Are We There Yet? - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Are We There Yet? Reviews

Page 1 of 360
Super Reviewer
½ June 23, 2011
Your average comedy that had somewhat funny scenes throughout. A good film, but not great.
Marc L.
Super Reviewer
May 20, 2011
"Ice Cube needs to learn to leave acting to actors. Not rappers, not athletes, actors."-Marc L., "xXx: State of the Union" review

It seems that Ice Cube has not learned, but rather decided that because he can not get any praise in the action genre, he'll take a shot at the family genre. Needless to say, I'm missing State of the Union. This movie was painfully unfunny, painfully predictable and pretty dark for a kids movie.

There was some good I guess. The child actors (Aleshia Allen and Phillip Daniel Boyden) did a surprisingly good job playing the kids. There on their way to successful careers.

Unfortunatley, the characters they play are simply evil. They are spolied, obnoxious and loud. Not to mention the little demons are downright PSYCHOTIC! They enjoy torturing her mothers boyfriends, sneaking knives into Ice Cube's backpack at plane stations and GET THIS...THROW BUCKETS OF ROCK HARD ICE AT PEOPLE! Do they realize that can kill people?

Don't worry, the mother is just as bad. They don;t say it out loud, but the mother seems to hate her kids. She basically gives them to Ice Cube's character because she's so sick of them. And know we move over to Cube himself. Once again, he cannot act, and most of his dialogue consists of "AHHHH!!!!"

The humor was even worse. The humor in this movie includes horribly unfunny slapstick, bodily humor, peeing on old women and a talking boble head. That's right, a talking bobble head. Why is there a talking bobble head?!!!! The musical number in the movie is painfully forced, and is one of the biggest "big lipped alligator scenes" I've EVER seen.

Cube, I'm willing to forgive you as long as you stop making crappy films and start going back to your fantastic rap career.
Super Reviewer
½ March 5, 2011
Fun for the family, but not for your funny bone
Super Reviewer
July 29, 2010
Super Reviewer
½ January 10, 2010
It was ok! I cannot recommend it to many people! But I guess it's worth watching once!
Super Reviewer
December 2, 2009
This Movie so Funny.
Super Reviewer
½ June 23, 2009
Painful to endure, Also the most annoying kids ever
Super Reviewer
April 23, 2007
Good fun and laughter for whole Family : )
Super Reviewer
½ January 4, 2007
Great and well-made cross country comedy for black people. Lots of fun with the tantrums, potty traumas, attack deer and car demolition.
Super Reviewer
January 2, 2007
It was alright.
Super Reviewer
½ July 25, 2006
hahaha that is exactly what my family is like
Super Reviewer
October 31, 2006
I liked this movie mainly cause i think Cube deserved more credit than people give him. Hes a great 'black' actor in what is a 'black' movie which is very funny for all the right reasons. Its for anyone whoes in the mood. I love the early scenes when introducing Cubes character - and the scene in the store where he 'tells' off the two kids with abuse and a football. :-) And i love 'conscious' talking scenes on the form of Cube's baseball memorabilla - hilarious.

But overall, this is an enjoyable flick. Ignore the very 'white' critics of the flick and watch it to be entertained and you will be.
Super Reviewer
December 2, 2011
Are We There Yet?
Super Reviewer
½ December 24, 2008
Director Brian Levant doesn't have a very impressive track record behind him in terms of his involvement with kids movies, with such filmic abominations as Snow Dogs, Jingle All The Way and Problem Child 2 under his belt,but he appears to have hit his target audience on the head with this. In the lead role, Ice Cube has moved his film career on, but the script finds it hard going to disassociate him from the ghetto culture he's pretty much ingrained in, with numerous references to his roots thrown up. Aleisha Allen and Philip Bolden are very good and have a good rapport with Ice Cube. They are aiming to be, and are, just obnoxious enough to serve their function well. Overall, Are We There Yet? is not particularly charming and not particularly inspired in any way, but a bit like it's central characters predicament, doing something it feels inexperienced doing, it just about manages to hit the right nails on the head and surfaces as passable entertainment.
Super Reviewer
½ July 6, 2011
Somewhat funny yet poorly casted, this film does not live up to its full potential.
Super Reviewer
June 22, 2011
Terrible movie
Super Reviewer
½ April 11, 2007
How come some of the most Ridculious and Bawdy children's film are dumb, but funny?

If they had the dumbest and yet funniest Bawdy one award, this would be it!
Super Reviewer
May 4, 2007
Super Reviewer
June 2, 2006
Hopelessly forgettable kids flick. There is nothing memorable, none of the jokes stick and its all a horrible mess. Avoid.
Super Reviewer
July 12, 2012
Occasionally funny, thanks to Ice Cube. I really disliked the talking bubble-head, not a bad family movie for African Americans, but the real question arised from the film was: "Are we finished yet?" Say no to toilet humor please.
Page 1 of 360