Movies Like Anatomy of Hell

Opening

—— The Identical Sep 05
—— The Longest Week Sep 05
67% Thunder and the House of Magic Sep 05
74% God Help the Girl Sep 05
—— The Remaining Sep 05

Top Box Office

92% Guardians of the Galaxy $16.3M
20% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $11.8M
38% If I Stay $9.3M
33% As Above/So Below $8.3M
21% Let's Be Cops $8.2M
36% The November Man $7.7M
18% When The Game Stands Tall $5.6M
32% The Giver $5.3M
65% The Hundred-Foot Journey $4.6M
34% The Expendables 3 $3.5M

Coming Soon

—— No Good Deed Sep 12
—— Dolphin Tale 2 Sep 12
—— Atlas Shrugged: Who Is John Galt? Sep 12
100% The Skeleton Twins Sep 12
100% The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby Sep 12

Premieres Tonight

25% Houdini: Season 1

New Episodes Tonight

—— Anger Management: Season 2
71% Dallas: Season 3
—— Mistresses: Season 2
25% Partners: Season 1
67% Teen Wolf: Season 4
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— Breathless: Season One
100% Falling Skies: Season 4
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
78% Ray Donovan: Season 2
46% Reckless: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
—— Unforgettable: Season 2

Anatomy of Hell Reviews

Page 1 of 10
deano
deano

Super Reviewer

June 3, 2007
Awfully, sickening as it's shocking of two strangers explore the boundaries of sex and bad taste in this explicit and unseemly French import.
Harlequin68
Harlequin68

Super Reviewer

November 11, 2005
[font=Century Gothic]In "Anatomy of Hell", a heterosexual woman(Amira Casar) begins slitting her wrists in a nightclub bathroom when she is interrupted by a gay man(Rocco Siffredi). He escorts her to a clinic where she is patched up. They become acquainted and she invites him back to her place to view her in all her intimate glory. He is less than thrilled with the proposition until she offers to handsomely recompense him. He agrees to the offer.[/font]
[font=Century Gothic][/font]
[font=Century Gothic]"Anatomy of Hell' is not a bad idea for a movie. For example, it is always a good thing when men and women exchange sexual information about their respective genders.(I learned a good deal about sex from my women friends in college.) But the movie wallows in pretentiousness and neither performer were apparently cast because of their acting ability. Catherine Breillat had already covered similar territory in the superior "Brief Crossing." I did think the tampon scene was informative, though. [/font]
[font=Century Gothic][/font]
[font=Century Gothic][/font]
October 16, 2012
I don't get Anatomy of Hell. It seems to be preaching something, but I'll be damned if I can figure out what. And even if I could figure out the "what", I would still point to the lack of character as being a major strike against it. Without characters (and the wooden tropes portrayed by Amira Casar and Rocco Siffredi do not count), this is simply message and image. And, as mentioned before, the message is incomprehensible, at least to my eyes. And the image is just nakedness and acts of nakedness. Which is basically what this boils down to.
RicardoCraneo
May 30, 2012
None of it bothers me. I like Catherine Breillat's intentions, her unapologatic and unconventional filmmaking that challenges the big dogs (Men). The controversy she spurs is also a plus. If you're familiar with editing techniques, some of the gross-out imagery in this movie will not get to you, though I read that the sex was unsimulated (!) Its problem was its stationary anatomical dissection. I deduce simply from the title because I had some effing bad fansubs (Need to rewatch), which means a lot of the dialogue I didn't fully comprehend. But I saw enough to make me decide it's badly put together. The script and ending have no true dedication, the actors are there so that Breillat can just teach audiences with them, as though they were puppets.
RicC
June 11, 2009
None of it bothers me. I like Catherine Breillat's intentions, her unapologatic and unconventional filmmaking that challenges the big dogs (Men). The controversy she spurs is also a plus. If you're familiar with editing techniques, some of the gross-out imagery in this movie will not get to you, though I read that the sex was unsimulated (!)

Its problem was its stationary anatomical dissection. I deduce simply from the title because I had some effing bad fansubs (Need to rewatch), which means a lot of the dialogue I didn't fully comprehend. But I saw enough to make me decide it's badly put together. The script and ending have no true dedication, the actors are there so that Breillat can just teach audiences with them, as though they were puppets.
lwilson85
March 7, 2007
Allusions to Adam and Eve and to the purity of womanhood---Breillat's latest is sure to offend gay men, feminists and everyone else.
December 24, 2006
Breillart at her worst, which is her at her best - not her best film but, in my view, her most developed philosophical expression. It could be summed up by her choice of male leads: just watch one of his films or, on second thought, don't; you might end up like her. A perfect background film for a halloween party. The least erotic sex film I have ever watched. Congrats!
November 5, 2013
Absolutely despicable film. Now, normally just being heavy handed isn't enough for me to hate a film, but this film can't even seem to get its own moral values it's preaching right. Breillat beats us over he head with yet another "all men are evil" show, but it gets worse: the film is aggressively homophobic in addition to misandrist. Watch the film's pretentious fans defend the homophobia by saying the gay guy was a "symbol". Then come some of the most disgusting things ever shown on screen, not as bad as Serbian Movie but still deplorable. If you find this film "artistic" you must be cinematically sheltered.
February 6, 2013
Seemed interesting at first, yet it was nothing special at all. Actually the movie seemed somewhat homophobic, as it was trying to say that gay men are in a way terrified of the female body and sexuality. Some of the scenes were memorable, mostly because of their shock value, not because of some deeper meaning (or maybe they had some meaning which I wasn't interested in enough to understand).

In the end the movie seemed like a waste of time and mild disappointment, since it did a poor job at delivering what was trying to be portrayed, nor did it stimulate any interest in me to search for deeper meaning in the plot.
April 15, 2013
Quando um filme arty internacional é literalmente filmado a quatro minutos do sítio onde moramos, é natural que a curiosidade seja enorme. O "Anatomie de l'enfer" foi em grande parte filmado no interior de um grande casarão por cima da Praia do Sul, da Ericeira, e é como se isso nunca tivesse acontecido. Percebe-se o porquê disso ao ver um filme que deve ser das coisas mais viscerais alguma vez filmadas em Portugal com direito a exibição em sala. A história é esquelética e o que alimenta o filme é mesmo o seu texto profundamente filosófica adaptado a partir de um livro da própria realizadora Chaterine Breillat. Os melhores momentos do Rocco Siffredi acontecem quando é chamado a fazer aquilo que faz a tempo inteiro (foder) e nem tanto quando tem de ser expressivo. Apesar de algumas cenas risíveis e de nem sempre ter estaleca para tudo o que quer dizer e sugerir sobre como é complexo o fosso emocional entre os sexos, "Anatomie de l'enfer" é melhor do que fazem crer muitas das críticas que o arrasaram quando estreou. Nem sequer sou muito adepto daqueles filmes teatrais, em que cada linha é pronunciada como se estivesse a ser lida a partir de um livro, mas este tem qualquer coisa de muito importante a dizer e uma ou outra vez anda perto da super-intimidade d' "O Império dos Sentidos". E isso não acontece todos os dias.
April 15, 2013
Y-U-C-K ! .. and that's a compliment!
January 7, 2013
This movie is F*CK*D UP! A must see!
October 18, 2012
One of the strangest films I've seen, an overintellectualisation of sex... in which a woman gets a man to spend 4 nights with her and they increasingly explore the nature of sex... or perhaps of the politics of the female body.
It will put off all but the most dedicated of film watchers as (and I don't usually include spoilers) they have sex (erect penises and all) during her period, tampons going in and out and he withdraws covered in her blood.
As I said, it's not for everyone...
Is it gratuitous?
Probably; in equal amounts to its pretentiousness. But that doesn't leave it completely without merit.
Give me a while and I might come up with the merit.
September 3, 2012
Catherine Breillat's startlingly original film about female sexuality. she gives us a man and a woman engaged in a bruising slugfest hinged to sexual difference. it's also one of the most groundbreaking films in recent memory in terms of both the explicitness of its sexuality and its commitment to such an austere intellectual discourse. No wonder Rocco looks so shell-shocked: this is sex not as comedy, but as the deepest, darkest male nightmare.
July 23, 2012
This isn't a movie it's porn!
March 22, 2012
Bon Sujet..... Mauvais Film !!!!
December 13, 2011
Sex.............That's it! The Whole Movie!
June 20, 2011
Films like this just piss me off.

It's not uncommon for stories to have a deeper message the film makers and writers want to relay. Atlus Shrugged, Evangelion, and The Day the Earth Stood Still are all examples of fairly accessible stories with a strong and clear message behind them, often times with characters actually divulging into open debates and/or lectures to let the message sink in. These stories are good because they have a powerful conflict, multi-dimensional characters, and an all-around good story to complement the deeper message.

Anatomy of Hell has none of that.

All it does have is a plot about two people having sex--no, not even that, a gay man being paid to watch a woman do sexual things that range from mundane to downright repulsive. If the actors had any more emotion than a plastic bag, the gross scenes might actually succeed in being moving or powerful, but with dialogue so wooden and unrealistic as this, you find it impossible to care at all about the nameless protagonists.

This might not be too unbearable if the message was powerful and enlightening, but the overwhelming sexism of the movie's moral is so offensive and biased that the viewer may suspect that the writer was not a talented director who made the powerful, if not offensively mean spirited, Fat Girl, but rather a twelve year old girl ranting about how much she hates men after one stood her up for a date.

And this film is, in many ways, more well-known than it should be. With a title like Anatomy of Hell, one hopes for a Dante-esque journey into the inner reaches of hatred, madness, and sin. All we get is the talented director crying about how men are all jerk-wads.
February 14, 2011
dude, people don't know what they are talking about when they give negative reviews for this movie. This is one of the BEST movies I have ever seen! I love when films honestly explore difficult subject matter
January 30, 2011
Better than most give it credit for. Like The Man, it is an experience that will leave you shaken, disgusted, repulsed, disturbed perhaps angry at the director. Call it what you want, but you cannot forget it, it's that powerful
Page 1 of 10
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile