Rob Roy Reviews

Top Critic
Owen Gleiberman
Entertainment Weekly
September 7, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Top Critic
Todd McCarthy
Variety
March 26, 2009
Rob Roy has its diversions, but they are unfortunately outweighed by some heavy baggage that contains not enough of substance.
Top Critic
Geoff Andrew
Time Out
February 9, 2006
Neeson makes a less dashing action hero than did Day-Lewis, but he brings enough gravitas to his role to endow his love for his wife Mary (Lange) and his conflict with Cunningham with real emotional punch.
Top Critic
Janet Maslin
New York Times
May 20, 2003
Rob Roy is best watched for local color and for its hearty, hot-blooded stars.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Peter Stack
San Francisco Chronicle
June 18, 2002
With such a cast and the setting of the Highlands, plus a story with a gold mine of dramatic potential, it is a puzzle why Rob Roy is so uninvolving.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Peter Travers
Rolling Stone
May 12, 2001
You always know where it's going even as it meanders for two and a half hours getting there.
Top Critic
Kenneth Turan
Los Angeles Times
February 13, 2001
No more than moderately satisfying.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Top Critic
Rita Kempley
Washington Post
January 1, 2000
Director Michael Caton-Jones and Sharp, both Scotsmen, are so caught up in the legend that they don't seem to notice that RR is about as heroic as a hatful of haggis.
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
January 1, 2000
Strange. I thought I had seen enough sword fights in movies to last a lifetime, but I was wrong.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
January 1, 2000
As embodied by Liam Neeson, Rob Roy is a tremendous protagonist -- a naive man whose belief in honor and whose love for a woman, family, and clan make him a figure to cheer for.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Desson Thomson
Washington Post
January 1, 2000
If you're in a forgiving, campy frame of mind (which I must have been the night I saw this), there's cheap pleasure to be gained from the experience.
Top Critic

Entertainment Weekly
April 7, 1995
Full Review | Original Score: B+