Austin Powers: International Man of Mystery - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Austin Powers: International Man of Mystery Reviews

Page 2 of 4
Kevin N. Laforest
Montreal Film Journal
September 10, 2002
It all adds up to one of the most refreshing, ambitious and hilarious comedies I've ever seen.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Top Critic
Mick LaSalle
San Francisco Chronicle
June 18, 2002
Spy movie parodies are common, but Myers is observant enough to notice things that others haven't.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Pablo Villaša
Cinema em Cena
May 31, 2002
Groovy, baby!.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Rick Groen
Globe and Mail
April 12, 2002
Mike Myers may be a connoisseur of the old spy-and-sex genre, but the result is less a screenplay than a manic quote machine.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
James Kendrick
Q Network Film Desk
February 27, 2001
Myers seems to get better and better with each script he writes, and here he managed to make light of a subject that few people gave much thought to.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Christopher Null
January 1, 2000
Uneven and often not funny, relying on recycled jokes and far-too-broad physical humor.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Joe Baltake
Sacramento Bee
January 1, 2000
Its plot notwithstanding, it has nothing to do with Bond -- and it misrepresents the poor '60s as well.
Steve Rhodes
Internet Reviews
January 1, 2000
As the ending credits went up, I realized that I had never laughed. A few smiles, but that was it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 1, 2000
Austin Powers has plenty of originality to it, but a lot of the jokes either fall flat, or just don't give me the chuckles I expect.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
MaryAnn Johanson
Flick Filosopher
January 1, 2000
The things it's parodying -- Beatles and Bond movies and all those secret-agent TV shows of the 60s -- were already so tongue in cheek that one needs to go a lot further than this movie goes to really amuse me.
Christine James
Boxoffice Magazine
January 1, 2000
Though there many hilarious moments, just as many miss the mark, some falling flat completely.
Top Critic
Jeff Millar
Houston Chronicle
January 1, 2000
Even at its best, it's not very funny.
Top Critic
Laura Miller
January 1, 2000
The movie fails to live up to its promise.
Scott Renshaw
Scott Renshaw's Screening Room
January 1, 2000
Myers and director Jay Roach seem to have no sense of how long is too long to stick with an extended gag.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Rob Blackwelder
January 1, 2000
Austin Powers feels more like the unfortunate amalgamation of a drawer full of short skits Myers has been holding on to since Saturday Night Live.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Sean Means
January 1, 2000
Tasteless and humorless!
Robert Faires
Austin Chronicle
January 1, 2000
There's more here than the perfect recreation of Sixties absurdities and genre spoofery; there's comedy that would be hilarious in any context.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Marty Mapes
Movie Habit
January 1, 2000
Good parodies are hard to make, and while this one doesn't completely succeed, it is funny and silly enough to be enjoyable.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Mark Ramsey
January 1, 2000
Not only is Mike a funny guy, but he knows more about the 60s and Bond-style movies than I ever care to know in five lifetimes.
Urban Cinefile Critics
Urban Cinefile
January 1, 2000
Bubblegum for the brain.
Page 2 of 4