Stealth - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Stealth Reviews

Page 1 of 151
Super Reviewer
August 26, 2007
This is movie is about 3 Navy pilots who are introduced to a computerised fighter technology. Good cast but plot and special effects were average.
Super Reviewer
½ August 21, 2010
Nothing special with some adequate action sequences. Full review later.
Super Reviewer
½ May 2, 2007
A computer controlled hi-tec fighter plane goes haywire and decides to take matters into its own hands and bomb Russia without orders. The Fast And The Furious director Rob Cohen's formula of frenetic action and laughably bad writing takes to the air in this CGI infested update of Top Gun. An aeronautical version of KITT from Knight Rider goes wrong, and then stops going wrong for no particular reason to gang up with some pretty people and find an excuse to to blow the crap out of unknown, faceless "terrorists" and North Koreans (for reasons that are far from obvious). The characters are the usual collection of gung ho cartoons, with Jamie Foxx seemingly standing in for Cuba Gooding Jr as a particularly painful black stereotype and the plot is a load of comic strip nonsense that's no more than an excuse for a series of shaky cammed firework displays. Having said all that, like TFATF it's mildly entertaining in an utterly brainless kind of way and if you're in a alcohol induced semi-vegetative state as I was, it passes the time. Just have some mildly lecherous thoughts about Biel/Lucas depending on taste and try not to think about it; the script writer obviously didn't.
Super Reviewer
½ January 29, 2010
Fun! But totally unrealistic! In ways it's passible, but more than not, it is poorly made! But on a technical level, it is definately fun to watch for the visuals!
Super Reviewer
January 12, 2010
A rather enjoyable and ridiculous film that takes itself very seriously. Usually this would go against it but there's something refreshing about the sincerity with which it tells it's tale. The acting is all believable, even if the plot points are predictable. The disadvantages of technology and AI in war combat is probably a serious issue, one that this film doesn't even try and address. Come along if you want to see some very exciting aerial combat scenes, some good effects, and enough entertainment to just about fill the running time.
Super Reviewer
½ January 23, 2007
jessica biel has far too great of a tendancy to look beautiful in movies that i want to like, but cant because they are terrible.
Super Reviewer
½ November 5, 2009
You will probably try to compare this to Top Gun, understandable, as therereally hasnt been any hollywood movies about the Air Force since Tom Cruise took our breaths away. If you give the movie a chance you will notice that Stealth is a good movie in its own right and really doesnt follow the Top Gun formula. But there really is nothing going to ever be better than Top Gun. Yet the Russian Terminators in Stealth are hot and you'll drop your mouth or say out loud "OMFG"
Super Reviewer
½ April 15, 2008
Pretty good action flick.
Super Reviewer
June 14, 2006
Sometimes when you expect a movie to suck you get rather pleasantly surprised. Not really being a fan of jet fighter movies and having heard of rather bad reviews for this I didn't check it out for a long time but guess what? I was pretty well entertained. Sure, the story isn't much to write home about, although I must say that I didn't really see the direction of the second half of the movie coming. The flight sequences and action scenes are pretty impressive though and the effects together with some nifty camera tricks really neat. Also nice use of some kickass Incubus songs. So, rather silly but actually quite fun movie. Jessica Biel in a Bikini helped too.
Super Reviewer
November 30, 2006
Directed by:Rob Cohen
Starring: Jamie Foxx, Josh Lucas, Jessica Biel, Sam Shepard, Joe Morton.

I knew that I shouldn't have watched this. I always had no interest in seeing it, because I knew what I would have endured...but when it was on when I turned the TV on and there was literally nothing else on, I watched...I asked for it.

The story follows a squadron of elite pilots in the Navy who seem to have it all, they are great friends, have great lives and work well together. The Navy soon develops a fourth wingman for the artificial intelligence. Believed to be the future of modern warfare, it is smart and also learns from it's co-pilots in combat maneuvers so that it works as a team...but when it develops a mind of its own (WOW...really? I never saw that coming), they must stop it before it gets out of hand and starts destroying at will.

Rob Cohen, another recent 'go to guy' in Hollywood for action, he did a rather decent job with 'The Fast and the Furious' and 'XXX' in the way of keeping the action high and create reasonably compelling viewing...but what is he doing here? Not only does he cut and paste a lot of ideas and shots from his previous films, he also over stylizes with the spectacular CGI and everything is way to hyper and quickly cut that we can never enjoy any of it, it's all out of control for any balance...and it really lacks the intensity and compelling factor you would hope for and he resorts to explosions, just for the sake of it.

The screenplay, along with the story is so terribly tripe, predictable, muddled and ultimately, a waste. It follows the same old formula...we see the characters doing there thing (the brief outline), they meet there 'new wingman' (the situation), he turns bad (the problem) and they fix it in the most obvious way (the solution)...sure this maybe a typical structure, but it is one that works...but how you make it work makes all the difference, it doesn't here and also, everything has to be so terribly flawed and defy gravity in every way possible (we are meant to believe half of what they are able to do is real?). As you would expect, the screenwriter follows his dummies rule list and tries to add some development of the know, to let us know who we are watching and try and add either an emotion core between them or a level of likeness...neither is given, instead we are shown, in a short amount of time (including the obvious points during the film where the action dies down), small sequences of what they are like...all while reading bullshit on the technical details of there know, just to remind us that they are actually pilots...and not to mention the fact that they are boring as hell, supplied with very unrealistic dialogue (Who the hell says 'Pardon my C cup' to a guy who accidentally walks into her bra hanging on the line?).

The acting is as you would expect, especially with the characters they each have to work with. Jessica Biel is beautiful, no denying that (Oh yeah and to remind us of that, they put in bikini shot), but she seems to be picking roles (or maybe doing them to finish a 5-picture deal or something) that copies her image from previous films, that she is more of a boyish bad ass. She has always shown potential, yet she follows a similar formula for her characters tone and it isn't anything special at all. Jamie Foxx only works his style right with the right role and he sure can be an Academy Award winning actor...but with nothing to work with, he throws in his silly, shallow modern-aged attitude and humor and it just shows stupidity to the role. Josh Lucas...simple, he has no charisma or qualities to be in a leading role.

The moral of the story...don't trust machines...what I don't trust is that they have to make this as the big plot point of the film and never take it in any refreshing or original direction. I don't know what Hollywood tries to achieve with films, when they are always 60/40 with what they release (take a guess what takes the 60), but this continues a new low. Boring, predictable tripe that lacks intensity and is way too over stylized to be entertaining...and the fact that they have to insult my intelligence at the same time is the wrong way to go.
Super Reviewer
½ December 13, 2006
Good action with three pilots alike Top Gun, but also interesting with the UCAV. God, Jessica Alba looks bloody hot as one of three fighter pilots - WHOO!
Super Reviewer
June 12, 2007
I think I trashed the movie and said how bad it would be right up until I saw it in the theatre. It wasn't the best thing ever, but was still fairly entertaining. Some cool music sequences if I remember correctly.
Super Reviewer
½ April 29, 2007
No where near being a next gen Top Gun, but it has some good moments and Jessica Biel.
Super Reviewer
December 27, 2006
Not bad. But not good either.
Super Reviewer
September 2, 2010
Better than I expected, which meant seven years of procrastination to watch this. And I LOVE Jessica Biel, I mean I would drink her bath water.

Watch it for free online.
Super Reviewer
½ April 12, 2008
Good action movie with three pilots but also interesting with the UCAV. The flight sequences and action scenes are pretty impressive.
Super Reviewer
½ November 13, 2006
Already dated, politically wonky and badly scripted, Stealth, replete with central idea ripped-off from 2001 (it even steals the HAL reads lips scene, though here the intelligent computer is called EDI) remains something of a guilty pleasure. The dialogue sounds like it's made up of cut scenes from a an early noughties video game (and for that matter, the special effects aren't much more convincing), and the performances are perfunctory at best, but it is quite entertaining. Most unintentional laugh out loud moment: EDI, showing his dark side, starts listening to nu-metal songs.
Super Reviewer
½ October 11, 2007
Very cool.
Super Reviewer
½ July 12, 2012
Horrifyingly bad, I really cannot stand the boredom this film has provided. It's best avoid!!
Super Reviewer
July 28, 2008
Not even the sight of Jessica Biel in tight clothes and a bikini along with a couple of cool explosions could save this from being shit.
Page 1 of 151