Opening

—— The Identical Sep 05
—— The Longest Week Sep 05
67% Thunder and the House of Magic Sep 05
71% God Help the Girl Sep 05
—— The Remaining Sep 05

Top Box Office

92% Guardians of the Galaxy $16.3M
20% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $11.8M
39% If I Stay $9.3M
31% As Above/So Below $8.3M
21% Let's Be Cops $8.2M
37% The November Man $7.7M
17% When The Game Stands Tall $5.6M
32% The Giver $5.3M
65% The Hundred-Foot Journey $4.6M
34% The Expendables 3 $3.5M

Coming Soon

—— No Good Deed Sep 12
—— Dolphin Tale 2 Sep 12
—— Atlas Shrugged: Who Is John Galt? Sep 12
100% The Skeleton Twins Sep 12
100% The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby Sep 12

New Episodes Tonight

88% Finding Carter: Season 1
43% Houdini: Season 1
67% Matador: Season 1
—— Rizzoli & Isles: Season 5
—— Royal Pains: Season 6
—— Sullivan & Son: Season 3

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— Anger Management: Season 2
71% Dallas: Season 3
—— Mistresses: Season 2
25% Partners: Season 1
67% Teen Wolf: Season 4
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

Certified Fresh TV

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
91% Doctor Who: Season 8
83% Extant: Season 1
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
87% The Knick: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
89% Outlander: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
82% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

The Collector Reviews

Page 1 of 149
Al S

Super Reviewer

February 26, 2014
One of the most insanely creepy and nerve-frying horror films I have ever seen. A stylish, terrifying and wickedly ingenious thriller. It unfolds with big scares and highly inventive new ways to die. The twisted film makers definitely out did themselves here with a film that grabs you and stays with you long after its over. It makes Saw look like an episode of Friends. Josh Stewart is terrific. A sadistically entertaining thrill-ride
Cynthia S

Super Reviewer

November 25, 2013
Lots of gore. Lots of torture. Sick sick sick....but entertaining at the same time, if you like that kind of stuff. Really bad ending, though. UNTIL I saw The Collection. It is the sequel to this, and started THAT movie with a decent ending tie in. Hence, an extra half a star for their effort.
Josh L

Super Reviewer

April 5, 2010
An incredibly gory horror movie that puts Saw to shame in that particular category. I never flinched while watching those films, but this one got to me several times. It has a cool premise (guy breaks into a house to steal something to pay off loan sharks and finds that someone has booby trapped it and locked everything) and plenty of suspenseful moments, but they could have held back at least some on the copious amounts of gore that will turn off all but the most ardent of horror fans. They will lose certain audience members just from that. I will say that it engaged me the entire running length and the protagonist is easy to root for, even though we know he was trying to steal from the family. It has some a few slight twists too, but the ending is a little on the rough side for anyone who likes a happy ending. You don't get it here, that's for sure. The Collector is a solid rental as long as you like horror movies with more gore than brains.
Eugene B

Super Reviewer

December 7, 2012
It may live up to its pervasive and grotesque spectacle to stun horror/gore fans, but the film's predictability and misguided plot makes this 'Saw'-esque (Writers of Saw IV, V & VI) story nothing but blood and spark rather than provoking and fire. 2/5
TheDudeLebowski65
TheDudeLebowski65

Super Reviewer

October 13, 2011
The Collector is one messed up horror film. The film makes Saw look like a Disney film. Almost. This horror effort is a new breed of the "torture porn" genre of horror. The concept is terrific. The film takes ideas from the Saw franchise and amplifies the use of the traps even further. This is a bone chilling film that is very unnerving and disturbing. I don't see why this film has gotten so much flack; it is a very good film that will appeal to fans of the Saw series, Hostel films and other films of the "torture porn" genre. The film will leave you on the edge of your seat till the very end, and there is constant fear and dread throughout the film. The Collector is not a film for the faint of heart. The film will keep you on the edge of your seat, and it delivers the scares, the unnerving viewing experience that you'd expect. The film has its flaws of course, but for the most part, it succeeds at delivering good enough tension, and horror for you to be entertained and feel uncomfortable. This is a well done, well acted horror film, and it doesn't deserve the bad rep it has received. The film is good, thrilling and very disturbing. The Collector possesses key elements that should appeal to diehard fans of horror. This is an underrated film that, if you have chance, you should pick up and give it a shot. A thoroughly disturbing viewing experience awaits you with The Collector.
skactopus
skactopus

Super Reviewer

August 26, 2011
Marcus Dunstan knows what he wants out of this film, but The Collector is definitely only for a selected audience.The Collector is just under 90 minutes and it really is a sick and torturous journey getting through it. Aside from some brief character introductions and less than stellar story setup, which is all this movie needs, this picture is all about sadistic torture. Nothing more, nothing less. That's all there really is to it. That and an unfulfilling conclusion.The gore effects are top notch and the torturous traps are brutal, albeit a bit much. There should be no question as to what is the highlight of this production.Josh Stewart isn't much of a lead, but since The Collector is one unlikeable guy, it becomes rather easy to route for him over the course of this film. There really isn't much else to talk about in regards to the characters or the acting except that Madeline Zima finds the time for some nudity.In short, The Collector is high on suspense and graphic violence, low on amusement. Next.
Emily A

Super Reviewer

August 18, 2011
Hmm. This movie is quite the curveball. I bought it dirt cheap and didn't have very high expectations, but it turned out to be genuinely quite frightening. I like the premise: a guy happens to burgle a house on the same night as the family living there is being attacked by a... slasher movie monster, and has to do the right thing in order to get out alive. I didn't really dig the way the women in this movie weren't so much characters as plot devices, but the mystery around the villain didn't annoy me, which it usually does. It doesn't matter why he's doing this, or how he's managed to rig every room in the house with trip-wire death traps. He's just a monster and as such, has that going for him as both motivation and method. In fact, there's a whole backstory to the killer that gets alluded to, but never elaborated upon. He is what he is. Just run. But watch very carefully which window you try. The hero in this movie rises to the challenge admirably, and was refreshing in his likeability and formidable strategic thinking. You'd think that he'd been trapped in a horror film before. It's funny; this film begins with all these great plotlines, all of which get thrown away when shit hits the fan and none are ever resolved. Oh well. That's not what we came here to see, and maybe part of the horror is that it's not only the people at the mercy of the collector that are screwed.
DerekA101
DerekA101

Super Reviewer

June 22, 2011
Stylish and well-acted, but the story is riddled with holes and takes a nose dive in the final act. I hope someone rewrites this one day because it's a very good idea. And that music was pretty damn intense and scary.
Dean !

Super Reviewer

August 22, 2009
I thought this was a decent horror/thriller with a good plot base even if the story side is quite thin. From the writers of the Saw films and it shows in some of the intricate death traps in the house. Bloody and mildly gory briefly it certainly creates plenty of tension. If you like horrors and don't mind a bit of gore you should like this.
Lewis C

Super Reviewer

August 26, 2010
If sadistic torture and a constant barrage of brutality is your favorite flavor of horror, The Collector will be right up your alley. More than any Saw movie could have done, though, it proved to me that this kind of stuff really isn't my thing.

There's a story here, but it's just a setup for about two hours of people having horrific things done to them. I'm not squemish about violence, blood, etc., but at there's a certain level where there's no entertainment in it for me. The Collector crossed that point at about the thirty minute mark and never looked back.

I'm not saying this is a bad movie, my score is simply an indication of the fact that this is so far removed from the kind of movie I like, that I found it to be unbearable. Hopefully I'll never see anything like this again.
Edward B

Super Reviewer

August 11, 2010
Review Summary:
There is so much gore that I really couldn't blame someone for dismissing this film as mindless torture porn. But the film doesn't have any aspirations to go beyond that genre. If you can stomach it, The Collector just happens to be good at what it does.
Screeny
Screeny

Super Reviewer

July 8, 2010
There isn't much to expect from a movie behind the guys who created "Saw" other than blood, gore, and disguesting traps. With what is somewhat similar to the SAW flicks with the insane traps and such, the movie does have a tad bit of a difference in it, but the movie has no plot at all. Plus, we get no answers and based on the end of this I now know why these guys are wrapping up the SAW series this October, because they're going to push sequals through this now.! Just like Saw its all about making the craziest brutal death scenes, which shears this away from any story. Not worth the time, skip it.
Stuart B

Super Reviewer

May 4, 2010
An excellent low budget horror movie that never skimps on shock. So much better than the over-rated SAW movies. If you are a horror movie fan you MUST see this film...
thefog1331
thefog1331

Super Reviewer

April 29, 2010
It's never boring I'll give it that but no one is fleshed out enough to care about them nor is the killer given any kind of depth or motivation other than the obvious collecting thing. Stewart and Fernandez were quite enjoyable to watch and everything on a technical level was all well done but alas the end result still left me cold and uncaring.
EightThirty .

Super Reviewer

April 9, 2010
09/04/2010 (DVD)

Professional Thief versus Psychopathic Maniac, who's going to win? One has a set of skills for never getting caught while the other is a Booby Trap Specialist. This is 'SAW' vs. 'OCEANS 11'.

Its not as smart as the 'SAW' films but its definitely inherited the brutality from its creators Dunstan and long-time collaborator Patrick Melton (the duo behind Dimensions? Feast franchise and Saw IV thru VI).

To be honest, I never really heard about this film, but when we played it in class... Brutal, absolutely brutal.
3niR
3niR

Super Reviewer

March 11, 2010
Boring. Still have this in my PC. I thought I'll watch the entire movie but I just don't feel like watching this.
Beefy
Beefy

Super Reviewer

February 21, 2010
Silly, shallow premise, but watchable. Fernandez is quite good.
Nani V

Super Reviewer

July 31, 2009
Aahh...I have to admit I was looking forward to a sick film, but it didn't disgust me as bad as I thought it would. My question is, "How did he set all of that up in that amount of time?" Doesn't make much sense...It's a pretty simple "scary movie" that doesn't have the twists and such like the SAW films, but watch it anyway if it's your cup of tea.
Page 1 of 149
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile