Movies Like Shark Bait (The Reef)

Opening

—— The Identical Sep 05
—— The Longest Week Sep 05
67% Thunder and the House of Magic Sep 05
74% God Help the Girl Sep 05
—— The Remaining Sep 05

Top Box Office

92% Guardians of the Galaxy $16.3M
20% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $11.8M
38% If I Stay $9.3M
33% As Above/So Below $8.3M
21% Let's Be Cops $8.2M
36% The November Man $7.7M
18% When The Game Stands Tall $5.6M
32% The Giver $5.3M
65% The Hundred-Foot Journey $4.6M
34% The Expendables 3 $3.5M

Coming Soon

—— No Good Deed Sep 12
—— Dolphin Tale 2 Sep 12
—— Atlas Shrugged: Who Is John Galt? Sep 12
100% The Skeleton Twins Sep 12
100% The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby Sep 12

Premieres Tonight

25% Houdini: Season 1

New Episodes Tonight

—— Anger Management: Season 2
71% Dallas: Season 3
—— Mistresses: Season 2
25% Partners: Season 1
67% Teen Wolf: Season 4
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— Breathless: Season One
100% Falling Skies: Season 4
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
78% Ray Donovan: Season 2
46% Reckless: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
—— Unforgettable: Season 2

Shark Bait (The Reef) Reviews

Page 1 of 8
ajaymuthecooldevils
ajaymuthecooldevils

Super Reviewer

September 14, 2008
Well, I must admit that this movie just want to follow the success of Finding Nemo, or perhaps Shark Tale... The animation wasn't bad at all, at least the idea for the story was pretty fun... But what happens after the movie flows is it just a high expectation movie from the makers, but they really really didn't have anything at all... The fish was cute and funny, but their face just looks like too 'human', similar like Shark Tale do... If it's a fish, so their face should be a fish face too, not fish with a face of a human... Then the story, I think the idea didn't bad... About how male fish gave a pearl to female fish to propose her and then the female fish will accept the pearl if she wants to be with that male fish forever... That thing was pretty good I think, even I don't know if it's really true or not... But when the story going, it just a disaster... Some scenes that made to be funny, wasn't really funny at all... Yet there is too many conversation in this movie, which could be so boring for the kids that watching it... Last word, a nice try from the makers, especially after knowing that they can get Freddie Prinze Jr., Rob Schneider and Evan Rachel Wood for a voice cast of this movie, but it just a usual cartoon that a little too heavy for the children...
Red L

Super Reviewer

April 12, 2008
Why is that so many animated movies are so simple. Good little fish learns self defence and beats the bad shark, gets the girl and lives happily ever after -- whoo hoo.
xxdebxx
xxdebxx

Super Reviewer

August 28, 2011
It`s like Finding Nemo in reverse whereby the parents get taken away and Pi is left behind. He sees and falls in love with Cordelia, a pink female fish who has attracted the unwanted attentions of a bullying tiger shark Troy and his two cronies, a barracuda and a wolf eel. Pi learns that Troy is a true nightmare for the inhabitants of the reef, and that nobody has enough courage to stop him. He meets a wise sea turtle, Nerrisa, who teaches him some kind of martial arts and other stuff, so Pi could win the heart of Cordelia and beat the bad guys in the process, creating a better and safer new order! The animation was appalling but with its brilliant color schemes the little kids should enjoy this one. And Pi's "psychic" aunt voiced by Fran Drescher was a hoot. Shark Bait's cast also includes R. Lee Ermey; John Rhys-Davies; Donal Logue; Rob Schneider, Andy Dick, Evan Rachel Wood and Freddie Prinze Jr.
August 31, 2014
Pretty much the only good thing I can say for this movie is that it's colorful. That's not to say the animation is good, because it's not- it looks like someone did it in his mom's basement on an ancient home PC. But, it's bright. So there's that. There's really not much plot to speak of, so if you're outside the 2-4 crowd, you're not going to find much worth sitting through.
December 31, 2012
As yet another film trying to capitalize on the success of Finding Nemo, I wasn't expecting all that much, but with an all star cast, including Rob Schneider as the wise old turtle Nerissa, lots of beautiful, underwater scenery, plenty of funny one-liners and even yet another farting fish, I was somewhat pleasantly surprised. Not great, not bad.

I really like farting fish.
StaisilD
April 21, 2008
Not even worth half a star. Much of the film is an obvious knock off of both Disney/Pixar's Finding Nemo and Dreamworks' Shark Tale. However, the animation doesn't fall in line with those movies. Much of it seems unfinished, as if we are watching a "making of" segment on the bonus material portion of a DVD. Pi is sent off to find his Aunt on The Reef. On the journey Pi grows up in less than 5 seconds and is told by Aunt Pearl they never go to Flat Bottom so you know he IS going to go there. And to stay off the Haunted Pirate Shipwreck. And sure enough they go to both forbidden places within less than 5 minutes of being told not to. Movies like this make you appreciate the thoughtful craftsmanship of Pixar's movies. It makes you realize how vital the story and the composition of the script is - not to mention, of course, their vastly superior CGI animation. Even relatively "bad" CGI movies like Shark Tale and Madagascar have tons more personality and skill behind them than "The Reef" does. As desperately tired as I am of all these awful and cheaply made CGI movies about animals, insects, or both, at least most of them have some basic charm and a few jokes you may actually laugh at, thus in some measure vaguely redeeming themselves. "The Reef," however, has no redeeming value at all. Best to leave this one alone as watching it will merely be torture.
October 2, 2011
What a hideous rip-off of Finding Nemo
December 21, 2013
This film is extremely horrible, its officially the worst film I have ever watched due to the fact it's a huge rip-off of films that were Finding Nemo, Shark Tales and Karate Kid (plot). I also hate the fact people describe this film as 'not bad', NOT BAD?! I'm sorry but if you thought that was a good film then you must like every films in existence (even the bad ones). People may think I only watched it once and think that watching it again will change my mind...first off, no it won't change my mind, I have watched it three times just to make sure I wasn't being too harsh like with other films I disliked but this film gets worse the more you watch it. Here are the list of films I would rather watch than The Reef: Shark Bait - Plan 9 From Outer Space, Battlefield Earth, any Barney films, Twilight, Justin Bieber: The Movie, Fred: The Movie etc. The visuals and animations are poor to say the least. The plot seems extremely overused and overall too cliché and the comedy is so bland it makes you face palm. The characters are awful, why make a film about an annoying orange fish and a shark who eats fish but yet wants to be Cordellia's girlfriend??? What??? Is Troy an idiot or is that Cordellia for choosing to be his girlfriend (I know she only wanted Pi safe but I'd rather he was dead, sounded cruel? TOO BAD) and I know that people are going to say Plan 9 From Outer Space and Battlefield Earth are the worst films ever but and I have watched them too more than once and they are both bad films but were tolerable compared to this annoying film. I would give it a 0/10 but I'm giving it a 0.001/10 only because that Turtle (not sure what his name is) is a mediocre character but that's about it.
August 13, 2013
What started off as a mere Finding Nemo clone actually turned into something else and it turned into something pretty cool. While its clear where they got their inspiration from and wanted to cash in on it, does that mean it should be written off? It had moments of wit and some great humor, a nice story and loveable characters. The animation looked a bit drab when I first saw it but it grows on you pretty quick. It's odd but some of the scenes looked 3D specific as they looked different from the others, I doubt this movie was shown in 3D. I found the movie quite memorable to be honest. I liked it and I could recommend it.
November 20, 2012
Even though there's a high chance of this movie being bad, I have such an odd fascination with it. One day I might watch it, perhaps...
March 13, 2011
Wish I'd never seen it. Even with all the celebrities in it, it still bombed.
FilmGrinder S.
January 23, 2011
55%

There's actually a gay crab and sword fish!
Adam P.
November 3, 2010
With bad animation reminiscent of a children's video game & ripping off Shark Tale & Finding Nemo is painfully obvious ways, this movie is easily forgettable
October 28, 2010
This rip off of Finding Nemo is the most pitiful excuse for an animated movie out there.
Eoghan Christie
October 4, 2010
It's the same plot as Shark Tale but more predictable and the animation looks like it came from a Gamecube game.
Macy S.
July 31, 2010
rubbish and ugly animation- rubbish storyline- rubbish voicing = spin off movie and BAD FILM.
This dosent deserve to be in the reef- it deserves to be in the deepest darkest depths of the ocean- away from humaity.
EatatJoes
July 3, 2010
Bad. Just bad. Several scenes are embarrassing ripoffs from "Finding Nemo". The writing is bad. Nothing is really funny. Some scenes come off as inappropriate. There is one in the beginning of a fish doing a photo shoot. The one directing the shoot sounds like he's directing a porn movie. And the animation just plain sucks. The story line itself is fine but it's executed very very poorly. It took me about 3 times to actually finish the movie. My 3 year old daughter likes it but, well, she's 3 and she likes anything animated.
Andrew G.
September 27, 2009
The animation is very unimpressive, especially comparing it with recent works from PIXAR and Dreamworks. While the voice acting is mediocre, and the story is below average, the Reef struggles to be anything less than an average animated film. It can't really be recommended unless you've grown an incredible thirst for more ocean adventures after watching the highly superiour Finding Nemo and Shark Tale.
Joseph T.
April 20, 2009
Shark Bait (released as ?The Reef? in some parts of the world) is a terrible movie that?s reminiscent of those exploitive, low production value, straight-to-video releases that capitalized on the popularity of Disney titles during the mid and late nineties. Unlike infamous straight to video releases such as ?Dingo?s Pocahontas? and ?Hans Christian Anderson?s The Little Mermaid?, Shark Bait doesn?t have a classic tale to use as a script and avoid copyright infringement. Instead, this film combines the least charming aspects of two other computer animated films about fish and burns your retinas with cheap Korean animation.

There is no redeeming quality in this flick. The contrived story about a guppy named Pi who takes on a Shark for the love of the most beautiful fish in the sea makes you seasick. As the script is littered with lifted lines and scenes from Shark Tale and Finding Nemo, you sit and wonder how DigiArt was able to get away with such an obvious pilfering of ideas. Not nearly as family friendly as it advertises to be, you?ll find yourself barely chuckling at obscure references that almost fly over your head, and your children waiting for a cue to giggle, this movie can?t make up its mind about who to entertain. The only thing worse than the story and dialogue is the delivery. I once believed that it didn?t matter who was hired as voices in a high quality animated film, as long as they were competent voice actors. I still believe this to be true, but in the case of a terrible film, the even worse voice acting is emphasized. When a film studio has to use names such as Freddy Prinze Jr., Rob Schneider and Andy Dick on the promotional poster to draw in an audience, you know that the movie will only disappoint, no matter how low your expectations.

When it?s all done and over with, you will actually curse yourself for letting your kids sit through such an atrocity against cinema. Originally released in theaters in 2007 this movie now plagues cable stations around the world. If you love your children, and yourself, you?ll avoid this criminally bad rip off.
jazza923
October 2, 2007
The lack of originality in this film is a major drawback and it blatantly rips off several other animated films, particularly Finding Nemo. It's shameful! The animation is decent however, and there are entertaining moments. Kids will like it.
Page 1 of 8
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile