• PG-13, 1 hr. 43 min.
  • Drama, Romance, Comedy
  • Directed By:
    Joe Roth
    In Theaters:
    Jul 20, 2001 Wide
    On DVD:
    Nov 13, 2001
  • Columbia Pictures

Opening

20% Transcendence Apr 18
53% Heaven Is for Real Apr 16
7% A Haunted House 2 Apr 18
89% Bears Apr 18
58% Fading Gigolo Apr 18

Top Box Office

89% Captain America: The Winter Soldier $41.3M
47% Rio 2 $39.3M
71% Oculus $12.0M
62% Draft Day $9.8M
77% Noah $7.6M
41% Divergent $7.4M
13% God's Not Dead $5.5M
92% The Grand Budapest Hotel $4.1M
79% Muppets Most Wanted $2.3M
78% Mr. Peabody & Sherman $1.9M

Coming Soon

40% The Other Woman Apr 25
—— Brick Mansions Apr 25
72% The Amazing Spider-Man 2 May 02
100% Neighbors May 09
—— Godzilla May 16

Premieres Tonight

100% Orphan Black: Season 2

New Episodes Tonight

100% Da Vinci's Demons: Season 2

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— Continuum: Season 3
100% Hannibal: Season 2
—— Hart of Dixie: Season 3
—— Last Man Standing: Season 3
—— Unforgettable: Season 3

America's Sweethearts Reviews

Page 1 of 104
Eugene B

Super Reviewer

July 24, 2013
An all-star cast, indeed, but the film is lackluster in comedy even in romance. America's
Sweethearts is a rom-com that does no favors in providing attention or even inspiration to the audience despite the amount of stars on display. 3/5
Lucas M

Super Reviewer

March 19, 2012
Interesting concept to a satire, but a very unfunny screenplay, and just make us lose a good time seeing more one dumb romantic comedy with famous making fun of they self. Rotten.
MANUGINO
MANUGINO

Super Reviewer

July 5, 2009
A comedy about celebrity, family and other forms of insanity.

Not bad but not so good either. America's Sweethearts is one of those movies where if you've seen the preview, you've seen the movie. The story was kinda dull and boring at times. Hank Azaria's accent was one the ugliest accent I've heard before, it was truly hilarious to hear him speak. The ending was good though.

America's favorite couple, in movies as well as in real life, has broken up: Gwen has fallen in love with Latin actor Hector, Eddie can't take it no more and has taken quite some time off in the lush gardens of a leading wellness guru. But there is a problem: The latest movie of Gwen & Eddie ("Time over Time") is being held hostage by its director Hal Weidmann. His only request is that it is shown to the press first, not even producer and studio boss David Kingman may take a look at it. Kingman now entrusts PR wizard Lee Philips, whom he just had fired, to organize a press junket that none of the journalists will ever forget - just to distract the press from the fact that the film itself won't be shown at all. Therefore, Lee somehow has to bring Gwen and Eddie back together, at least for that one weekend, in a lonely hotel resort in the Nevada desert. Not quite everything works out the way Lee wanted it to, since Gwen's sister and assistant Kiki also has a mind of her own.
murphmann93
murphmann93

Super Reviewer

June 23, 2011
Was better than I expected it to be. Another must see film! I quite liked Catherine Zeta Jones in this as well.
Apeneck F

Super Reviewer

May 14, 2011
a lil fun schticking hollywood romance, schtupping hollywood, and schlepping our psyches along for the ride. good clean fun, billy crystal style.
Conner R

Super Reviewer

November 19, 2009
It's about as good as you're going to get with the typical romantic comedy formula. It has a great cast that work well off each other, but it is extremely predictable and cliched. Still, it's worth a watch. Fluff isn't always bad to watch, it can get you optimistic if nothing else.
movieguru12
movieguru12

Super Reviewer

April 23, 2008
Very good movie. Julia Roberts is adorable as always and John Cusack and Billy Crystal have very good performances. I'm a huge John Cusack fan! <3 :) Just great!
TomBowler
TomBowler

Super Reviewer

August 2, 2009
this is a great film. a chick flick, but a good one.
FiLmCrAzY
FiLmCrAzY

Super Reviewer

September 14, 2007
love it excellant film funny love film
deano
deano

Super Reviewer

November 30, 2006
The love quadrangle that centres around Julia Roberts, John Cusack, Catherine Zeta-Jones and Hank Azaria is much more entertaining than the script's jabs at two-faced reporters, film junkets, and image-making, all of which have been skewered far better in projects such as, say, Robert Altman's The Player. Even so, Roberts and Cusack generate considerable good will, and the result goes down smoothly.
thmtsang
thmtsang

Super Reviewer

July 15, 2007
American's hottest couple aren't too hot about each other. Good cast.
Emily A

Super Reviewer

July 15, 2007
The masters of the romantic comedy return to remind us all why they hold the title. I liked this more than I logically should have, since I hate Julia Roberts, but Everyone else in this did really really well. It's like the Ocean's Eleven of the romantic comedy- more enjoyable and less saccharine than you would think. The jokes throw you not only with thier own humour, but the mere fact that here IS genuine humour in a Roberts vehicle. I guess I'm too used to being disappointed by similar fare. This is was really not too bad.
Rachel F

Super Reviewer

June 25, 2007
This is such a cute movie. John Cusack,Catherine Zeta-Jones, and Julia Roberts have great chemistry together.
ajaymuthecooldevils
ajaymuthecooldevils

Super Reviewer

June 6, 2007
I really wanted to see this movie after I know they have Julia Roberts, Catherine Zeta Jones and John Cusack together... But what I saw is just an ordinary comedy with a bad editing.... the cast played great, they showed they're good for the Oscars... but i don't quite like the endings.... they should make a better endings for that...
sanjurosamurai
sanjurosamurai

Super Reviewer

January 18, 2007
with this cast this flick should have been a lot better
Jason S

Super Reviewer

December 28, 2006
It had a couple of funny parts.
Leigh R

Super Reviewer

October 17, 2006
It was okay.
Stuart B

Super Reviewer

October 3, 2006
Great cast and very funny... Please Hollywood, make more movies like this!
Dann M

Super Reviewer

June 17, 2012
From writer/producer Billy Crystal comes the fun, romantic comedy America's Sweethearts. When America's number one Hollywood couple goes through a tumultuous breakup, the film studio plots to get them back together in order to promote their latest movie. John Cusack, Julia Roberts, Billy Crystal, and Catherine Zeta-Jones form an all-star cast that delivers some great performances. Plus, the story's written fairly well and has some fun surprises. America's Sweethearts is an entertaining romp full of laughs.
Juan C

Super Reviewer

May 28, 2011
a romantic comedy that makes celeberty relationships funny to wathc with billy crystal stealing the whole film! B
Page 1 of 104
Find us on:                 
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile