8mm 2

8mm 2

——

Opening

67% The Equalizer Sep 26
70% The Boxtrolls Sep 26
84% The Two Faces of January Sep 26
—— Two Night Stand Sep 26
91% Jimi: All Is by My Side Sep 26

Top Box Office

63% The Maze Runner $32.5M
65% A Walk Among the Tombstones $13.1M
43% This Is Where I Leave You $11.9M
11% No Good Deed $10.2M
71% Dolphin Tale 2 $9.0M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $5.2M
20% Let's Be Cops $2.7M
19% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $2.6M
88% The Drop $2.0M
37% If I Stay $1.8M

Coming Soon

56% Men, Women & Children Oct 01
—— Gone Girl Oct 03
—— Annabelle Oct 03
67% The Good Lie Oct 03
—— 7500 Oct 03

Premieres Tonight

—— The Big Bang Theory: Season 8
—— The Blacklist: Season 2
50% Forever: Season 1
85% Gotham: Season 1
23% Scorpion: Season 1
—— Sleepy Hollow: Season 2

New Episodes Tonight

71% Dallas: Season 3
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— American Dad!: Season 11
87% Boardwalk Empire: Season 5
53% The Lottery: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
78% Ray Donovan: Season 2
87% The Strain: Season 1
—— Witches of East End: Season 2

8mm 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 5
deano
deano

Super Reviewer

December 19, 2007
This thriller sequel is getting more better than the original about the couples in Hungary risking their life on a blackmail, kidnap and murder.
skactopus
skactopus

Super Reviewer

July 11, 2007
First things first. This film has nothing to do with the first 8mm starring Nicholas Cage and I knew that before I watched this, so I wasn't expecting much. In fact, the only thing that resembles 8mm in this film is the plot deals with corruption and black mail within the porn industry. I also remember reading that the "8mm 2" wasn't even the original title. It was changed at the last second, probably to draw attention to more viewers. With that said, lets move on.The story is really weak and the first half of the movie really drags. Drags a lot. I really felt like not finishing it. It isn't till the second half that the story starts to take off and get a little more interesting. It is still a bore fest though. I only say interesting because this is when all the nudity starts to show up. Yet, all the nudity still isn't enough to grab the viewers interest. The only decent thing about this story is the ending, which throws a pretty nice twist at you.The acting is lame as well. There were many times when it felt like they were just reading straight off the script. The actors really didn't have much to work with though. I don't blame them. Many viewers, like myself, may have only been interested to see the sexy Zita Gorog and if anybody wants to watch this movie for her just watch the first twenty minutes to see her nude and sex scenes and then turn it off because she is pretty much done until the ending where she gets maybe a few more seconds of airtime.Take it from me and leave this at the store and out of your DVD players. If you're lucky just borrow it from a friend, watch Zita go to work, and then give it back. This movie was on the borderline of being a soft core porn or an erotic thriller, but yet it doesn't quite make it to any of those. There are many other movies that are well worth your time, maybe even some soft core porn as well.
Dann M

Super Reviewer

September 22, 2013
Having absolutely nothing to do with the original film, 8MM 2 is a dark sexual thriller that's formulaic and uninspired. The story follows an ambitious politician and his fiancee who are being blackmailed with a sex tape that was secretly made of them, so to protect their future they delve into the underworld of the pornography industry in order to recover the tape and find the blackmailers. It's a ridiculous plot that couldn't be less interesting, and the acting is pretty mundane. However, the visual style of the film is impressive and carries an air of mystery and suspense. Though the stylized directing adds a lot of intrigue, 8MM 2 is a predictable and absurd piece of trite.
youngnastyman88
November 18, 2011
The acting is horrible, the plot is mind numbingly unoriginal and extremely predictable, but really the worst offense is the idea that this is a sequel to 8mm. No suspense, very very slow moving. And to top it off it's not only another of those fake sequals, it was never intended to be a fake sequal. While it was being made it was called The Velvet Side of Hell. Awesome title. But Sony came in and said nope we'll call this 8mm 2 instead. So fuck this movie.But about ever 5 minutes there are tits. Seriously.
drazey0013
April 2, 2009
I was suprised but this was actually a decent movie. Interesting with good twists. And can I just say SEXY!
October 1, 2013
Although I was not particularly fond of the first 8mm and knew that the sequel had nothing to do with the first, I stumbled across 8mm 2 and decided to witness it for its explicit content.

8mm 2 is really subtle in terms of storytelling, but not subtle in other areas. By that I mean that the narrative 8mm 2 is not that interesting because it unfolds at first by revealing who the characters are while forgetting to make them interesting one. 8mm 2 completely forgets to make itself an interesting film because despite having decent production values for a direct to DVD film and a cast which is higher quality than expected, it squanders them on countless other qualities which fail to live up to. I can't say that I expected much at all from 8mm 2 because 8mm wasn't even a good film despite being entertaining in certain areas. So a sequel which was released direct to DVD, has a low budget and features none of Nicolas Cage's presence would really not have the biggest chance at being an entertaining film. 8mm 2 does nnot deserve to bare the title of 8mm because the films are way different in terms of both narrative and quality. While 8mm was bad, it was suitably grim and violent enough to strongly convey precisely how sadistic the underside of the pornographic idustry was and it had a certain level of value in terms of the way that its protagonist got to the bottom of the case he was working in the story, as well as the fact that there was some decent action moments. With 8mm 2, the approach is a lot different because the story does not feature anything slightly close to exhileration in terms of investigation and is way too short on action or blood to be any sort of thrilling crime tale. It takes no time before 8mm 2 devolves into what it truly is and essentially what you can expect from a film as basic and unoriginal as it is: a bland, slow drama which is not involving or exciting. Like I said, many of its elements rise above the standard for the average Direct to DVD film, but as a whole it is just a weak and uncreative film which had nothing to do with 8mm and was clearly nothing but a waste of nice cinematography and attractive women.
Despite the explicit nature of many of its scenes and the fact that unsimulated sexual activity appears in the film, 8mm 2 still falls short of having the sexual energy that its predecessor did. This prevents the film from being a guilty pleasure, but it also makes the tone all wrong. The sexual nature of 8mm 2 glamourizes things which goes against what the first film stood for when it discussed the violent way that sexually explicit really was. Despite the fact that 8mm 2 touched upon the unhealthy fixation that much of society has on the exploitation of female bodies, it is only a theme that can be recognised if the viewer understands that in the real world as 8mm 2 uses a lot of naked women in a desperate attempt to turn its lacklustre film qualities into a guilty pleasure. While 8mm 2 may spark a few erections in the younger crowds who are desperate for breasts, it takes away from some of the points that the first film made and instead just acts slightly exploitive solely for the purpose of being exploitive while being a shallow attempt to make social commentary which is clearly just actually vanity. When 8mm 2 tries to be something more than what its limitations will allow it to actually be, it has some moments which spark thought. But they are so minor and buried beneath lackluster filmmaking that the impact on the viewer is either an erection or nothing. While some scenes in the film would be easily classified as wank material, as a film it really does not have enough virtues to hold itself up as a piece of storytelling and actually just comes off as a dull waste of time and some actual potential, and it was severly lacking in explicit nature for a film with a rating of R18+. Frankly, it is uninspired and generic without having even enough minor qualities to qualify in the same class as Joel Schumacher's 8mm.
The one thing that does come off as somewhat surprising for a direct to DVD film is the fact that 8mm 2 does consistent of some decent acting performances.
Johnathon Schaech is decent in 8mm 2. He doesn't do a perfect job because his character is severly limited, but he supplies a certain sense of reality to the part which doesn't make him seem like he is ever trying too hard and therefore evokes a sense which makes the character seem rather organic to a certain extent. He makes a half-hearted effort to get involved in the material and maintains a consistent sense of physicality which subtly presents some sort of sense that he is emotionally involved in the role, even if his line delivery is rather monotonous. For such a weak character and low quality film, Johnathon Schaech does a decent job as the lead in 8mm 2 and certainly does a good job rising above the standard for the basic direct to DVD film.
Lori Heuring is also a nice touch. Her sex appeal is undoubtably an asset, but she is rather subtle in it and does not flash it around. In actual fact, her performance follows in the steps of Johnathon Schaech by being somewhat monotonous in line delivery but firm and involved in terms of physicality. Her character is also a rather thin one, but she does what she can with the part and pulls through with a half decent performance which shows potential and a particular skill for conveying physical emotions through her facial gestures and her emotional movemnets.
The presence of Julie Benz is interesting considering how succesful she would later become with her role in Dexter, and in her brief amount of time on screen she makes herself an easily charming presence with her naturally sweet nature and easy line delivery. She really deserved more screen time because she was one of the best elements of the film.

So despite transcending the standard limitations of a direct to DVD movie in many areas, 8mm 2 is nevertheless a generic and vain film which is not thrilling, original or relevant to the Nicolas Cage film 8mm in any conceivable way whatsoever.
March 7, 2014
Not worth the 90 mins. Its like cruel intentions 3, but worse.
Dann M

Super Reviewer

September 22, 2013
Having absolutely nothing to do with the original film, 8MM 2 is a dark sexual thriller that's formulaic and uninspired. The story follows an ambitious politician and his fiancee who are being blackmailed with a sex tape that was secretly made of them, so to protect their future they delve into the underworld of the pornography industry in order to recover the tape and find the blackmailers. It's a ridiculous plot that couldn't be less interesting, and the acting is pretty mundane. However, the visual style of the film is impressive and carries an air of mystery and suspense. Though the stylized directing adds a lot of intrigue, 8MM 2 is a predictable and absurd piece of trite.
October 3, 2012
Super friggin boring. period.
May 14, 2012
this really had nothing to do with the first movie or what its named after this is a high budgeted skin flick. with a really bad twist ending. You will be left with more questions than answers, but in a bad way.

this movie could have been a three if the film maker should have put more focus on the story then showing nudity in this film, instead of watching an okay movie I saw half a bad movie.

Just my two cents. I could be wrong.
February 11, 2011
this low budget movie has nothing to do with the nicolas cage one. donno why they named it as 8MM 2. complete waste of my time.
Claudia P.
December 17, 2010
this is awful movie compared to the first.... its like north and south... terrible!!!!!!!!
joseph e.
October 7, 2010
Review #416 Thriller, Mystery, B-Movie, Excessive Nudity

"8MM 2 is even worse than the orignal. It is a campy b-movie set in a mystery theiller tone. it is nothing but sex, sex talk, sex shows, and anything in that nature. This isn't anything you couldn't see on cinemax, or HBO late at night."
Skitch
January 24, 2006
[b]Miller's Crossing[/b] - This will restore your faith in the cinema. Savagely brilliant written dialogue. Gabriel Byrne is brilliant in everything, and he was made for this role.

[b]8mm2[/b] - I ended up fast-forwarding through the majority of it, dispite the nudity.

[b]The Constant Gardner[/b] - Eh, I'm not quite sure what to think. The trailer paints it as a fast paced spy/thriller of sorts, when in actuality its a slow character driven drama. I have other complaints, but none are valid enough to mention.

[b]Stripped to Kill[/b] - So bad its good. Here's the tagline on the cover: "A serial killer is killing strippers. Detective soandso has only one weapon to use against him...her body." 6.5 Dr. Uwe Boll's out of 10

[b]Spy Game[/b] - Tony Scott's masterpiece, in this reviewers humble opinion. It just gets better and better with each viewing.
zerohero
November 23, 2005
my freind is a porn addict so he rented this trash cause it has boobies ,i had no desire in the first place to see it ,i hate movies that place boobies in place of a decent plot ,acting and pace in which this movie does -----trash -0
Page 1 of 5
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile