Anthony Zimmer Reviews

Page 1 of 7
DrStrangeblog
Super Reviewer
½ March 9, 2015
Effective low-key thriller enhanced by short bursts of tensely gripping action. Greatly superior to the limp American remake " The Tourist ", make sure you see this one first to avoid the same anger I relived because the major surprise had already been spoiled. Even worse, that movie only survived by cheating with its characters' behavior, while "Anthony Zimmer" makes more logical sense while planting some shrewd clues. Admittedly that one features a ravishing Angelina Jolie, but an enticingly enigmatic Sophie Marceau doesn't get seated at the table by the kitchen door either.
MagnusMagica
Super Reviewer
December 29, 2007
"That man over there... I think I saw him on the train. And? Maybe he's following us. I think you're right. You do? You should be a mystery writer."
A very stylish, elegant thriller. Great cast with Yvan Attal and the very beautiful and seductive Sophie Marceau. Great score by Frederic Talgorn.
½ March 21, 2015
Confused and confusing.
DrStrangeblog
Super Reviewer
½ March 9, 2015
Effective low-key thriller enhanced by short bursts of tensely gripping action. Greatly superior to the limp American remake " The Tourist ", make sure you see this one first to avoid the same anger I relived because the major surprise had already been spoiled. Even worse, that movie only survived by cheating with its characters' behavior, while "Anthony Zimmer" makes more logical sense while planting some shrewd clues. Admittedly that one features a ravishing Angelina Jolie, but an enticingly enigmatic Sophie Marceau doesn't get seated at the table by the kitchen door either.
½ August 13, 2013
Good scenario, good actors, good suspense. The American remake is rubish, as usually.
½ June 22, 2012
Better than The Tourist, which was a copy of this movie.
April 29, 2012
Nice french thriller. Ending unexpected, even though they could have made it with a bit more suspense and push the unknown farther.
April 28, 2012
Enjoyed it.

I just found out that the movie "The Tourist" (Johnny Depp, Anjolina Jolie) is a remake of this (and it bombed).
December 15, 2011
Infelizmente previsível.
July 4, 2010
It's so obvious that you can't believe it's true.
That's not a good thing.
It's nice to look at though.
September 30, 2011
Anthony Zimmer is a very good movie. I'd give it four out of five, and I might have gone higher if I hadn't made the mistake of already seeing The Tourist. If you haven't seen the American version, please don't bother. See this instead. The Tourist adds unnecessary plot twists, miscasts Depp as the male lead and just messes up the whole tone of the enterprise. Anthony Zimmer, by comparison, is sleek, simple, entertaining, and I probably would not have seen the ending coming if I didn't already know.
½ May 10, 2011
very aesthetic french kitsch.
Sophie Marceau, followed by a 2 day shave guy, move about some nice south of France scenery.
February 3, 2011
Much better than its american version "The tourist"
January 10, 2011
pretty good movie, good for a frenchie flick
½ January 4, 2011
A 2005 French film currently having the typical American remake and due for release in 2011, it is also akin to Johnnie Depps "The Tourist". I really enjoyed this Hitchcockian thriller, where the story is most important and the acting albeit top notch from the gorgeous Sophie Marceau and Yvan Attal, and the wonderful scenery combine to make an enjoyable film.
I can see why a lot of people have given this a negative vote, as when I say it is Hitchcockian in style, I also mean that it is rather 1950's feel as well, the leading actors use a lot a facial nuances, there is no gore (but the sound effects especially the guns are excellent) and the injuries sustained by the actors seem real enough for me.
The bad news is that you are unlikely to see it anywhere as the film is now very rare on the DVD market on both sides of the Atlantic, but if you can find it online it is well worth a watch!
October 16, 2010
I enjoyed this (with subtitles). The Tourist, with A-Jolie and J-Depp, will be a re-make of this.
½ September 22, 2006
El buen cine negro, de suspense e intriga ha procedido casi siempre de la industria hollywoodiense, las cumbres del género se encuentran (como la inmensa mayoría de cumbres del cine) en el Hollywood dorado, el de las estrellas, el glamour y los grandes estudios. Sin embargo, la decadencia que hoy vive la meca del séptimo arte, con muy contadas excepciones, ha hecho que sus producciones en este género rallen continuamente en lo infame, en el bodrio. Desde hace varios años, las mejores obras de intriga y de misterio son las que proceden de las demas cinematografías, incluyendo cómo no, mal que les pese a algunos, la española. En este caso abordamos una producción francesa, El Secreto de Anthony Zimmer, donde nada es lo que parece ser.

François (Yvan Attal) está a punto de empezar sus vacaciones cuando una extraña mujer, Chiara (Sophie Marceau) se le acerca en el tren que conduce a ambos a la costa. Una vez allí, Chiara invita a François a hospedarse con ella, en el hotel más lujoso de la ciudad. Atónito, François descubrirá muy pronto que bajo esa apariencia de amabilidad que transmite su acompañante hay unas intenciones ocultas, turbias. Jerôme Salle, responsable además del guión junto a Laurence Couturier, nos presenta El Secreto de Anthony Zimmer, un thriller interesante y apasionante en un principio, el que desgraciadamente se le va escapando el gas a medida que pasan los minutos, hasta desembocar en un final más que previsible. La trama poco a poco se va diluyendo como un terrón de azúcar en el café, hasta la llegada del tercer acto, donde el espectador acaba perdiendo completamente el interés. Hay que reconocer que, a pesar del fallo principal del film, el guión, está bien rodado, con una atmósfera envolvente y un buen manejo dle tempo por parte de Jerôme Salle. A esa atmósfera también contribuyen sus dos protagonistas, un angustiado Yvan Attal y sobre todo, una seductora, misteriosa e inquietante Sophie Marceau.

El Secreto de Anthony Zimmer es, en su forma, un buen ejemplo de cine de intriga al estilo clásico, pero al que le falta lo primordial, una historia que enganche y que no te suelte hasta que aparecen los títulos de crédito.


Un saludo!
le7
February 14, 2006
dont take it too seriously. but a very fun way to spend an evening!
Page 1 of 7