Avenue Montaigne Reviews

Top Critic
Bob Mondello
NPR.org
October 18, 2008
Top Critic
Lisa Nesselson
Variety
August 8, 2008
Top Critic
Peter Howell
Toronto Star
April 20, 2007
A film that seeks to amble it way towards resolution and which offers a few insights and smiles along the way.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
April 20, 2007
Even if this fine French meal isn't as rich or feels a little less than it might have been, it's still delightful to sit through, course after winning course.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Liam Lacey
Globe and Mail
April 20, 2007
The movie is as airy as a spun-sugar dessert, but Thompson's observations on the artistic life are both affectionate and knowing: Beauty and wealth, though inevitably compelling, are appreciated as means to humane ends, not goals in themselves.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Terry Lawson
Detroit Free Press
April 13, 2007
Watching the charming Avenue Montaigne makes you realize not only how much we miss when mainstream French films are not on the movie menu, but how much we miss when American studios define 'romantic comedy' so strictly.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic

St. Louis Post-Dispatch
April 6, 2007
Top Critic
Robert Denerstein
Denver Rocky Mountain News
April 1, 2007
It's one of those 'what's-not-to-like' movies, a fantasy about life and Paris that passes painlessly, a trifle elevated by its Parisian settings and our desire to lose ourselves in them.
| Original Score: B
Top Critic
Bill Stamets
Chicago Sun-Times
April 1, 2007
Avenue Montaigne is a bon-bon for culture tourists.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Ronnie Scheib
Chicago Reader
April 1, 2007
Thompson's crowd-pleaser makes up in refined schmaltz what it lacks in innovation or profundity.
Top Critic
Richard Nilsen
Arizona Republic
March 31, 2007
When it all wraps up as neatly as the treacliest Hollywood film, we don't feel cheated, but rather enjoy the satisfaction of a story resolved, and we're happy for each of the people we have spent our hour with.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Eleanor Ringel Gillespie
Atlanta Journal-Constitution
March 29, 2007
If you're not going to Paris this spring -- and let's face it, so few of us are -- the next best thing might be Avenue Montaigne.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Top Critic
Moira MacDonald
Seattle Times
March 23, 2007
Feather-light, Avenue Montaigne is lifted from mere pleasantness by its quirky character details.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Ruthe Stein
San Francisco Chronicle
March 16, 2007
That the film succeeds as well as it does despite a series of coincidences that strain credibility is a credit to a fine cast and a joie de vivre that pervades even the most implausible moments.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Michael Phillips
Chicago Tribune
March 15, 2007
How much you respond to its calculated charms depends largely on your response to the waif-in-the-big-city appeal of de France.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Ty Burr
Boston Globe
March 2, 2007
Aside from pretty people behaving cutely, though, there's just not much here, and even devoted Francophiles may nod into their cafe crèmes.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Kenneth Turan
Los Angeles Times
March 1, 2007
A fine cast and a realistic touch give the charming farce a sweetness and emotional intimacy.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Stephanie Zacharek
Salon.com
March 1, 2007
The picture is very obviously crafted as a fable. Its characters are stereotypes at the beginning, but our focus sharpens as we watch them: They sneak out of the roles we've assigned to them and become people instead.
Top Critic
Colin Covert
Minneapolis Star Tribune
March 1, 2007
It may pull you into the tent with a promise of hoochie-koochie girls, but it delivers a rousing sermon on faith, hope and charity before it lets you back out again.
| Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Joe Morgenstern
Wall Street Journal
March 1, 2007
It's formula stuff, to be sure, but full of feeling for the sweep of the past as well as for the unsettled, yearning present. Echoes of Juliette Gréco, Gilbert Bécaud and Charles Aznavour haunt the soundtrack.
Top Critic
Desson Thomson
Washington Post
March 1, 2007
Avenue Montaigne, a delicately charming fable set in Paris, offers the kind of experience we secretly crave when we visit any great city: meaningful encounters with its people.
Top Critic
Trevor Johnston
Time Out
February 22, 2007
Brasseur's still got his scuffed charisma, and even Dupontel gets away with his hoary art-for-the-proles act. Et voilà! Charming if you're in the mood.
Top Critic
Andrew Sarris
New York Observer
February 21, 2007
The film serves as a timely reminder of the tastefully sybaritic terrain that our own mainstream moviemakers have largely ignored in the commercially driven thirst for blood and gore.
Top Critic
David Ansen
Newsweek
February 20, 2007
Avenue Montaigne is a tasty specimen of Gallic comfort food: it's well-sauced, it goes down easy and it satisfies.
Top Critic
David Edelstein
New York Magazine/Vulture
February 20, 2007
Avenue Montaigne would be difficult to stomach if it weren't so light and uninsistent, and if its actors weren't so charming. I still rolled my eyes -- but sometimes I do that when I get a really good croissant.
Top Critic
February 17, 2007
Love is in the air, obviously, and so is the smell of mothballs. Fans of Diane Johnson's books (Le Divorce) may fetishize the Paris depicted in Avenue Montaigne, but at times it feels like a diorama of bourgeois natives.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/6
Top Critic
Stephen Whitty
Newark Star-Ledger
February 16, 2007
Its cozy pleasures will do just fine.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
V.A. Musetto
New York Post
February 16, 2007
The characters are generic in a tres French way, and the predestined happy ending reeks of Hollywood sentimentality.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Elizabeth Weitzman
New York Daily News
February 16, 2007
Rarely has Paris seemed more enchanting than in Danièle Thompson's optimistic ode to Gallic romance.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Manohla Dargis
New York Times
February 16, 2007
A film about love and art, about passing time and time passing, Avenue Montaigne is a humble pleasure.
| Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
February 15, 2007
Pleasant is perhaps the best word to describe the film. It entertains while it lasts, does not overstay its welcome (1:45 feels just about right), and provides reasonable closure to all the storylines.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
John Anderson
Newsday
February 15, 2007
[Actress Cecile] De France is irresistible, and the whole film is like a big cookie.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Andrew O'Hehir
Salon.com
February 15, 2007
A delicious French pastry, tart and sweet, steeped in Parisian glamour.
Top Critic
Lisa Schwarzbaum
Entertainment Weekly
February 14, 2007
Who can turn le monde on with her smile? Why, it's Jessica (Cécile De France), a small-town gamine with spunk to spare in Avenue Montaigne.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Top Critic
Kirk Honeycutt
Hollywood Reporter
October 30, 2006
[Daniele Thompson] directs the multicharacter comedy with such smooth assurance that the movie glows with infectious cheerfulness.