Opening

97% Guardians of the Galaxy Aug 01
—— Get On Up Aug 01
91% Calvary Aug 01
—— Behaving Badly Aug 01
47% Child Of God Aug 01

Top Box Office

58% Lucy $43.9M
61% Hercules $29.8M
91% Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes $16.8M
57% The Purge: Anarchy $10.5M
42% Planes: Fire And Rescue $9.5M
18% Sex Tape $6.1M
17% Transformers: Age of Extinction $4.7M
16% And So It Goes $4.6M
23% Tammy $3.5M
90% A Most Wanted Man $2.7M

Coming Soon

—— Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Aug 08
—— Step Up: All In Aug 08
—— Into The Storm Aug 08
—— The Hundred-Foot Journey Aug 08
86% What If Aug 08

New Episodes Tonight

73% Chasing Life: Season 1
—— Covert Affairs: Season 5
88% Finding Carter: Season 1
67% Matador: Season 1
—— Perception: Season 3
—— Pretty Little Liars: Season 5
—— Rizzoli & Isles: Season 5
—— Royal Pains: Season 6
—— Sullivan & Son: Season 3
57% Tyrant: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— The Fosters: Season 2
—— Hit the Floor: Season 2
—— Longmire: Season 3
—— Major Crimes: Season 3
73% Murder in the First: Season 1
—— Switched at Birth: Season 3
67% Teen Wolf: Season 4
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

Certified Fresh TV

85% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
83% Extant: Season 1
79% Halt and Catch Fire: Season 1
92% Manhattan: Season 1
100% Masters of Sex: Season 2
73% Murder in the First: Season 1
97% Orange is the New Black: Season 2
97% Orphan Black: Season 2
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
85% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

The Assignment Reviews

Page 1 of 6
bbcfloridabound
bbcfloridabound

Super Reviewer

February 11, 2009
Excellent CIA thriller, even though this is from the 1997 time frame, its still got plenty of action, and at the end of the movie when the KGB raids Carlos's home, it shows some pretty cool spy devices that are still in use today, ask any Swat Team Member. Reason I rented it is because it was on a 1997 Toronto International Film Festival List and I am reviewing all those movies as time permits. This movie has plenty of action and I feel that Aidan Quinn, Donald Sutherland, and Ben Kingsley played excellent parts. The Movie shows a part that?s supposed to be a Naval Officers house in Norfolk Virginia, sorry but their are no background mountains in Norfolk Virginia unless you count Mt Trashmore. But its an excellent movie with good chase scenes and stunts, A real life adventure, based on a real story. 5 Stars nothing less.
Steven V

Super Reviewer

April 22, 2008
This film deserves 100% for cinematography for its opening sequence. The movie is worth watching for that shot alone. And the even better thing is that the opening sequence also becomes the ending leaving you totally guessing.
xxdebxx
xxdebxx

Super Reviewer

November 20, 2009
This is a suspense thriller involving spies, lies, and the one and only CARLOS. The film stars Aidan Quinn in a juicy dual role, playing a United States Naval Officer named Annibal Ramirez, and the antagonist, the mysterious and notorious terrorist named Carlos. CIA man Jack Shaw (Donald Sutherland) masterminds a plot to get Carlos when he stumbles upon Quinn who is a dead ringer for the Carlos.
Well executed and well acted with an intriguing plot and superb performances from all the leads; a brilliant combination of Aidan Quinn, Donald Sutherland and Ben Kingsley.
A really tight film that shouldn't be overlooked! Recommended for espionage or thriller fans...
Rated R (for violence, language, fairly graphic sex scenes & nudity)
terris85017
terris85017

Super Reviewer

January 19, 2011
(1997) Here' the movie that got away....just saw this a couple of months ago and felt it was incredibly riveting, especially for being 14 y ears old now!! They say for each one of us there is a dopple ganger.....and (Aidan Quinn) is just that, a dopple danger for one of the world's most notorious terrorists. Ben Kingsley co-stars in a believable role as Amos, an Israeli C.I.A. agent, who first encounters "Annibal Ramirez" aka "Carlos' double" while he is on leave in the Middle East...

Donald Sutherland lends some bitter but human C.I.A. reality to the morphosis of Quinn into his notorious dopple ganger, "Carlos."
AlaineB
August 16, 2010
Aiden Quinn in the role of a naval officer who looks like Carlos the Jackal. CIA wants Carlos gone and the naval officer is forced to try to do the job.
jjb3332003
March 29, 2009
I can't believe this movie is not more widely well-known. It's a great action flick that also delves into the mindset of an undercover operative trying to adjust back to life as a civilian with a family. Aidan Quinn's acting is fantastic, with two powerhouse supporting actors in Ben Kingsley and Donald Sutherland. And, while fictionalized, it is also based on the true story of the infamous terrorist Carlos the Jackal. Well-written and great directing to boot.
February 24, 2007
Before the film "Munich" comes this based-on-actual events story of the Israeli response to the murders. An assignment takes on many faces, and shows a truthful view of the end that is revenge: taking poison and hoping the other person will die. Great depiction of Meir and the decisions she must have endured.
April 19, 2012
Alright as it goes, but not very good overall.
Sarfaraz Abbasi
October 13, 2011
The Assignment

The Assignment took me through great non-stop action and thriller. It gave me some remarkable chills all throughout the film, many heart-pounding moments in the film, which keep you surprised. Ben Kingsley gave a wonderful performance. I must say that films like The Assignment makes me love action-movies with top-notch thriller elements.
moviebuff18cab
July 27, 2008
THE ASSIGNMENT (1997)
April 16, 2011
One of the best i've seen in a long time. I have it in my collection.
March 18, 2011
Kako j emoguce i gde naci ovaj film, da li da je onlajn da se moze pogledati ili skinuti, pod kojim nazivom d atrazim ili n akome sajtu. Hvala svim akoji mi mogu pomoci
Dave J
January 21, 2011
Friday, January 21, 2011

(1997) The Assignment
THRILLER

Some are calling this one a bonified sequel to the 1973 film "The Day of the Jackal" but with a different spin on it this time! Navy officer (Aiden Quinn) whose a look-a-like to the real assassin/ terrorist calling himself 'The Jackal' eventually succumbs himself to be recruited and tortured by some gov't agency to mimic and become like the real one for the purpose of infiltrating the actual one from performing his latest hit on one of the country's leaders! With an interesting new spin and the acting chops of Ben Kingsly and Donald Sutherland despite it's budget makes this one a winner!

3 out of 4
brendan n.
January 28, 2010
solid action film that begins with a bang before settling into a great spy film. underrated and one film many people would never have heard of.
the great cast brings this story to life and with solid writing you are hooked until the very end.
M Z.
December 10, 2009
A slow starting, yet gratifying action thriller.
jazza923
October 25, 2005
better than average thriller, with some good action sequences. aidan quinn does a fine job in the dual role. a few impressive special effects help. there are some rather large holes in the plot, but film goes at a good pace. the basic idea is an interesting one.
CYNIC74
May 21, 2005
The Assignment is a pretty damn good B grade spy thriller with solid performances throughout (Kingsley, Quinn, Sutherland). Definitely worth a rental and keep an eye out on the ambiguous ending. Or is it?[/color][/size][/font][/center]
Page 1 of 6
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile