Remember Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Remember Me Reviews

Top Critic
Peter Rainer
Christian Science Monitor
January 3, 2011
Overwritten and overcooked, Remember Me still manages a few explosive sequences between Pattinson and Pierce Brosnan.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Top Critic
Wally Hammond
Time Out
April 1, 2010
Be warned, if you're vulnerable to outrageous, cringe-inducing implausibilities -- not least the ludicrous stand-up row between Tyler and his father in the latter's Twin Towers boardroom -- you'd best give this one a miss.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
A.O. Scott
At the Movies
March 15, 2010
If this movie is playing at a theatre near you, you might want to consider moving somewhere else.
Top Critic
Amy Nicholson
I.E. Weekly
March 12, 2010
A simple romance for swooners that wins points for noting that two lovers bring with them a clashing mess of family and friends
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Top Critic
Jennie Punter
Globe and Mail
March 12, 2010
The film gets bogged down by plot points that plod toward an event of devastating proportions.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Amy Biancolli
Houston Chronicle
March 12, 2010
A small, dense chamber study of unhappy people looking for hope in the darkness, often literally.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Tom Long
Detroit News
March 12, 2010
There's a sense of construction to Remember Me that undercuts its emotional impact, and emotional impact is pretty much all this film is shooting for.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Top Critic
Manohla Dargis
New York Times
March 12, 2010
In Remember Me love means never having to say you're sorry, particularly to the audience.
| Original Score: 2.5/5
Top Critic
Lisa Kennedy
Denver Post
March 12, 2010
The finale manages to be tasteful and exploitative at the same time. It touts forgiveness while being mildly infuriating. Such is the danger of borrowing from the enormous to merely entertain. If that.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Richard Roeper
Richard Roeper.com
March 12, 2010
Ambitious but overwrought, with a polarizing final act.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Top Critic
Michael O'Sullivan
Washington Post
March 12, 2010
After the first hint of what's coming -- which crops up less than 10 minutes into the movie and then doesn't let up -- the foreshadowing becomes so distracting that, by the time the darn thing goes off, there's only a sense of relief.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Kyle Smith
New York Post
March 12, 2010
Time for a quick game of One of These Things Is Not Like the Others: Marlon Brando. James Dean. Robert Pattinson.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
March 12, 2010
Remember Me represents Robert Pattinson's attempt to prove he can do more than sparkle like a faux vampire, but the case he presents is not convincing.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Peter Travers
Rolling Stone
March 12, 2010
It's all weepy drool until the twist ending, which turns it shockingly offensive.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Peter Howell
Toronto Star
March 12, 2010
If Remember Me is remembered for anything at all, other than being yet another Robert Pattinson vehicle, it will be for its over-the-top ending, which ranks high amongst the most shameless jerkers of tears ever unleashed upon lachrymose teens.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Elizabeth Weitzman
New York Daily News
March 12, 2010
There's no shame in exploring tragedy through art. But exploiting it to make your very ordinary movie feel more important? That's another story.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Top Critic
Betsy Sharkey
Los Angeles Times
March 12, 2010
Somewhere the heart that must anchor a romantic drama has gone missing. We don't so much feel the relationships as see them.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Top Critic
Colin Covert
Minneapolis Star Tribune
March 12, 2010
A seemingly inconsequential action at the climax becomes a profound life-changer, giving each character's journey an unpredictable -- and I would argue, contrived -- conclusion.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Moira MacDonald
Seattle Times
March 12, 2010
So many terrible things happen to the people in Allen Coulter's Remember Me that when the last awful twist comes -- something so resounding and meaningful that it instantly, horribly cheapens the rest of the movie -- you're almost numb to it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Claudia Puig
USA Today
March 12, 2010
Remember Me is a touching love story, but its broader tale of familial relations packs a greater emotional punch.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Stephen Whitty
Newark Star-Ledger
March 12, 2010
Pattinson's hero is well drawn, emerging as yet another descendent of Holden Caulfield.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Wesley Morris
Boston Globe
March 12, 2010
[Pattinson is] like Luke Perry doing James Dean in the dreariest John Hughes movie ever made: Some Kind of Terrible.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/4
Top Critic
Laremy Legel
Film.com
March 12, 2010
There are no less than four tremendous performances in the film.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Top Critic
James Rocchi
MSN Movies
March 11, 2010
"Remember Me" is only slightly more than forgettable, but its good intentions and good performances can't make up for a central romance that feels more rushed than real thanks to the triumph of casting and celebrity over chemistry and charm.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Top Critic
Steven Rea
Philadelphia Inquirer
March 11, 2010
Remember Me is charged up with stormy melodrama. Pattinson's various fan contingents should eat it up...
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Scott Tobias
AV Club
March 11, 2010
When the film finally goes for broke with that ambitious, colossally misconceived finale, a tremendous emotional investment in these characters is necessary to pull it off -- and even then, its prospects would be questionable.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Top Critic
Joe Williams
St. Louis Post-Dispatch
March 11, 2010
Although clearly it was mapped by a team of consultants, Remember Me is a horrific misstep in the branding of Robert Pattinson.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Andrea Gronvall
Chicago Reader
March 11, 2010
Allen Coulter directed this morose and sluggish drama, which gets more mileage from Pattinson's anguished profile than from Will Fetters's thunderously overwritten screenplay.
Top Critic
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
March 11, 2010
The film's tone is all wrong, the pacing is dead and the veering between sex, sadness and sado-masochistic violence is enough to give you motion sickness. It's a bad movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Michael Phillips
Chicago Tribune
March 11, 2010
The more you wait for the biggest plot development of the last decade to reduce everybody's problems to a hill of beans, the more Remember Me starts to make you feel cheap.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
March 11, 2010
The fact is, Remember Me is a well-made movie. I cared about the characters. I felt for them.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Lisa Schwarzbaum
Entertainment Weekly
March 10, 2010
A movie with all the hyperventilating hysteria of a 1960s teen-tragedy pop song and all the disposability, too.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
Top Critic
Rene Rodriguez
Miami Herald
March 10, 2010
There's a distinctly bittersweet undertow to the picture that draws you in and helps you overlook the film's weaknesses.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Keith Uhlich
Time Out
March 10, 2010
Bless you, R.Patz & Co., because this gloriously steaming pile is officially in the bad-movies-we-love pantheon.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Top Critic
Nick Pinkerton
Village Voice
March 9, 2010
More tacky and preposterous than the worst blockbuster phone-in.
Top Critic
Todd McCarthy
Variety
March 8, 2010
The modestly scaled film delivers some moving and affecting moments amid a preponderance of scenes of frequently annoying people behaving badly.
Top Critic
Kirk Honeycutt
Hollywood Reporter
March 8, 2010
A strong romantic drama in which Robert Pattinson and Emilie de Ravin really shine.