Joan of Arc - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Joan of Arc Reviews

Page 1 of 26
Super Reviewer
March 8, 2007
This long TV movie is really powerful, great story, wonderful cast, memorable quotes and great locations. I love the historical and biopic of Joan of Arc at the first time that I ever saw and the portrayal of Joan is created perfectly by a young and beautiful actress, Leelee Sobieski.
Super Reviewer
½ August 26, 2010
See the Milla Jovovich version. Spielberg produced this one I think.
½ October 26, 2012
It might be a better movie than I presume, but after 20 minutes of torture aka insane boredom, I surrendered. I'd much rather read a book about Jeanne d'Arc's life.
June 26, 2008
I kind of knew it would be a waste, but I didn't realize how long of a waste it would be-3 hours. Sobieski can't carry the weight of her character and the only decent actors were probably the general and bishop. The directing was terrible and the film was like a soap opera with lots of lingering shots of anguished faces crying no over and over. Several scenes could've been shortened and were way too long and overdrawn. The movie was way too dramatic and cheesy with lots of bad acting. I was really bored and the action scenes were some of the worst I've ever seen, especially the one scene in the woods with the archers in the beginning. Sobieski is truly too young and naive to play her character and she is constantly giving a pompous smile. The saint deserves a better film.
½ April 7, 2010
really liked this movie, our local library had a copy and we borrowed it, 2hrs and 20 minutes worth watching
May 1, 2009
I absolutely love this movie. This has got to be one of my favorite movies. Absolutely amazing movie. I recommend it.
½ March 3, 2008
This was an excellent presentation of Joan's story, especially when you consider made for TV, but I still prefer "The Messenger" over this.
November 3, 2007
Believe it or not?this is good movie to watch with a bunch of marines, and a bunch of beer, and a typhoon going outside. . .least when we were in Okinawa, we thought so.
September 29, 2007
One of the top movies in my list, the adaption of Joan of Arc struck gold when casting Leelee Sobieski as the lead!
February 8, 2007
This made for TV movie is one of the better religious epics in quite some time. I've found that most of my friend's fail to see it in the same light, so maybe I just have a thing for LeeLee Sobieski. The film has a pretty good B level cast that does a wonderful job of telling the story. The movie The Messenger was released in theaters around the same time, so I think this film may have been overshadowed a bit, despite being a better film.
½ April 7, 2007
I loved this movie and Joan of Arc is one of the poeple in History that I look up to and try to be like. I hope one day I'm somewhat like her.
March 13, 2007
I don' think Leelee Sobieski was the best person for this role, but she did get better toward the end. Good movie otherwise.
January 24, 2007
This is my absolute favorite of the Joan Of Arc movies that was out in the 90's.
I also saw the messenger as well, But wasn't as great as this one was. Although Milla Jovich is an awsome actress.
June 8, 2006
Great movie, and haveing lelee playing joan wasn't the best move, but she did an okay job on this one!
January 22, 2015
I think Leelee Sobieski did a marvelous job in this movie, portraying Joan of Arc as she really was, confident, intelligent, courageous, and inspiring. The medieval castles from the East Czech Republic added to understanding the times that Joan lived in. I thought Chad Willett did a marvelous job as Jean De Metz, Joan's follower and friend. The battle scene of the taking of Les Tourelles at Orleans was very well done. I liked the pomp and music of the coronation of Charles VII. I think they botched the way Joan was captured, however, that's not how it happened at all. A drawbridge was raised prematurely outside the city of Compiegne, and Joan was trapped from escaping her Burgundian enemies.
½ August 19, 2014
This film is just so damn exagerated. It's childish, waddling and it doesn't know the meaning of the word "subtlety".
September 15, 2013
An interesting account, very watchable!
½ June 18, 2012
The only reason I bought this was because I had thought it was the other version and I couldn't remember who was in it :( It was just "okay" and a huge let down after thinking I was buying the one with Milla Jovovich. This one was too slow moving and the acting was really not very good and it took away any chance at getting very involved with the film. The end was far too rushed like they suddenly just ran out of time. Watch the other version if you have a choice. It was so much better.
½ March 23, 2012
no this movie was not for me !
May 25, 2011
LeeLee Sobieski and so called movie "directors" had allowed themselves at filming and showing off LeeLee Sobieski's own nudity in some other movies as pimps and prostitutes "work" because they had all wanted to generate millions of dollars at the box office but while ignoring the fact that they should not had done that because LeeLee Sobieski had played the acting role about the virgin saint "Saint Jehanne Romee" and but where and when and because Saint Jehanne Romee herself had always been and always is and will always be morally sexual (a virgin), had therefore never given to an any and all person(s) the so called "right" and/or "wrong" to give people the impression that Saint Jehanne Romee had ever been a pornographic whore who had showed herself off towards other people under an evil "saintly" disguise. Saint Jehanne Romee had also NEVER given to an any and all person(s) the so called "right" and/or "wrong" to go on ahead an have men and women misbehave as pimps and prostitutes towards each other and/or towards other people.
Page 1 of 26