49 Up

49 Up

95%

Opening

47% Sin City: A Dame to Kill For Aug 22
35% If I Stay Aug 22
17% When The Game Stands Tall Aug 22
7% Are You Here Aug 22
97% Love Is Strange Aug 22

Top Box Office

21% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $28.5M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $25.1M
14% Let's Be Cops $17.8M
35% The Expendables 3 $15.9M
31% The Giver $12.3M
21% Into The Storm $7.9M
66% The Hundred-Foot Journey $7.2M
64% Lucy $5.5M
41% Step Up: All In $2.7M
62% Hercules $2.1M

Coming Soon

0% The November Man Aug 27
98% Starred Up Aug 27
—— As Above/So Below Aug 29
85% The Congress Aug 29
—— The Calling Aug 29

New Episodes Tonight

100% Defiance: Season 2
100% Garfunkel and Oates: Season 1
88% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
56% Married: Season 1
95% Rectify: Season 2
—— Rookie Blue: Season 5
39% Rush: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
82% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
41% Working the Engels: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
91% The Divide: Season 1
83% Extant: Season 1
—— Franklin & Bash: Season 4
—— Graceland: Season 2
—— Hot in Cleveland: Season 5
57% Legends: Season 1
—— Motive: Season 2
69% Mystery Girls: Season 1
100% Suits: Season 4
38% Taxi Brooklyn: Season 1
43% Young & Hungry: Season 1

Certified Fresh TV

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
83% Extant: Season 1
88% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
86% The Knick: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
73% Murder in the First: Season 1
89% Outlander: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
82% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

49 Up Reviews

J. R. Jones
Chicago Reader
Top Critic IconTop Critic

This seventh installment is utterly fascinating, drawing heavily on footage from the previous movies to follow each child on the journey into middle age.

Full Review Source: Chicago Reader

August 14, 2012
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Michael Apted's Up series remains one of the great imaginative leaps in film.

Full Review Source: Chicago Sun-Times | Original Score: 4/4

November 3, 2006
Michael Wilmington
Chicago Tribune
Top Critic IconTop Critic

I can think of no single movie, fictional or factual, that more strongly awakens our common humanity or that establishes such a marvelous, tight bond with its characters.

Full Review Source: Chicago Tribune | Original Score: 4/4

November 2, 2006
Stanley Kauffmann
The New Republic
Top Critic IconTop Critic

The segments are so cleverly arranged -- [director Michael Apted] includes past pictorial references for each of the people we revisit -- that now there is something almost mystical involved.

October 26, 2006
Sean Means
Film.com
Top Critic IconTop Critic

But a funny thing happened on the way to the class-warfare lecture: Most of the subjects got on with living their lives, ignoring their class distinctions in the process.

Full Review Source: Film.com | Original Score: 3.5/4

October 13, 2006
Moira MacDonald
Seattle Times
Top Critic IconTop Critic

I'll wait breathlessly for 56 Up, and hope this brave group will speak to the camera again; giving us the gift of a share in their lives.

Full Review Source: Seattle Times | Original Score: 4/4

October 13, 2006
Colin Covert
Minneapolis Star Tribune
Top Critic IconTop Critic

There are some clear themes to these zig-zagging life journeys, but they tend to be truisms (marriage is hard work but worth it) rather than chest-clutching surprises.

Full Review Source: Minneapolis Star Tribune | Original Score: 2.5/4

October 12, 2006
David Edelstein
New York Magazine/Vulture
Top Critic IconTop Critic

On the cusp of their half-century mark, Apted's British subjects have accommodated themselves to what they were, what they are, and what they will be.

Full Review Source: New York Magazine/Vulture

October 9, 2006
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Whether we actually 'know' these individuals or not is beside the point; we feel we do, and this enriches the experience of watching the most ambitious documentary project ever committed to celluloid.

Full Review Source: ReelViews | Original Score: 3.5/4

October 9, 2006
Andrew O'Hehir
Salon.com
Top Critic IconTop Critic

The latest riveting, heartbreaking chapter to one of the supreme creations of documentary filmmaking, the 7 Up series.

Full Review Source: Salon.com

October 6, 2006
Mick LaSalle
San Francisco Chronicle
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Taken as a whole, these films constitute one of the greatest uses of cinema a documentary filmmaker has ever devised. Like the other films in the series, 49 Up is alternately touching and mundane.

Full Review Source: San Francisco Chronicle | Original Score: 3/4

October 6, 2006
Kyle Smith
New York Post
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Dropping by on the same people every seven years like an old friend -- or an unwelcome relative -- Apted has constructed a peerless, suspenseful work that develops character to a depth that would make Tolstoy jealous.

| Original Score: 4/4

October 6, 2006
Jack Mathews
New York Daily News
Top Critic IconTop Critic

When I saw 42 Up in 1999, I thought the series had run its natural course and that it was time to leave the "kids" alone. I was wrong. They have just entered a new and exciting phase of lives that are very much works in progress.

Full Review Source: New York Daily News | Original Score: 3.5/4

October 6, 2006
Robert Denerstein
Denver Rocky Mountain News
Top Critic IconTop Critic

I won't bother you with all the particulars because that would steal the film's thunder. Know, though, that Apted includes enough footage from previous films to remind us of details we may have forgotten.

| Original Score: B

October 6, 2006
Ty Burr
Boston Globe
Top Critic IconTop Critic

49 Up marks the latest chapter in one of the most ambitious documentary projects in movie history. Make that the history of any medium, for how often do we get to witness a time-lapse study of human life?

Full Review Source: Boston Globe | Original Score: 4/4

October 6, 2006
Noel Murray
AV Club
Top Critic IconTop Critic

If the purpose of the Up series has been to show how class determines destiny in the UK, then what we've actually learned is that everyone there gets a fair shot to make it to the middle.

Full Review Source: AV Club | Original Score: B+

October 6, 2006
Marta Barber
Miami Herald
Top Critic IconTop Critic

This long documentary is captivating. Not because you're peeking at lives of real people, but because it captures the way time heals all wounds and how people find a way out of deep holes if they are determined to do so.

Full Review Source: Miami Herald | Original Score: 2.5/4

October 5, 2006
Carina Chocano
Los Angeles Times
Top Critic IconTop Critic

More than a deeply satisfying movie; it's a reminder of the wonder contained in ordinary lives.

Full Review Source: Los Angeles Times | Original Score: 5/5

October 5, 2006
Frank Scheck
Hollywood Reporter
Top Critic IconTop Critic

A deeply moving meditation on the natural evolution of existence.

October 5, 2006
Steve Murray
Atlanta Journal-Constitution
Top Critic IconTop Critic

The films have taken on an autumnal shade as we revisit people who seem quietly aware that the years behind them are more than those ahead.

Full Review Source: Atlanta Journal-Constitution | Original Score: B+

October 5, 2006
Jan Stuart
Newsday
Top Critic IconTop Critic

To the extent that it opens a window into the puzzling business of growing older and affirms - with touching reflectiveness and exuberant humor -- the suspicion that we are all in the same boat, 49 Up is priceless.

Full Review Source: Newsday | Original Score: 4/4

October 5, 2006
Desson Thomson
Washington Post
Top Critic IconTop Critic

What 49 Up shows is how the past is forever changing in its significance, its context. The more you watch, the more you are committing yourself to watching 56 Up and beyond.

Full Review Source: Washington Post

October 5, 2006
Peter Rainer
Christian Science Monitor
Top Critic IconTop Critic

The passage of time has rarely been more forcefully conveyed in a movie, as we see clips of the interviewees not only from today but also at seven-year intervals from the past.

Full Review Source: Christian Science Monitor | Original Score: B+

October 5, 2006
Bruce Newman
San Jose Mercury News
Top Critic IconTop Critic

In the same way that none of us ever do turn out as expected, neither do they. And that's more or less the point of continuing the series, even as they drone on about their disappointing marriages and dashed dreams, just like the rest of us.

| Original Score: 3/4

October 5, 2006
Ella Taylor
L.A. Weekly
Top Critic IconTop Critic

There's something immensely satisfying about watching the playing out of ordinary lives we've become attached to over time.

Full Review Source: L.A. Weekly

October 5, 2006
A.O. Scott
New York Times
Top Critic IconTop Critic

The latest chapter in Michael Apted's documentary series shows that at 49, lives reveal more about marriage and the life cycle than about class.

| Original Score: 4.5/5

October 4, 2006
Lisa Schwarzbaum
Entertainment Weekly
Top Critic IconTop Critic

There's a Jesuit saying that goes something like ''Give me the child until he is 7 and I will give you the man.'' 49 Up says, here is the man -- and behold, he is a grandfather, too.

Full Review Source: Entertainment Weekly | Original Score: A

October 4, 2006
Andrew Sarris
New York Observer
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Michael Apted's 49 Up continues and possibly concludes the most remarkable chronicle of a slice of humanity in the history of cinema.

Full Review Source: New York Observer

October 4, 2006
Michael Atkinson
Village Voice
Top Critic IconTop Critic

For under-30 viewers who still think they're immortal, the latest installment could very well be the grimmest and most haunting of horror films.

Full Review Source: Village Voice

October 3, 2006
Eddie Cockrell
Variety
Top Critic IconTop Critic

49 Up follows diverse Brits first selected at age 7 as they now approach a surprisingly becalmed middle age.

Full Review Source: Variety

June 20, 2006
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile