Opening

20% Transcendence Apr 18
53% Heaven Is for Real Apr 16
7% A Haunted House 2 Apr 18
89% Bears Apr 18
58% Fading Gigolo Apr 18

Top Box Office

89% Captain America: The Winter Soldier $41.3M
47% Rio 2 $39.3M
71% Oculus $12.0M
62% Draft Day $9.8M
77% Noah $7.6M
41% Divergent $7.4M
13% God's Not Dead $5.5M
92% The Grand Budapest Hotel $4.1M
79% Muppets Most Wanted $2.3M
78% Mr. Peabody & Sherman $1.9M

Coming Soon

45% The Other Woman Apr 25
—— Brick Mansions Apr 25
72% The Amazing Spider-Man 2 May 02
100% Neighbors May 09
—— Godzilla May 16

Premieres Tonight

—— Devious Maids: Season 2
50% Salem: Season 1

New Episodes Tonight

38% Believe: Season 1
83% The Bletchley Circle: Season 2
—— Californication: Season 7
83% Call the Midwife: Season 3
61% Crisis: Season 1
98% Game of Thrones: Season 4
100% The Good Wife: Season 5
86% Mad Men: Season 7
—— The Mentalist: Season 6
—— Mr. Selfridge: Season 2
—— Nurse Jackie: Season 6
71% Once Upon a Time: Season 3
100% Shameless: Season 04
48% Turn: Season 1
100% Veep: Season 3

Discuss Last Night's Shows

100% Da Vinci's Demons: Season 2
100% Orphan Black: Season 2

The Lodger Reviews

Page 1 of 10
Nicki M

Super Reviewer

January 25, 2009
Okay thriller, seen better, seen worse.
FiLmCrAzY
FiLmCrAzY

Super Reviewer

April 16, 2009
This is a fairly surprisingly good film with great twists and turns that ive seen in a very long time! its really worth a watch!!
Mark H

Super Reviewer

February 8, 2009
Updated remake of an early Hitchcock thriller about a psychologically unbalanced landlady and her enigmatic tenant. There's also a parallel story about a troubled detective who's on the hunt for a killer whose method bears a striking resemblance to Jack the Ripper. It all unfolds like one of those procedural TV shows, but the story is fairly interesting and suspenseful with just enough stylistic flourishes to keep the viewer interested.
Danny R

Super Reviewer

October 8, 2010
A clever well-made and suspenseful updated remake of Alfred Hitchcock's 1927 silent film classic of the same name. It concerns a mentally troubled Landlady, played by Hope Davis in a beautifully realized performance who lives a quiet dull life with her husband and young son, one rainy day a handsome and mysterious stranger, played superbly by Simon Baker shows up at her door, wanting to rent her guesthouse, his arrival coincides with a series of brutal murders of young prostitutes off West Hollywood. Alfred Molina plays a obsessive police detective with a strong conviction and believability, it is a terrific portrayal he is determine to catch this copycat killer who murders his victims in the same fashion as the legendary serial killer Jack the Ripper, Shane West is excellent as Molina's rookie partner, there also are superlative supporting performances by Rachael Leigh Cook, Philip Baker Hall, Mel Harris, Rebecca Pidgeon and John Hammil. Solid direction by David Ondaatje, who's screenplay does a great job of keeping you guessing right to the very end, that has a surprisingly good double twist of an ending that is a real killer. The film has a haunting visual quality thanks to the exceptional cinematography by David A. Armstrong, and a moody score by John Fizzell that is perfect. A worth-while and marvelously entertaining chiller. Highly Recommended.
John2223
John2223

Super Reviewer

February 6, 2009
Decent little thriller that will keep your attention and keep you guessing until the end.
Worth a check!
tmannamt
February 6, 2011
Has a great visual style to it, but for me this was very predictable. I recommend this to someone who has never seen a murder mystery film before LOL.
marevalo83
March 15, 2010
Not bad! I was pleased that it wasn't gory for shock value. The story carried itself without trying to gross out the viewers, at least not in a graphic sense. For me, the verbal clues and/or details are far more enticing than a bunch of blood and guts. I liked it well enough!
skully725
November 13, 2009
I found this Movie to be suspenseful and entertaining, not to mention i adore (Mr Bake) who stars in this movie, he was the Mentalist- he have seen him in other flixs too...
Hamee
November 25, 2008
Completely predictable, but still highly enjoyable to watch Shane West in action. Really, who didn't see this ending coming?
dublingb
January 7, 2009
Much better that expected. Great looking and a few cool surprises. Actually worth the money, go see it if you're looking for something different
February 12, 2014
Terrible. Angelinos, especially, will be laughing at this one.
October 14, 2012
Good homage to Hitchcock that has terrific film noir atmosphere.
June 16, 2011
A bit bland, but not as awful as the critics would have you believe.
Mike A.
April 21, 2011
This was not good. The story bounced all over the place. The "investigation" by the detectives made no sense and then all of a sudden it's a Jack the Ripper copycat?!?!?! I actually made it the whole way through this movie, but almost gave up when Alfred Molina's character was forced to turn in his badge like every bad cliched detective story.

The story had too many different plots going on that never developed. I didn't see the point of the detective's relationship with his daughter and his mentally ill wife.

One final point/question: When you're going after the killer/bad guy, why doesn't anyone think to turn on the lights in the house?


What a piece of junk this was.
Matthew J.
April 17, 2011
A silly and seen-before attempt at suspense. Thou i liked Alfred Molina.
February 21, 2011
Trash. Don't waste your time. I turned it off part way through. Good cast but poor writing, directing, editing, and dull cinematography.
December 30, 2010
This movie was sooo trippy!
Amy G.
September 3, 2010
Kept me guessing throughout the whole feature, with minuscule predictable moments, which makes this one of my top suspenseful mystery films!
JASINISTER
July 16, 2010
WOW SOMEONE GOT PAID FOR WRITING THIS DRIBBLE

POS- NOTHING

NEG- PEDESTRIAN IN EVERY WAY
WHAT WERE THEY THINKING ANOTHER JACK THE RIPPER RIP OFF
Steve
March 22, 2010
Boring and confusing.
Page 1 of 10
Find us on:                 
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile