, 2008
I don't get it....what is this movie about? They are just living there lives...and suddenly in the middle of the story they arrive at the grand canyon and then it's over...it wasn't so bad....but I just don't get it
sainttom93
sainttom93

Super Reviewer

July 5, 2007
Not as good as it's cousin "The Big Chill" but still all right
deano
deano

Super Reviewer

November 26, 2006
The Lawrence Kasdan's unlifting drama film is quite alright, but "The Big Chill" is the best Kasden movie of the year.
Critique Threatt
Critique Threatt

Super Reviewer

April 7, 2012
I really enjoyed this picture and a film like this (another being Crash) is what Americans need to see today. It made me learn more about people who are living in a heartless society, coping with near death experiences and split second discisons to act. America will always be plauged with race, class, gender and other issues (Capatalism at it's finest) but films like these is what's needed because it's a wake up call for the better. "Grand Canyon" isn't a film about certain types of class of people is more about breaking down barries and seeing life from a different angle with characters who happen to bump into each other and hopefully audiences will seem to care.

Director Lawrence Kasdan's Grand Canyon is a gathering of random events, uniting the film's wildly divergent protagonists. Driving home from an LA Lakers game, Mack (Kevin Kline), an immigration attorney, is stranded in an unsavory part of town when his car breaks down. He is rescued from a gang of hoods by Simon (Danny Glover), an African-American tow truck driver, inaugurating a friendship between these two men. Mack offers to repay Simon's kindness by helping his sister (Tina Lifford) find an apartment in a better neighborhood, and by arranging a blind date between Simon and Jane (Alfre Woodard), a friend of Mack's secretary Dee (Mary Louise Parker). Woven into this fabric are the tribulations of Mack's best friend, a pompous exploitation movie producer (Steve Martin), who is later wounded in a robbery similar to the one threatening Mack at the beginning of the film; of Mack's wife Claire (Mary McDonnell), who adopts an abandoned baby, and disenfranchised son Roberto (Jeremy Sisto); and of Simon's nephew (Patrick Malone), who is contemplating joining a street gang.
Sunil J

Super Reviewer

May 28, 2008
A little sad and weird but I liked it, especially Mary-Louise Parker.
jjb3332003
March 23, 2009
I was very pleasantly surprised by this film. Wonderful directing, writing, and cast. Very profound. About as deep as...I won't say it.
June 21, 2008
A very well done character driven storyline, superbly acted by everyone in the film. The underratedness of this movie is a crime!
cah6d3
June 10, 2009
Tt represented a lot of crucial issues such as gang violence, youth in distress, the need to adopt children, infadelitity in marriage, movie makers that are too violent, people fighting for the right to make a choice, even if it meant losing their mate who was a cheater at least once, anyway.
September 2, 2008
A film that I like, but I'm not sure why. Lawrence Kasdan has always been more of a writer than a director, but he did make "Body Heat" after all. His script here is full of interesting characters and thoughtful dialogue, but I'm not sure to where it all leads. Maybe that was the point, but if I'm still asking that question after all this theorizing, then either Kasdan didn't do a good enough job as a filmmaker, or I'm just having a dense moment while watching it.
February 18, 2008
a good movie . I liked how different people who really didn't know each other had their lives intertwined with each other in a very good way.
November 20, 2007
2005's Crash was definitely influenced by this early 1990s film about the relationship of several LA citizens and how their interactions affect how they are as people.
Harobed
February 28, 2007
Had to watch this movie 3 times, before I really "got it", then I realized that it is really...DEEP!!! James Newton Howard's musical score frequently BLASTS in my car's CD player. I find it to be very Majestic, Grandiose, & Cool...just...like...The Grand Canyon Itself !
TedHuggableBare
February 24, 2007
A look into everyday lives of people that find a way to go to somewhere peaceful to forget about the pressures of life (for at least a moment). Wonderfully crafted film.
January 15, 2007
I really liked this movie with multi charracter lines. all the characters get developed and are intresting.
nickschuyler
January 3, 2007
There is some fragile force that links us together and breaks us apart - and Lawrence Kasdan tells the story well with a superb collection of actors and actresses.
Page 1 of 15
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile