• R, 1 hr. 49 min.
  • Drama
  • Directed By:
    Mario Van Peebles
    In Theaters:
    Sep 7, 2003 Wide
    On DVD:
    Sep 14, 2004
  • Sony Pictures Classics

Opening

—— The Identical Sep 05
—— The Longest Week Sep 05
67% Thunder and the House of Magic Sep 05
74% God Help the Girl Sep 05
—— The Remaining Sep 05

Top Box Office

92% Guardians of the Galaxy $16.3M
20% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $11.8M
38% If I Stay $9.3M
33% As Above/So Below $8.3M
21% Let's Be Cops $8.2M
36% The November Man $7.7M
18% When The Game Stands Tall $5.6M
32% The Giver $5.3M
65% The Hundred-Foot Journey $4.6M
34% The Expendables 3 $3.5M

Coming Soon

—— No Good Deed Sep 12
—— Dolphin Tale 2 Sep 12
—— Atlas Shrugged: Who Is John Galt? Sep 12
100% The Skeleton Twins Sep 12
100% The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby Sep 12

Premieres Tonight

25% Houdini: Season 1

New Episodes Tonight

—— Anger Management: Season 2
71% Dallas: Season 3
—— Mistresses: Season 2
25% Partners: Season 1
67% Teen Wolf: Season 4
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— Breathless: Season One
100% Falling Skies: Season 4
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
78% Ray Donovan: Season 2
46% Reckless: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
—— Unforgettable: Season 2

Baadasssss! Reviews

Page 1 of 12
Cassandra M

Super Reviewer

October 16, 2009
Ever wonder what it would be like to make your own film without a studio to support you and no money in the bank to fund it. Well, thankfully Mario Van Peebles' father forged ahead in the 70s with a dream and passion like no other. While Hollywood was content with making pictures that negatively depicted African Americans, Melvin Van Peebles decided to break this cultural norm and change the face of cinema.

With no budget, money from friends and drug dealers, and a non-union crew, Melvin created the impossible. He grabbed a hold of an idea and let nothing get in the way from accomplishing it. Melvin had a dream of making an African American the center of the film, one that took no sass from anyone and criticized the modern white Government. While big studios backed away from this project, Melvin jumped forward made Sweet Sweetback's Baadasssss Song. There were trial and tribulations to get it done, but thanks to a very surprising source the film became a success. It was the first independent film to become the number one film in America.

Similar to the passion seen in Melvin's eyes when he is making his low-budget film, Mario portrays that exact same involvement when making this low-budget film. What I loved about this film is that there is so much raw, unbridled emotion behind Mario's eyes that you can tell that he 1) loves his Dad and 2) wanted to show America the truth behind this innovator's life. This is Mario's past, and he superbly reenacts it on screen. He carries this film, showing us the many facets of his father. He shows the angry American, the independent talent, the powerful leader, and even the emotional parent. Through all of this Mario continues to keep this film focused and interesting. We cannot keep our eyes off his portrayal of his father. I would not be surprised if he is nominated for an Oscar this year.

Finally, this is a very powerful film that speaks about a side of Hollywood that is less known. It shows how the boundaries of racism can be broken with imagination and persistence. It shows that 'all men are created equal' and that if you have a dream you should pursue it. If you are in the process of making your own film and need a movie that will inspire and motivate, this would be the film to watch. From the moment I put this film in my DVD player, I was glued. What a powerful story coupled with interesting actors (Adam West and Sally Struthers) and told with a very realistic voice.

I highly recommend this film.
John B

Super Reviewer

August 12, 2007
I never saw an original Melvin Van Peebles film but after seeing Baadasssss..I don't know where these films have been throughout my life. A fabulous and unique take on black cinema and culture.
lesleyanorton
lesleyanorton

Super Reviewer

September 3, 2009
Not so much a documentary (though its filmed like one) but a drama showing how Melvin Van Peebles' "Sweet Sweetback's Baadasssss Song." got made, despite the lack of money, support, technical expertise, social climate, etc etc. Directed by and staring his son Mario Van Peebles, who does an amazing job of conveying the complexity, charm and take-no-prisoners attitude of his dad, and a feeling of what it was like to be there in that time in that place. And Mario should know, since he was hauled in act in the most controversal scene in the entire film. Before watching this, I though it was going to be heavy viewing, but instead it turned out to be thoroughly entertaining, made with a light hand and an easy wit and a lot of humour in it. Go, son, go.
Critique Threatt
Critique Threatt

Super Reviewer

April 14, 2010
This is a great film, a film I would have definetly want to make about learning how to make and finance an independent picture while risking everything on the line. I see it as almost a dead end tale where people will find ways of stoping one's passion yet still fighting to get the job done. It's a film that touches home with me dead on.

Mario Van Peebles, Melvin's son, directs an honest and revealing portrait of his pioneering father. Mario now tells the story of the making of Melvin Van Peebles' landmark 1971 film, "Sweet Sweetback's Baadasssss Song," including Melvin's struggles to raise money to fund the film under the guise of creating a black porno film.

Melvin had ducked creditors, the unions and had to bail out his camera crew after they were arrested. Despite death threats and temporarily losing sight in one eye, Melvin somehow managed to whip into shape a rag-tag, multi-racial crew and finish the film that would give birth to birth of a new era which was about to explode: Independent Black Cinema.
Wu C

Super Reviewer

September 18, 2006
Nice slice of black cinema history.
September 23, 2007
This premiered at a movie theater I worked at in Philadelphia and I had the very stressful job of putting the film together, and then running the projector while it was being screened to a packed theater with Mario and Melvin Van Peebles in attendance. Working as a projectionist can be pretty routine once you get the hang of it, but I don't think I've ever been so stressed as when I had to do this. I was so worried about everything working properly that I wasn't able to watch the film. Almost 10 years later, I finally got a chance to watch it and I thought it was a really enjoyable movie. Couldn't think of a better person to create a tribute film about Melvin Van Peebles than his son, Mario. It's a really interesting look at a landmark independent film.
January 3, 2012
This movie is Mario Van Peeble's look at the lengths that his father went to when making Sweet Sweetback's Baadasssss Song and I gotta be honest: I found this movie infinitely more interesting than the long form jazz riff/acid trip of the original film. Melvin made an interesting movie with a very thin plot, so it's hard to get very much out of it for me, which could be a testament to the time and the fact that it wasn't made for me (as a white man), but his son's dramatized version of the events behind the scenes is a helluva lot more watchable.

Worth a look, hell I would almost recommend watching this one first, just to give you an idea of what you're getting into.
meghantoler
February 28, 2010
Mario Van Peebles has made an excellent film with so many layers to digest behind it's making beyond what's actually on screen. It must've been an emotional experience taking on the role of his father and acting across from himself as a child. Reliving past moments in his own life from his father's point of view. All of this translates into a film that speaks volumes and pays tribute to the underdog who will fight for a dream at any cost. Even when it seems crazy and hopeless. I adore this movie. Baadassss!
adecker31
December 2, 2007
Brilliant, ecstatic film making. One of the best films of the last ten years. Criminally under watched. It looks at father/son dynamics with amazing depth and that's only one of the many things it leads to thinking about.
SonnyLighstrome
November 28, 2007
This is a great movie about filmmaking....one almost as good as ED WOOD. It's about the making of cult classic SWEET SWEETBACK'S BAADASSSSS SONG made by the director's father, who the director portrays.
twanUM
June 30, 2007
I love the layering... Mario Van Peebles writes, produces, directs and stars in a film about his father (Melvin Van Peeples) writing, producing, directing and staring in a film. Reminds me of Tarantino, as he makes a film about a genre of film that also exists in the genre... if that makes sense.
April 13, 2007
This dramatization only makes the aura of the original film even more amazing. A solid effort on everyone's part.
sunrhythms
April 8, 2007
I give this movie a thumbs for me and for everyone one of my friends... Its deffinately a great movie and I think everyone should know about it!
nanoqna
January 11, 2007
this is such a great movie and its so cool for me. mario peebles plays this guy making a movie. if you wanna make movies you HAVE to ese this. but watch otu theres some nudity and strong language in the hmovie so if you get offended by that dont go.
November 25, 2006
Oh, hell yes. Here we have Mario Van Peebles' engrossing bio-pic about his father Melvin, who single-handedly invented blaxploitation with the 1971 film "Sweet Sweetback's Badass Song." An unromanticized look at one man's quest to fulfill his filmmaking ambition, with Mario Van Peebles playing his own father and giving one of the best performances of the last five years in the process. Cinemaslave has long prided itself on being about one's passion for film; here's a movie brave enough to be about the same thing. A stunner.
August 10, 2014
Very good movie about the struggles of making an all black cast movie with a mixed race film crew backed partially by Bill Cosby. This film led to blaxploitation movies that were prevelant in the 70's. Not quite a documentary, but still was supposed to show some of the behind the scenes of what occurred.
May 11, 2013
BAADASSSSS! sounded like An interesting feature on the surface because it is based on the true story of the production of the movie Sweet Sweetback's Baadasssss Song, an industry changing film for the African-American community. And considering that BAADASSSSS! serves as the Citizen Kane to the son of the original film's director, it sounded like a rather compelling piece.

Melvin Van Peebles was the director and star of the film Sweet Sweetback's Baadasssss Song, so to have his son Mario Van Peebles serve as the director and main actor in BAADASSSSS! makes it a touching piece. And as an avid fan of cinema, BAADASSSSS! interests me because I'm always interested to see a film about the history behind the creation of a film, and when it covers an important film from a historical standpoint, it's just icing on the cake. So BAADASSSSS! sounds exactly like my kind of film.
During the counterculture time frame of the late 1960's and most of the 1970's, a lot of films took different approaches to the concept of defying corruption in justice such as Roman Polanski's Chinatown and Dennis Hopper's Easy Rider. One film which isn't as well known except among the African American community is the film Sweet Sweetback's Baadasssss Song which was one of the few films created by and starring African Americans which didn't fall simply into Blaxploitation genre. I didn't realise the importance of it until seeing BAADASSSSS! because that film captured every element of the film's importance and the complicated production of the feature as told with the greatest heart that Mario Van Peebles has as a filmmaker.
BAADASSSSS! has an interesting story to it because as well as analysing the production of a film and just how important it was to its cultural timeframe, and director Mario Van Peebles passionately proves just how important that the film is to him. He is the perfect man for the job as the director of BAADASSSSS! because he has the same filmmaking passion in his loins that Melvin Van Peebles had when he made Sweet Sweetback's Baadasssss Song. And you can see that he puts quite a bit of emphasis on how the film affected his life by revealing the way that his father sort of forced him into the film and demanded he cut his hair against his will. He doesn't make the film a self-indulgent criticism of his father, but revealed some of the characteristics of his father which were troublesome to him and to the surrounding people during the making of Sweet Sweetback's Baadasssss Song. As Mario Van Peebles has a first hand experience with the making of the film and has direct contact with his father who put everything into making the film, Mario Van Peebles has the truth behind the production of the film and without fear, he shows it in BAADASSSSS! Before BAADASSSSS!, I only knew Mario Van Peebles as the bad antagonist from Highlander III: Final Dimension. After seeing BAADASSSSS!, I have an entirely new respect for him as an actor and a filmmaker.
BAADASSSSS! benefits from the best possible direction available to it from Mario Van Peebles, and he keeps it intelligently scripted as well because it captures the natural language from its timeframe as well as a lot of genuine intelligence to it. Frankly its an incredible effort on behalf of him. There is not a more perfect person for the role of director and writer than him, and he proves that because all his knowledge about acting, writing and directing is put into BAADASSSSS!, and the final product is just refreshing. BAADASSSSS! is an example of excellent storytelling, and it shows the endeavour of Mario Van Peebles' many talents.
From a technical perspective, BAADASSSSS! is terrific. It has a lot of artistic cinematography reminiscent of the style of blaxploitation films as well as a lot of camerawork which really depicts the state of mind that Melvin Van Peebles faces as his own personal turmoil comes into conflict with the production of his film. Technically, BAADASSSSS! is brilliant and makes for an intense visual experience from start to finish.
The soundtrack is also really groovy and it captures a lot of the cool tunes that came from the 1970's timeframe that the film is based in.
And on top of all of it, the acting in BAADASSSSS! is thoroughly intelligent, very realistic and captures the timeframe of its setting very well.
Mario Van Peebles' performance as his own father Melvin Van Peebles is the greatest of his career and it is undeniable. Melvin Van Peebles may sound simply like an ambitious filmmaker on the surface, but Mario Van Peebles reveals through an intelligent and excellent performance that he is a lot of things. Melvin Van Peebles is an excellent filmmaker, a man standing for his own rights and the rights of others, and above all a man without fear. And Mario Van Peebles embodies the role of the man, his own father, capturing a sharp and intelligent line delivery with a standover physicality which gives him a convincing strength, the strength to stand up to an unforgiving world and all the adversity that he faces. Frankly, the idea of a man playing his own father is almost too good to be true, and in BAADASSSSS! it is so perfect thanks to the greatest acting performance Mario Van Peebles has ever given.
Rainn Wilson's performance is such an unhinged one. Since I'm used to seeing him as the uptight Dwight Schrute from the US series The Office, it is awesome to see him in the more laid back and open role of Bill Harris because of how in the film he deals with the dramatic plot dynamics in a significantly more realistic and troubled way. Rainn Wilson has such a spaced out persona in BAADASSSSS! without deviating far from his natural and dedicated charisma, and whilst his character is surprising his performance is really not because the man is a great actor. BAADASSSSS! presents a great opportunity to Rainn Wilson, and he takes it by storm without problem.
Joy Bryant's performance manages to prove a lot of what she can do within a very brief screen time, and she faces an interesting role and takes it head on without experiencing any trouble along the way. Joy Bryant is a great addition to the cast of BAADASSSSS!.
David Alan Grier maintains a certain level of confidence and sophistication to him in BAADASSSSS!, and his chemistry with Mario Van Peebles is terrific.
Karimah Westbrook's small role is an effective one as well because it shows off her abilities as an actress as well as her immense sexual appeal.
Ossie Davis and Adam West also give really effective performances which bring in the best of their natural elements as actors and plays it out on the screen one more time. They prove really beneficial to the cast in BAADASSSSS! and deliver their lines with strong charisma.
Lastly, Khleo Thomas' small role as a young Mario Van Peebles was a nice touch because he firmly embodies the man who directed BAADASSSSS! and shares an excellent father-son chemistry with Mario Van Peebles as he plays his own father Melvin Van Peebles.

Quite frankly, BAADASSSSS! is one of the most inspiring films I have ever seen. Not only did it boost my ambitions as a filmmaker, but it provided me a lot of insight into the history of cinema and the incredible talents of Mario Van Peebles, as well as the talents of his own father which he depicted on screen. BAADASSSSS! is an excellently directed and flawlessly acted biopic which features a strong script and incredible dedicated passion from Mario Van Peebles in the best film work of his entire career.
January 28, 2014
A wonderful biopic about a very intriguing story. It was very interesting to learn about this movie and the movie it was portraying the making of.
September 1, 2013
really interesting story that could have been told better. maybe it would work better as a doc
Page 1 of 12
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile