On the Doll Reviews

Page 1 of 4
Super Reviewer
July 9, 2008
A small indie hit which similar to many others in narrative. We see many different stories each in some way involving sex, whether it be sexual abuse, prostitution or hitting a guy in the balls. Of course each of these stories is on course for a linked together finale. It happens in quite a coincidental fashion like Magnolia but only just carries it off. Some of the dialogue is pretty good and the film moves at a good pace giving equal screen time to each story. Despite all the hard subjects it deals with it maintains a certain level of maturity by never showing any of the sexual acts. It's a good jo the actors are able to pull off good enough performances to convince of the shocking nature of things. Wonderfully shot and with Brittany Snow still coming off as beautifully hot depie punching a guy into unconciousness it is bothpleasurable and difficult to watch in equal measure.
½ February 9, 2015
Okay, I feel bad saying this, but for a film that wanted to be as shocking as I felt that this one did, it never got gritty or sleazy enough for my tastes if I'm being perfectly honest, and I absolutely despise actresses playing strippers/hookers and refusing to show any skin - it's just not a realistic portrayal in my book.

Pass, unless you're just a huge fan of any of the talent involved, and even then it may not be worth your time.
November 29, 2013
Four divergent tales are melded into one bloody ending. The tales all involve acts related to the sex industry. A man in love with a peep show performer. A prostitute with a plan to steal from a john. An escort whose only rule is no penetration. A school teacher who recruits students for the porn industry. This tale is chock full of sexual abuse, perverts, masturbation, drugs and rape. Oddly enough, there is no nudity. An indie effort given a higher rating than it deserves because I enjoyed Brittany Snow's performance very much and a decent job of pulling these unrelated stories together..
June 2, 2009
It's different to say the least. It's strange how they keep doing cut aways of dead things though, even that was a little strange for me.
August 8, 2008
To describe this movie in one word would have to be: intense. On The Doll is definitely not for everyone and I think you just need to keep an open mind when you watch this because it is different. All in all, I really enjoyed it.
July 19, 2008
Wow.This movie was really something.A little hard to look at sometimes,kinda like Hard Candy.Overall,I recommend it.
July 6, 2008
La película gira alrededor ensuciadas de adolescencias. La cosa loca es el director y conocen al escritor Thomas Mignone 45 años más para circundar las alamedas del LA que compran al esl centro urbano las muchachas de la High School secundaria los zapatos y caramelo. Él escribe este filfth de la experiencia a partir de años de " personal; research". Las líneas el deseo - sea agentes dicen son joven tonto unos. El argumento se trae lejos. La conclusión estúpida con todo caracteres apropiados del whenthe que dicen el " deja para ir al movies". Incluso quieren conseguir lejos de este fiasco.
July 29, 2013
Who knew that watching this random movie would end being a pleasant experience. Don't get me wrong, it's twisted in so many ways but the way it unravels to that crazy ending was enough to put this into the "like" category.
October 11, 2012
damn, it wasn't what i expected
June 6, 2008
Rather brutal and unpleasant, the cast is effective however and do a fine job. Some very clever moments though and all in all it was a compelling film, just not a cheery one. Good direction and score.
Page 1 of 4