Candy - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Candy Reviews

Page 1 of 3
Super Reviewer
October 25, 2009
A perverted, frantic, nearly incomprehensible attempt at comedy. Difficult to sit through, and even harder to follow. It's amusing to watch talented actors playing ridiculous parts, but aside from that Candy is just an arduous task to get through.
DrStrangeblog
Super Reviewer
½ June 16, 2015
"In my country we have a saying, a centipede has a thousand feet but cannot tap dance."
"I don't understand the connection."
"I guess something got lost in the translation."

The mid/late '60s was a great era for mind-bogglingly whacked-out cast lists with equally diverse results, from Casino Royale (abysmal) to It's A Mad Mad Mad Mad World (hysterical), to The Magic Christian whose zaniness Candy most closely resembles. Check it out: Richard Burton, Walter Matthau, Ringo The Beatles Are Still Together Freaking Starr, John Huston, Addams Family's John Astin (in a dual role), boxing legend Sugar Ray Robinson, James Coburn, and the Method Man himself Marlon Brando! Throw in music from the Byrds and a Buck Henry screenplay of one of the decade's most scandalous books co-written by Terry Southern and you've got a cult curiosity that just screams "Watch Me!"

Does it measure up? My rating should tell you "yes and no." The episodic format of Candy, played with doe-eyed innocent perfection by newcomer Ewa Aulin, bouncing from one lusty sexual predator to another like an Alice in Molesterland is completely loose-limbed. There's no story development, just some outrageous situations which sometimes produce laughs, and surprisingly little visible nudity for a movie the New York Daily News called "the ultimate dirty movie." The only social commentary I can see is that men in what are considered lofty, respected, or trusted fields - a poet, a surgeon, a military C.O., a hospital administrator, an uncle, a guru - are just as base and lascivious as anyone else. Matthau is a riot as the leader of a paratroop commando unit that has been in constant airborne mobilization for six years, and Enrico Salerno has a great bit as an experimental filmmaker. "Did you see my last project? It was called 'Gumbo.' Soup, nothing but soup!" Richard Burton has a lot of fun as the lecherous poet MacPhisto whose every utterance is dramatic, and with long hair and billowy clothes constantly being blown by unseen fans. But if there's one "must-see" performance, it's Brando in fall-down funny hijinks as the guru/charlatan. His 15-20 minute see-it-to-believe-it contribution makes this up-and-down (or should I say in-and-out) mishmash worthwhile by himself.
January 27, 2012
The only place to begin this review is by sayin that in the first 30-minutes, Ringo Starr, playing a Mexican gardner, kind-of rapes the title character. Next to him, at the time, Richard Burton is raping a plastic mannequin and Sugar Ray Robinson is mixing drinks. I'm not kidding. Apparently intended to be some spoof of pornography written by Buck Henry, Candy is the object of desire of everyone she comes into contact with. As she goes forward through her journey, she meets lots of different people who also pretty much try to rape her. She's very nice about it. But the guys are clearly just kind of jumping on top of her. The she's led into the back of a moving semi, where Marlon Brando, playing an Indian yogi, actually gets down with her in way she comfortable with. They travel through deserts and snowy mountains, screwing in various positions. It made absolutely no sense to me. In the end, nothing is learned or gained except that Ewa Aulin was a stunning Swedish flower who needed to be in a better movie.
½ December 12, 2010
Ah yes, another B-movie that somehow roped Richard Burton, Marlon Brando, and Ringo Starr into it's twister of catastrophe. I'm not saying that Candy is the worst B-movie ever made, but it's certainly a weird and not exactly good film.

Candy focuses on the main character Candy Christian (played by Ewa Aulin), who apparently comes from outer space, and lives among the humans. She constantly gets into sexual mishaps with the strangest of characters who are all attracted to Candy, including a popular poet Maphisto (Richard Burton), the household gardener Emmanuel (Ringo Starr), and several other eccentric characters.

This film made absolutely no sense. First of all, if Candy is from outer space, why does her father live on Earth? It's clear that this was made in the late 1960's, as most of the film is completely random and feels like it was written in a drug-induced haze, which it probably was. That's also some of the fun of the film. Most of the actors were probably on drugs during filming, so most of their reactions to the dangers in the film are just hilarious, such as: "Hey, there's a gang of biker chicks following us!" "What could they want?" "Perhaps they want to talk to us?" I mean really, what person thinks like that? The acting as you could guess, is pretty poor, but probably because the actors know what this film is.

I think I was most surprised by the amount of big name stars in this film. I mean, this has Richard Burton, Marlon Brando, Ringo Starr, and more. How did they get so many of these stars? I'm guessing their budget was pretty high, or they got these celebrities to exploit their popularity so they can get higher ticket sales. This film, along with Yellow Submarine, is often chosen as the films that sum up an era. And I'll agree, it shows, with all the psychedilic imagery that the sixties encompassed.

Really, Candy is pure camp. It makes no sense, but some of the subtleties is what makes it kind of fun to watch. I'll say this though, there are too many friggin sex scenes! They aren't even good sex scenes, they are painful to watch! If you decide to watch Candy, don't watch it with high expectations. Just expect a stupid, nonsensical, yet strangely entertaining time. (Real rating: 69%)
March 17, 2009
Terry Suothern's parody of Voltaire's Candide with lots of hippie sex and drugs. Silly, bit good fun, great cast.
April 12, 2007
oh yes, you can't get any more 60's than with this movie. richard burton, james coburn, and marlon brando- plus the guy who played gomez adams in the original adams family...La, la, la, la, la, la, la, la, la- Ocean's 12 used the music from Candy at the end. nuff said
½ September 23, 2015
I found this movie because Marlon Brando is in it, and i have one question: is this a satire or a rapist's fantasy? wth
½ August 13, 2015
just OK not really my thang
DrStrangeblog
Super Reviewer
½ June 16, 2015
"In my country we have a saying, a centipede has a thousand feet but cannot tap dance."
"I don't understand the connection."
"I guess something got lost in the translation."

The mid/late '60s was a great era for mind-bogglingly whacked-out cast lists with equally diverse results, from Casino Royale (abysmal) to It's A Mad Mad Mad Mad World (hysterical), to The Magic Christian whose zaniness Candy most closely resembles. Check it out: Richard Burton, Walter Matthau, Ringo The Beatles Are Still Together Freaking Starr, John Huston, Addams Family's John Astin (in a dual role), boxing legend Sugar Ray Robinson, James Coburn, and the Method Man himself Marlon Brando! Throw in music from the Byrds and a Buck Henry screenplay of one of the decade's most scandalous books co-written by Terry Southern and you've got a cult curiosity that just screams "Watch Me!"

Does it measure up? My rating should tell you "yes and no." The episodic format of Candy, played with doe-eyed innocent perfection by newcomer Ewa Aulin, bouncing from one lusty sexual predator to another like an Alice in Molesterland is completely loose-limbed. There's no story development, just some outrageous situations which sometimes produce laughs, and surprisingly little visible nudity for a movie the New York Daily News called "the ultimate dirty movie." The only social commentary I can see is that men in what are considered lofty, respected, or trusted fields - a poet, a surgeon, a military C.O., a hospital administrator, an uncle, a guru - are just as base and lascivious as anyone else. Matthau is a riot as the leader of a paratroop commando unit that has been in constant airborne mobilization for six years, and Enrico Salerno has a great bit as an experimental filmmaker. "Did you see my last project? It was called 'Gumbo.' Soup, nothing but soup!" Richard Burton has a lot of fun as the lecherous poet MacPhisto whose every utterance is dramatic, and with long hair and billowy clothes constantly being blown by unseen fans. But if there's one "must-see" performance, it's Brando in fall-down funny hijinks as the guru/charlatan. His 15-20 minute see-it-to-believe-it contribution makes this up-and-down (or should I say in-and-out) mishmash worthwhile by himself.
January 27, 2012
The only place to begin this review is by sayin that in the first 30-minutes, Ringo Starr, playing a Mexican gardner, kind-of rapes the title character. Next to him, at the time, Richard Burton is raping a plastic mannequin and Sugar Ray Robinson is mixing drinks. I'm not kidding. Apparently intended to be some spoof of pornography written by Buck Henry, Candy is the object of desire of everyone she comes into contact with. As she goes forward through her journey, she meets lots of different people who also pretty much try to rape her. She's very nice about it. But the guys are clearly just kind of jumping on top of her. The she's led into the back of a moving semi, where Marlon Brando, playing an Indian yogi, actually gets down with her in way she comfortable with. They travel through deserts and snowy mountains, screwing in various positions. It made absolutely no sense to me. In the end, nothing is learned or gained except that Ewa Aulin was a stunning Swedish flower who needed to be in a better movie.
October 13, 2011
The worst shit I've ever seen in my life!
July 15, 2011
I came upon this movie in a very peculiar way.

My dad was waxing nostalgic about this "bizarre, awful (funny)" movie he saw in theatres back in 1968. After naming off the surprisingly notable cast he finally came upon the name--Candy. He then confided to me that he could never find a copy of the film anywhere else and that it must have been withheld from distribution. This, to me, sounded like a challenge. We watched it together the next day.

This movie reeks of 1968. It's such a snapshot of some of the "wackier" films of that time that that aspect alone makes it worth watching. The inclusion of all the star names--Brando, Astin, Matthau--adds a definite freak factor to it all. How did they corral all these people into one strange sex comedy? Perhaps all the actors thought they could do their one obligatory embarrassing psychedelic movie in one fell swoop and then return to "legitimate" film. Either way, it's nothing short of hilarious to watch Marlon Brando in the back of a sixteen wheeler spouting off new-age nonsense as the "traveling guru"--before launching himself at the films titular blonde protagonist, of course.

The entire film is carried by each man's wanton desire to bed Candy, the overtly innocent and breathy-voiced star of the film. The movie sort of meanders after a point, and is carried only really by the fascinating cameos and how none of them seem to let on how strange what they're doing really is. John Astin is the standout performance of the flick, being the only one to really communicate comedy in a way that isn't incidental.

Candy is a bizarre little slice of cinema that has no doubt garnered some kind of a cult following in the decades since its release. It's too peculiar not to have.
March 18, 2011
Unwatchable. Maybe if I had been drunk and there were other people around.......
March 7, 2011
A grade A sattire from the 60's. The characters and scenes in this film could make great jokes on family guy or SNL. A bit controversal at times and very very bizzare.
½ December 28, 2007
Boasting an all-star cast including Marlon Brando, James Coburn, Richard Burton, John Astin, and Walter Matthau, not to mention cameos by Ringo Starr and boxer Sugar Ray Robinson, the movie version of Terry Southern's novel has a cultish, typically beat 60's feel to it. Ewa Aulin shines in probably her best known and best role as the title character, affecting a glazed-donut innocence.

The opening sequence, set amid the stars, planets, nebulae, with a 60's rock score, as well some of her risque scenes are among many stunning ones.
½ December 12, 2010
Ah yes, another B-movie that somehow roped Richard Burton, Marlon Brando, and Ringo Starr into it's twister of catastrophe. I'm not saying that Candy is the worst B-movie ever made, but it's certainly a weird and not exactly good film.

Candy focuses on the main character Candy Christian (played by Ewa Aulin), who apparently comes from outer space, and lives among the humans. She constantly gets into sexual mishaps with the strangest of characters who are all attracted to Candy, including a popular poet Maphisto (Richard Burton), the household gardener Emmanuel (Ringo Starr), and several other eccentric characters.

This film made absolutely no sense. First of all, if Candy is from outer space, why does her father live on Earth? It's clear that this was made in the late 1960's, as most of the film is completely random and feels like it was written in a drug-induced haze, which it probably was. That's also some of the fun of the film. Most of the actors were probably on drugs during filming, so most of their reactions to the dangers in the film are just hilarious, such as: "Hey, there's a gang of biker chicks following us!" "What could they want?" "Perhaps they want to talk to us?" I mean really, what person thinks like that? The acting as you could guess, is pretty poor, but probably because the actors know what this film is.

I think I was most surprised by the amount of big name stars in this film. I mean, this has Richard Burton, Marlon Brando, Ringo Starr, and more. How did they get so many of these stars? I'm guessing their budget was pretty high, or they got these celebrities to exploit their popularity so they can get higher ticket sales. This film, along with Yellow Submarine, is often chosen as the films that sum up an era. And I'll agree, it shows, with all the psychedilic imagery that the sixties encompassed.

Really, Candy is pure camp. It makes no sense, but some of the subtleties is what makes it kind of fun to watch. I'll say this though, there are too many friggin sex scenes! They aren't even good sex scenes, they are painful to watch! If you decide to watch Candy, don't watch it with high expectations. Just expect a stupid, nonsensical, yet strangely entertaining time. (Real rating: 69%)
Super Reviewer
October 25, 2009
A perverted, frantic, nearly incomprehensible attempt at comedy. Difficult to sit through, and even harder to follow. It's amusing to watch talented actors playing ridiculous parts, but aside from that Candy is just an arduous task to get through.
½ August 24, 2009
The best thing about satire is that it is equally kind to Ringo Starr's cringe-inducing take on a Mexican gardener as it is to Richard Burton's close-to-home oversexed superstar poet. A ripe parody of Candide as well as the Sexual Revolution, Candy wanders dimly through encounters with male authority figures who unfailingly betray their offices for orifaces. I have a soft spot for these late-60's stuntcasting films which aim to cram A-list stars into every teeny tiny role. Story by Terry Southern and screenplay by Buck Henry, both of whom were having their best decades.
July 19, 2009
Divertidisima sexy comedia sobre la piernuda Candy que es abusada y ultrajada por una interminable serie de hombres insaciables que se aprovechan de su ingenuidad de rubia. Desbordante, absurda y exquisita. La banda sonora es de lo mejor con ese rock psicodelico.
June 25, 2009
"Candy... beautiful name. It has the spirit and the sound of the Old Testament."
Page 1 of 3