• R, 1 hr. 37 min.
  • Comedy
  • Directed By:
    Jesse Dylan
    In Theaters:
    Aug 1, 2003 Wide
    On DVD:
    Jan 2, 2004
  • Universal Pictures

Opening

43% Sin City: A Dame to Kill For Aug 22
41% If I Stay Aug 22
18% When The Game Stands Tall Aug 22
8% Are You Here Aug 22
96% Love Is Strange Aug 22

Top Box Office

20% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $28.5M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $25.1M
15% Let's Be Cops $17.8M
34% The Expendables 3 $15.9M
32% The Giver $12.3M
20% Into The Storm $7.9M
65% The Hundred-Foot Journey $7.2M
65% Lucy $5.5M
39% Step Up: All In $2.7M
61% Hercules $2.1M

Coming Soon

0% The November Man Aug 27
98% Starred Up Aug 27
—— As Above/So Below Aug 29
86% The Congress Aug 29
—— The Calling Aug 29

Premieres Tonight

33% BoJack Horseman: Season 1

New Episodes Tonight

—— Jonah From Tonga: Season 1
86% The Knick: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

100% Defiance: Season 2
100% Garfunkel and Oates: Season 1
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
56% Married: Season 1
95% Rectify: Season 2
—— Rookie Blue: Season 5
39% Rush: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
82% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
41% Working the Engels: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

American Wedding Reviews

Page 1 of 602
Eugene B

Super Reviewer

July 23, 2013
The humor is more over-the-top, and the morality is even more real and inspiring. American Wedding is that slice of pie that just as life fulfilling as the first installment. Though the film isn't as powerful as the original it's still a good edition to the American Pie franchise. 4/5The humor is more over-the-top, and the morality is even more real and inspiring. American Wedding is that slice of pie that just as life fulfilling as the first installment. Though the film isn't as powerful as the original it's still a good edition to the American Pie franchise. 4.5/5
blkbomb
blkbomb

Super Reviewer

February 18, 2013
Michelle: Love isn't just a feeling. It's shaving your balls.

"This time they're going all the way."

Like every other American Pie film, American Wedding is just an average comedy. There's many laughs throughout, but I wouldn't call it a great comedy or even good comedy. It's average. There's nothing makes this movie anything more than just another raunch fest. The cast is serviceable as always, but other Stifler and Finch, none of these characters are anything to write home about. 

Jim and Michelle have graduated from college and are now going to get married. All the normal, everything goes wrong gags are at work here. Nobody wants Stifler to be invited to the wedding, but he manages to find a way in. It doesn't help anything either, when Michelle's extremely hot, and virgin sister arrives. Stifler and Finch end up battling for her, while stuff keeps going wrong as the wedding approaches.

There's really not too much to say about this movie. It's decent, but not something I thoroughly enjoyed. It has its moments and should satisfy fans of the previous two films. What made the movie watchable for me was Stifler acting like a good old boy in order to try to get his hands on Michelle's sister. In the end though, this was nothing special and just another addition to the American Pie franchise.
cosmo313
cosmo313

Super Reviewer

June 9, 2006
The best part of the American Pie films for me has been the relationship between lovable yet geeky horndog Jim and Michelle the band geek who proved she has quite a wild side. First they hooked up at prom, then, in part two they genuinely fell in love.

In this, the third (and for a while, final) film in the series, the film takes the logical route to a story that started with maturation and virginity loss and concludes with Jim proposing marriage to Michelle. What follows, as you might expect, is a zany plot filled to the brim with gross out gags and crude sexual humor, as well as one bad thing after another happening, but all ends well, and, much like the first film, there's a good story here, as well as tons of heart, charm, and sweetness.

Stiffler has never really been my favorite character, but he becomes quite the focus for a lot of the time. The way they handle his character though marks a big turn for him, and he really shows his true colors, even if it means Finch (my favorite) and Kevin take a back seat to helping Jim get through all his problems to come out on top.

The film sees the departure of several significant characters in the series, absent in reality due to scheduling conflicts and difficulties with coming up with good plot lines for them all. It bugs me though, because there's no explanation given within the film for all of this.

Things I liked about this film, aside from a logical story line that people care about, and a good mix of heart to go with the raunch, the casting of the great Fred Willard as Michelle's dad, made even more fun by the fact that he and Eugene Levy together can ham it up as the well meaning and caring, but sometimes embarrassing dads. Seeing Finch and Stiffler trade roles and behavior in order to fight over Michelle's hot little sister (a young January Jones) is good too. The use of two versions (due to licensing issues) of the great Van Morrison song "Into the Mystic" during the big climax is great too.

Overall, the film is a lot of fun and wraps up a good trilogy nicely. It's not perfect, and despite his coming around, there's still too much Stiffler and not enough of Jim's 'real' friends, although, like I said, the way they handle the Stiffler subplot acts works nicely. Oh and of course, you have to throw in John Cho and Jennifer Coolidge for good measure. I enjoyed this film, and think you should give it a shot.
3niR
3niR

Super Reviewer

October 21, 2010
Though I don't like the Stifler character but this was better.
Everett J

Super Reviewer

July 6, 2012
The third installment of the "American Pie" story revolves around the wedding of sex crazed Jim(Jason Biggs) and his nympho band geek girlfriend Michelle(Alyson Hannigan). After an insane proposal they begin to plan for the wedding. They want Stifler(Sean William Scott) to have nothing to do with it or them, but like always he finds a way to interject himself. It's a good way to wrap up the original trilogy, even if not everyone is back this time around. However the absence of a few characters is fine, as the main cast returns and keep the laughs coming. The story is generic, but it has enough of the "American Pie" brand of crazy sex humor to keep things fresh and moving. One of my big hangups on the movie is out Scott plays Stifler. Here he is so over the top, it's as if he is stifler playing Stifler, and he gets downright annoying in some scenes. But, luckily he doesn't bring the entire movie down. Not the best of the series, but it still ranks above most comedies.
Carlos M

Super Reviewer

December 28, 2010
The funniest of the three movies thanks to the smart decision of having Stifler at the center of the story while the two most boring characters are properly ignored: Kevin, who has a smaller part here, and Oz, who does not even appear.
TheDudeLebowski65
TheDudeLebowski65

Super Reviewer

July 16, 2010
American Wedding is mediocre to say the least. The film lacks the originality that made the first film so enjoyable, but by this third film, it's easy to see why sometimes the comedic formula tends to be a bit tired out. There are a few good moments to be had here, good laughs too, but I just felt that they tried too hard with this one. However there are some hilarious moments here, especially when Stiffler is on-screen. The film loses its charm at times, and it's a shame because the idea for the film was very interesting, unfortunately the film is the worst of four films, and the writing is pretty lazy, and some jokes really don't work. This is a film just ran out of effective ideas. The film started off well, but by the end was pretty mediocre. The film has too many bits where the humour falls flat. I think that the film could have used a few rewrites to really work out the kinks in the script. Add to that the fact that many of the cast that made the first film so much fun weren't there to add more excitement to the film made this film a very ordinary mediocre comedy. With this film, it just felt like the filmmakers were trying too hard. American Wedding was mediocre at best, but in the end I just thought that this was the weakest film in the four film franchise. The jokes here are stale, and a lot of them don't work. I just thought that they could have put more effort into this film.
KJ P

Super Reviewer

August 28, 2010
"American Wedding" is without a doubt, the definite best of the series. Taking the original comedy and improving on it, smartening up the dumb comedy of "American Pie 2," and putting together a hilarious and heartfelt comedy from start to finish. The cast is definitely growing up, and this film shows that exact analysis. Stiffler has always been the most hated, yet funniest of the bunch; However, even though he still is the funniest character in this movie, he shows a more compassionate side, even if he bullshits through most of the film. By the end of the film, we get all the comedy necessary, a wedding worth waiting for, funnier events for the forgotten cast of the past, and oddly fun gay jokes that would (in any other film) be an eye roller. These films never have been perfect, but thinking back to when it all began, this film leaps past the second instalment and improves on the original, both in gags and sweetness. I really liked this movie!
DreamExtractor
DreamExtractor

Super Reviewer

August 18, 2011
American Wedding is a hilarious third entry in the great series. The story now revolves around Jim and Michelle, who are getting married, and if Jim can't screw it all up, than this wedding may be a good one, except for one problem... they all have to invite Steve Stiffler. The story is really fun and there may be parts that are just like the first two, but now its different situations and if you just think about how bad these retards can mess up, it just plain makes me laugh by a$$ off. The cast has a few changes from the first and second films, as they have gotten rid of Oz (who wasn't really funny) and they have added a lot more cast members, but they have given a lot more screen time to Sean William Scott and that was a good thing, seeing as he is the best character in the series. The comedy was great, I laughed a lot and it was possibly the funniest of the series, but its hard to tell seeing as they are all hilarious. American Wedding is a great third entry in the series, and is possibly the best of the series.
murphmann93
murphmann93

Super Reviewer

June 23, 2011
As good as all the other American Pies. Stiffler was even funnier than the last 2.
Chiefilms
Chiefilms

Super Reviewer

May 15, 2010
Nothing left in the tank.
Conner R

Super Reviewer

March 11, 2010
Slightly better than the other two because they eased out the Jason Biggs and and moved in the far more interesting character, Stiffler. At least this one is just so weird that you can bask in its shear stupidity. It's almost more soft core porn rather than film, but it's kind've what they were building up to in the last two.
Jennifer X

Super Reviewer

May 26, 2007
This is the day when American Pie went downhill and took off running. The director becomes more fond of shock value and sight gags than teen emotion.
Cassandra M

Super Reviewer

August 11, 2006
American Wedding is exactly the type of ending that suits the American Pie trilogy. It's not like the typical TV sitcom where it's feel good and lacking on humor. The traditional gross out honest humor is still present. Unfortunately not all the characters are due to scheduling conflicts.

The directors do a good job of covering the absent characters by simply not mentioning them but there lack of presence is felt. Oz isn't present during Jim's speech with the best men. Michele is the only returning female lead. Even some of the returning characters play a smaller role. Kevin is almost not seen in most of the film. He serves very little important role and is more in the background. Finch and Stifler seem to be the lead story, at times more than the wedding itself. It does work to create a funny story.

The story is well wrapped up and that hopefully means that no additional and poorly conceived sequels are made. There seems to be three rules that follow in all of these films.

1) Jim does something bizarre sexual act that embarrasses him.

2) Stifler ingest some bodily excretion

3) Finch has sex with Stifler's Mom

Obviously they've hit Stifler with about every funny excretion. The only options left are blood, pus, or earwax. Rule #2 is going to be hard to follow.
SilentWarProductions2009
May 29, 2007
Directed by: Jesse Dylan.
Starring: Jason Biggs, Seann William Scott, Alyson Hannigan, Eugene Levy, Eddie Kaye Thomas.

The problem now that after this film there is more direct-to-video sequels, which is typical of the money hungry producers, but thankfully with this film it stays strong and finishes the trilogy well, but this film is also the sign of the series running out of steam.

As good as the 2 sequels have been, nothing will beat the classic original, it showed decent characters, a solid story, consistent laughs and a touch of sweetness. The second film lacked some of the story that made the first film great but up'd the laughs and the raunchiness....now with American Wedding, like the others, it has both its strong points and weak ones. When this film was first in production, I couldn't believe it was happening, the second film finished fine and I thought, to make a film that could possibly follow the same formula as the first 2 would kill the series, but thankfully they take the film in a different direction. We have learnt to like these characters over the series and it really helps here in a lot of scenes. The cast we have grown to love help to add more sweetness in the film and it helps to raise the film above mediocrity, there are even some scenes that are much more rauncher and downright hilarious, that we have forget how far-fetched they have gotten. As I mentioned before, the cast deliver what they need to, but one shows signs of dying....Seann William Scott doesn't deliver as well with Stifler as he did with the first 2 films, he has the lines to do so, but it seems to be something with the direction that makes him lack.

To think back upon this series, it should only be seen as a trilogy. It has had its ups and downs, but we have enjoyed it all the way. A fitting end to one of the better teen comedies in years.
Leigh R

Super Reviewer

November 9, 2006
Good job done by all. It was a bit better than the second, yet still not as good as the first.
Sarah G

Super Reviewer

August 29, 2006
I don't quite understand why people don't like this one. It doesn't have the charm and hilarity of the first two but I still laughed a lot throught his one. These movies aren't there to be admired as works of art, or there as Art House movies, thre to be enjoyed time and time again and I wish people would see that.

Again, I 've seen this along with American Pie 1 and 2 several times and still laughed and laughed and didn't get bored. All three will be remembered for years to come, and i will show my children,grand children, great-grandchildren this!

If you like The American Pie trilogy then check out Porkys, which is just the same only made in the 1980's. Porkys were films that my Parents watched then so I expect that I would be doing the same with these.
deano
deano

Super Reviewer

October 30, 2006
Much more laughs than the sequels. The American Pie posse return with their unmistakable blend of excruciating embarrassment and hysterical humour. Strippers are really fantastic and hot and the most worst scene I ever saw Stifter chews and shallows a 'dog shit' that make it look like a chocolate - it makes me feel like I'm gotta be sick or vomit.
Dean L

Super Reviewer

July 17, 2007
They should have named this movie, "American Stifler." It seems that after the first movie they decided that Stifler was the most interesting character in it and while I think he can be funny...ENOUGH ALREADY. This movie was incredibly trite and contrived rehashing many of the same old jokes (sexually embarassing scenes for Jim, expletives galore for Stifler, and Pseudo-Bohemian diatribes for Finch, and blissful ignorance/wisdom for Eugene Levy ([Jim's Father]). It should say something to the viewer that a good portion of the original cast did not return (No Mena Suvari, Shannon Elizabeth, Tara Reid, or Chris Klien...well we should be thankful for no Chris Klien!). That being said STILL (he said as a disclaimer) I found myself laughing in some places. That alone earned this movie 3 stars from me. So what's next? American Divorce? American Adoption? Help me out...let the franchise die.
Lewis C

Super Reviewer

June 25, 2007
A few funny scenes.
Page 1 of 602
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile