7 Days in Havana - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

7 Days in Havana Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Super Reviewer
½ June 10, 2012
An irregular and heterogeneous combination of seven different stories, lacking a cohesive unity and never interesting enough to be worth our time - and not even excellent directors like Pablo Trapero and Gaspar Noé are able to save this project from being dull and tiring.
½ December 18, 2014
Great array of talent somehow make for a largely boring disjointed experience. Beautiful Havana almost makes up for it.
½ December 13, 2015
Made me nauseous. Bouncy filming. Boring story with a lot of drinking. Had to turn it off on "Tuesday".
½ December 18, 2014
Great array of talent somehow make for a largely boring disjointed experience. Beautiful Havana almost makes up for it.
½ December 14, 2014
Mostly poor and pointless. At times offensive towards Cuban culture. Unnecessarily long and boring. Last episode is cute.
January 10, 2014
Josh Hutcherson's part was my favorite.
Ha.
December 21, 2013
7 días en La Habana [2012]
January 20, 2013
Thought it would look exotic, in other words, boring.
It turns out to be quite all right, half of them are indeed quite fascinating.
Elia Suleiman's "Diary of a Beginner" is subtle yet amusing enough to be my favorite among all.
ray
½ August 9, 2013
Anthology-Projekte ziehen ihren Reiz meist daraus, dass sie verschiedene Regisseure mit unterschiedlichen Stilen und viele bekannte Gesichter zusammenbringen.

Für 7 Tage in Havanna gilt das nur bedingt. Zwar bekommen wir Josh Hutcherson, Daniel Brühl, Emir Kusturica und Elia Suleiman zu Gesicht aber die richtige Starpower sucht man hier vergeblich. Von den Regisseuren kannte ich auch nur Benicio del Toro, Gaspar Noé, Laurent Cantet bzw. Elia Suleiman vom Hörensagen. Abgesehen davon bevorzuge ich Episodenfilme, bei denen die einzelnen Segmente stärker zusammenhängen (dies kann unterschiedlich subtil passieren, oft wirkt es dann auch zu brachial aber damit kann ich besser leben, als mit fast gänzlich voneinander getrennten Episoden wie in diesem Fall).

Ein Schönes an diesen Filmen ist es aber natürlich danach seinen Lieblingspart herauszupicken und dann darüber zu diskutieren. In meinem Fall ist es ein Trio, angeführt von Elia Suleimans Diary of a Beginner". In diesem Segment konfrontiert uns der Regisseur/Hauptdarsteller mit Tati-esken statischen Takes eines Mannes auf der Suche nach etwas, der durch Havanna wandert. Es ist alles sehr ereignislos und sehr komisch (v.a. Fidel Castros TV-Ansprachen).
Gleich danach reiht sich in meiner persönlichen Rangliste der Beitrag Jam Session" von Pablo Trapero, in dem wir einen Tag mit Emir Kusturica verbringen, der nicht nur ziemlich hässlich, sondern auch ziemlich betrunken ist. Dabei verbrüdert dieser sich mit seinem Chauffeur, der gleichzeitig ein begnadeter Trompeter ist. Kusturica wird in diesem Segment für sein künstlerisches Werk bei einem kubanischen Filmfestival geehrt, aber das ist nur nebensächlich, ebenso wie die Querelen mit seiner Frau - es geht eigentlich doch nur um Musik.
An dritter Stelle, aber nicht weit abgeschlagen: Benicio del Toro's Regiedebut und Startschuss der sieben Tage. In El Yuma" verkörpert Josh Hutcherson einen amerikanischen Schauspielstudenten, der mit seinem Fahrer/Assistenten (?) auf Sauftour geht.

Viel Rum, viel Sex und einige Zigarren und natürlich viel tolle Musik. Im Prinzip, das gleiche Rezept wie der unterschätzte Animationsfilm Chico & Rita, nur nicht ganz so gut. Schön anzusehen, teils echt lustig, wenn auch mit einigen Hängern und langatmigen Strecken.
½ July 9, 2013
kinda goes nowhere, but just shows Cuban life. Had a few laughs.
July 6, 2013
No unity, very irregular quality, doesn't show neither Havana's reality neither what makes *Havana special. They tried to avoid all the cliché but they didn't show anything new either, none political point of view whatsoever.
½ June 22, 2013
Dispareja como todas las producciones de su ; tipo tiene momentos muy buenos y los tantos en los que eso vuelve insufrible
June 3, 2013
Me gustó mucho, sobretodo la historia de la cantante con el jugador de baseball
May 26, 2013
7 days in Havana tells seven different stories which are only related by the vibrant city of Havana. Each story depicts the different facets of life in Cuba. We can find first the distinguishable tourists who go there to party and hang around women. In the other hand, we have other tourists who fall in love with the place through jazz and dance. The artists and talent recruiters, the ones who want to leave; the ones who stay. In the end, we witness a pinch of the religious life in Cuba, but the best story was the one that represented the loneliness, the isolation and oblivion of the island.
To get to know the real Cuba, I would recommend 7 days in Havana, in spite of its running time. Directed by seven different acclaimed directors including Laurent Cantet, Benicio del Toro, Julio Medem and Pablo Trapero.
May 5, 2013
7 krotkich historii z Kuby. Film jest w gruncie rzeczy zlepkiem krotkich filmow, z roznymi rezyserami. "7 dni w Hawanie" jest nierowne, omija najtrudniejsze tematy i momentami traci banalem, ale i tak oglada sie calkiem przyjemnie. Jedna z glownych atrakcji jest zalany Kusturica grajacy samego siebie.
April 8, 2013
The idea is great but they should have connected the stories or maybe excluded some of them, which were kinda boring and weird. It was great to see Havana been placed in a movie though...interesting to see some of its culture and way of life on te big screen.
½ April 1, 2013
slabo...ocekuvav poveke...
May 23, 2012
Lo de Trapero y lo de Benicio es pésimo, el resto de cortos medio interesan pero en general son todos malos, da como la sensación de que fueron a la isla solo por el ron y las jineteras y en el tiempo libre intentaron hacer algo.
January 2, 2013
Lo de Trapero y lo de Benicio es pésimo, el resto de cortos medio interesan pero en general son todos malos, da como la sensación de que fueron a la isla solo por el ron y las jineteras y en el tiempo libre intentaron hacer algo.
December 20, 2012
Los mejores cortos son los de Juan Carlos Tabio "Dulce y amargo" y Laurent Cantet "La fuente".
Page 1 of 2