Assassination Games - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Assassination Games Reviews

Page 1 of 9
Super Reviewer
½ August 21, 2011
This explosive action flick hits the bulls-eye, anybody who loves action movies should see this movie. I absolutely loved it. An exhilarating and adrenaline-charged action-packed edge of your seat thriller. A strong, compelling, gripping and emotionally engaging movie. A pure knockout. A wickedly cool and tremendously awesome ride with a strong story and great characters. It`s sharp, smart, funny and packed with heart-stopping thrills from start to finish. An explosively entertaining film with a traditional western style feel to it, it feels like a modern-day and highly stylized version of For A Few Dollars More. Scott Adkins and Jean-Claude Van Damme are at their best, these two sensational action stars pack great physical skill and intense star power. Van Damme gives a great and gritty performance, as he gets older the more compelling he is to watch. Adkins is riveting, he truly is one of the most gifted action stars of his generation and also just a gifted actor. Adkins and Van Damme have great chemistry that shows with great character development.
deano
Super Reviewer
½ August 8, 2011
Do we need to say guns, blood, explosions again? What if we try this: the art direction if flawless. And the bodycount is Awe-sum!!! I really like Jean-Claude Van Damme and Scott Adkin's chemistry together. This is well directed and shot.
One is fighting to assassinate his target because of love, fighting to try and bring justice for his wife. The second is the opposite. Everything thing is about work, and he is just doing a job. Vincent (Van Damme) becomes more open to love throughout the film, as you see the change from the start to the end, and that was a good believable story.
Can't wait to see Van Damme and Adkin reunite again (at the third time) in the upcoming 2012 movie, The Expendables 2.
Super Reviewer
October 17, 2011
Straight to DVD yet actually a pretty good action thriller for once from Mr Van Damme, his new best mate in action Scott Adkins joins in for the ride and this time they are on the same side to battle some fat guy that looks like he just stepped off a 70's porn set.

The film appears to be in sepia for allot of the action which is odd but looks quite nice, at first I thought there was something wrong (maybe there was haha) but it does seem to be like that for some reason. There isn't allot of martial arts fighting either I must reveal, we don't see Van Damage going on much, some fighting but nothing special, same for Adkins too, this is mainly a film about hitmen taking out targets swiftly but we do get one fast punch up with the two main men.

Nothing terribly new here, same old stuff but it is better than most run of the mill action films from JCVD and it looks like it was actually made well with some care and not as tacky as these films can be.
PantaOz
Super Reviewer
½ February 12, 2012
The latest action film starring my mom's favourite actor, Jean-Claude Van Damme, wasn't something which I enjoyed watching. Even Scott Adkins as a partner didn't help... Yes, there was lot of action and violence but the story of Brazil (Jean-Claude Van Damme) who is a contract killer, willing to take any job if the price is right, was all about the violence! The main character Flint (Scott Adkins) left the assassin game when a ruthless drug dealer's brutal attack left his wife in a coma. Now, two of them are trying to sort out the same coldblooded drug dealer, wanting him dead - one for the money, the other for revenge. Of course, there are crooked Interpol agents and vicious members of the criminal underworld hot on their trail in Romania... but these two assassins reluctantly join forces to quickly take out their target before they themselves are terminated.

Don't expect too much of a dialogue or some complicated story... everything here is shooting and fighting. If you like that, there is a chance you could give it a positive review!
March 8, 2014
Awesome movie!! It was intense, engaging, action-packed, and entertaining!! The movie had amazing fight scenes and will have you grip your seat the entire time!! The cast was legit!! Jean-Claude Van Damme and Scott Adkins were a dynamic duo!! If you are a fan of these action stars, than you would enjoy every minute of this movie!! If you not a fan and are looking for a really intense action movie, than you might want to look elsewhere because this is just really entertaining!! If you like a pretty entertaining action film with some legit action heroes, than this is obviously a must-see!!
September 21, 2013
Van Damme and Scott Adkins are great together! Assassination Games is a thrill of minute action packed powerhouse.
½ September 15, 2013
Two bad guys chasing a third bad guy with a couple of bad cops in the mix. Recipe for lots of violence for no particularly good reason. Straight-to-video movie.
½ March 3, 2013
I was surprised by this movie. I was in the mood for a shoot em up ninja karate flick and this ended up being more than that.
September 3, 2012
Action movies just keep getting progressively dumber! Scott Adkins athleticism is astounding but the lack of action and terrible acting just sweeps that drive and athleticism under the rug. The premise of this film is dull and dated among many other recent direct-to-video action films that also lack in originality and substance.
September 2, 2012
Straight to DVD and not a big screen affair...But the action was good for a movie that you don't have to think about it just sit back and watch.
August 23, 2012
This is easily Adkins' best role and one of Van Damme's better movies. JCVD is great as a cold blooded killer and Adkins is great as the tracig hero out for revenge. Adkins is young and new in the action game, while JCVD had been here for years. Adkins shows here that he can hold his own with living legends such as Jean-Claude.
August 16, 2012
Jean Claude Van Damme still gives us top notch action films, as evidenced by this truly remarkable tale of 2 hit men gunning for the same mark all while trying to not break their codes and rules of the assasination game. JCVD is still very much so an action hero so watch this film and be prepared to be subjected to an unusually high body count rate during shootout scenes.
½ July 12, 2012
JCVD and good action movies are reunited...and it feels so good. Scott Adkins is a breath of fresh air as JCVD's sidekick (he can actually act unlike other co-stars of Van Damme's past). Assassination Games is full of action and has a plot that had enough drama to keep the plot moving but it felt like it never reached it's full potential. Assassination Games is still worth a watch just to see that great 80s style action movies can still be made!
April 10, 2012
This Wham Bam movie features a believable script along with a simple story line tailor-made for action movie fans, along with Van Damme ones. In some ways, it outperforms Killer Elite, which would be a good comparison. Sure, some parts are predictable but fans expect it with any assassination movie. Adding an actor opposite Van Damme fleshes the story out more and there is a lot more emotion in this movie compared to his other ones. Recommended.
March 21, 2012
In Romania, if you have a problem, and you want it eliminated immediately, you hire the best man for the job. That man is Brazil (Jean Claude Van Damme), a professional cold-blooded assassin who kills without mercy or second thought. He's the best at what he does. Brazil has a few interesting quirks. Instead of money, he wants to be paid in diamonds. He practices the violin and also owns a pet turtle. He doesn't really have any friends and he lives alone in an apartment that at first appears to be run down, but it has a secret door that leads to a luxury suite.

Roland Flint (Scott Adkins) is a former assassin who was once at the top of his game. However, Flint was forced into retirement and is now living in the countryside. Flint spends much of his time taking care of his comatose wife (Bianca Bree). As a result of a brutal attack by a drug lord and his gang, Flint's wife has been left in a coma. During that time, Flint watched in horror as each gang member took turns assaulting and raping his wife. Both Flint and his wife were left for dead, but both have survived . . . permanently damaged in different ways. Flint lives for revenge, and now there is an opportunity for him to carry out his revenge...

Polo (Ivan Kaye), one of the most notorious criminals on Interpol's list, has just been released after a stint in prison. A bounty has been put on Polo's head. Both Brazil and Flint want this bounty. One is doing it for the money. The other is motivated by vengeance.

Two professional assassins . . . on a collision course with destiny.

Assassination Games is a noble attempt at filmmaking. The filmmakers no doubt realize that they did not have a lot to work with. The film's look and production values reflect the very low budget. The movie was obviously filmed in a way as to spare as many expenses as possible. The sepia tone is an attempt to make the film look more stylish but does quite the opposite. Yet, I respect the filmmakers because they clearly aspired to make Assassination Games not just your ordinary action film, but a film that raises certain philosophical issues about life, the choices we make, and the consequences we have to live with. Brazil started out as a character who cared only about getting the job done, getting paid, and taking care of his pet turtle. But as he meets certain characters, including a prostitute whom he saves from an abusive pimp, he is forced to confront the lifestyle he chose and the emotional detachment he's had all this time.

At the same time, this movie is a very frustrating experience. I think the problem with Assassination Games is that it tries so hard to have more depth than the average action flick that it simply fails to entertain. Audiences go to watch a Jean Claude Van Damme movie not because they want to gain some deep insight on the human condition and learn a little about themselves and want it means to be human, but because they want to see JCVD kick some serious arse and take names. Honestly, I was bored out of my mind and that's troublesome, particularly for a film starring one of my favorite action heroes. I grew up consuming JCVD films and I'm a bit crestfallen that he doesn't have the "it" factor he once had during his box office reign in the 1990s. Assassination Games tries to appease action fans and fans of thriller dramas with an existentialist flavor, but it alienates both groups.

Assassination Games is hindered by a boring and mostly predictable plot, cliched characters, and a hackneyed script. Attempts at character development fail pretty miserably. The characters are all ridiculous cliches. The prostitute with the heart of gold? Check. The pimp looking to get revenge on one of the main characters for stealing his girl? Check. Crooked Interpol agents? Check. Conniving two-faced middlemen? Check. The plot itself is very by-the-numbers though I will give the filmmakers credit for having a shocking plot twist involving the one person Brazil has developed some feelings for.

Assassination Games is not completely without its merits. One of the film's few strengths is the on-screen chemistry between JCVD and Adkins. Alone, neither of them really stood out as performers though I would say both tried very hard. JCVD unfortunately simply has too limited range as an actor. He doesn't really have the talent or the skill to add emotional depth to his characters. Adkins fares a bit better. While he's by no means a great actor, I think he's getting a lot of good experience and he's learning to show range as an actor. Adkins has the potential to really be an A-list action movie star, similar to Arnold Schwarzenegger, Chuck Norris, JCVD, and Sylvester Stallone during the 1980s and 90s and Jason Statham of the 2000s. Although Adkins has had small roles in mainstream fare like The Bourne Ultimatum, Adkins has yet to catch his big break.

However, when the two work together, there's surprisingly good chemistry between the two. Both actors feed off each other fairly well. One of my favorite scenes in the movie doesn't involve any action, it's just a dialogue exchange between the two leads. Flint confronts Brazil about his cold-hearted approach to dealing with life. Flint asks Brazil, "If you never really cared about anyone or anything, then were you ever really alive?" It's such a simple line, but Adkins delivered it rather well.

The action sequences are disappointing, and quite honestly, even lacking, especially for a film of this caliber. JCVD hasn't been in a mainstream film for about ten years and sadly, he's languishing in the B-movie market. Here, while he's still in shape and is able to move, he doesn't show off any real impressive martial arts techniques. The JCVD of the 90s, known for his splits and 360 degree jump spin kicks is nonexistent here. Scott Adkins definitely shows some athleticism in this movie and is certainly a talented martial artist, but even here, I feel he is being underused and his martial arts prowess is not being taken advantage of in this movie. Action fans will be sorely letdown by this movie. Both JCVD and Adkins also have a brief fight scene, but it's just that and neither really display any unique moves. It's really a shame that their talents are wasted in this movie.

Despite the filmmakers' efforts to make this movie something more meaningful than your standard kick first, ask questions later action movie, Assassination Games is unable to overcome its B-movie trappings. Although JCVD continues to be a fading star, it's not too late for him to turn it around. He just has to find the right script, the right director, and the right opportunity to get involved in some exciting action scenes. Adkins on the other hand will continue to improve and I hope he will have an opportunity to truly shine in an A-list Hollywood action movie.
March 5, 2012
The premise seemed (relatively) fresh, and really what sold me on giving this a look. I must say that I have never seen an action / suspense film so incredibly... BORING. The acting is absolutely dreadful. There were numerous scenes in which I thought I was tuned into the daytime soaps, rather than "Assassination Games". The writing is awful, relying on cheesy one liners that don't add anything to the characters or the plot. Speaking of which, the plot -- which at first seemed interesting -- was just completely stale and lacked any real substance. Huge disappointment.
½ November 6, 2011
This isn't the typical film that Van Damme has put out many times. And after watching him play himself in JCVD I do find him with more depth then I ever imagined from him. First I have to say if you've ever had doubts about him or are a fan about him JCVD is something you should see. Back to the subject. This is not a knock down, drag out action movie. In fact the action sequences, while well done, aren't very plentiful. I actually think this may be a good thing. I'm starting to think that if Van Damme would have taken himself more seriously and stop doing all of the hacky crap he done in the 80's and 90's (Double Impact and Hard Target excluded) that he could very well be a well respected actor who just happens to know action movies. Even the storyline strays. Between that and his character it feels almost like a poor manā(TM)s version of Leon. Scott Adkins continues to show that given the right movie he could be a powerhouse in this genre of movies. Here's to actors finding redemption and showing that you are more then a signature kick and splits.
October 1, 2011
More gun fighting than karate which was slightly disappointing considering is was Jean-Claude but still a good movie.
Page 1 of 9