Opening

63% The Maze Runner Sep 19
65% A Walk Among the Tombstones Sep 19
43% This Is Where I Leave You Sep 19
82% Tracks Sep 19
93% The Guest Sep 17

Top Box Office

11% No Good Deed $24.3M
70% Dolphin Tale 2 $15.9M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $8.1M
19% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $4.9M
20% Let's Be Cops $4.4M
88% The Drop $4.1M
37% If I Stay $3.9M
35% The November Man $2.8M
35% The Giver $2.6M
67% The Hundred-Foot Journey $2.4M

Coming Soon

67% The Equalizer Sep 26
72% The Boxtrolls Sep 26
84% The Two Faces of January Sep 26
—— Two Night Stand Sep 26
91% Jimi: All Is by My Side Sep 26

Premieres Tonight

100% The Good Wife: Season 6
58% Madam Secretary: Season 1
—— Miss Marple: Season 6

New Episodes Tonight

—— American Dad!: Season 11
87% Boardwalk Empire: Season 5
53% The Lottery: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
78% Ray Donovan: Season 2
87% The Strain: Season 1
—— Witches of East End: Season 2

Discuss Last Night's Shows

91% Doctor Who: Season 8
—— Hell on Wheels: Season 4
40% Intruders: Season 1
90% Outlander: Season 1

Billy's Hollywood Screen Kiss Reviews

Page 1 of 5
Cynthia S

Super Reviewer

October 14, 2010
CUTE! CUTE! CUTE! This is a really quirky and charming movie, and Sean Hayes is just adorable in it.
Dean L

Super Reviewer

July 17, 2007
If I could I might give this film 2.5 stars. I read one reviewer stating that this was not a "gay" film. I do not know how that statement could possibly be made. Not that it is in any way a problem, and yes the character does go through things that we can all relate to, but for crying out loud, Hayes starts the movie by saying, "Hi, I am a homosexual" and begins speaking to the trials and tribulations of being a homosexual in an overwhelmingly heterosexual world. So let us call it what it is...a movie about navigating the waters of gay life that even a heterosexual can relate to ok? This movie had some potential. Starving artist seeks love in all the wrong places. Finds possible love in a man who is unsure about his own sexuality. The notion of "being there" for someone when he comes out of the closet like a mentor (I have a friend who has stated that he wished he had someone to guide him when he came out). It also had some very brave scenes where one might see this film on stage rather than a screen. Where it falls short? The acting was terrible. So terrible that it overtook everything in the film. You never cared about any of the characters except Sean Hayes (because this is the only character who they built...and they didn't do the greatest job of that). His monologues about the self were done in such a monotone voice that I found myself drifting away as he spoke. It wasn't that they weren't interesting it was simply that he was stating them as if he were on downers rather than the dreamy, reminiscence that they were shooting for. Also, the constant interjection of 5+ minute drag queen love songs...they were fun to start, but they went on forever...kinda like I am doing now. I wanted to like this film. Really, I did, but I didn't. It had a chance to make something great out of itself, but did not get there. Rent it on a dare if you like, but I cannot say this film is one to recommend.
jjnxn
jjnxn

Super Reviewer

May 4, 2007
dirty cheat of a film, not the performers fault that lays with the script.
July 20, 2008
Good movie overall, nicely acted, well written and directed. Nice to find out that Sean Hayes can do more than camp.
June 1, 2008
One of the best gay romances ever put on film. It's an every day guy looking for more than just the next best thing. Sean Hayes (pre-Will & Grace) is great...
blueowlboy
August 5, 2007
Sweet and gentle... the search for a romanticized romance with Sean Hayes being... well, sweet and gentle.
May 10, 2007
I really didn't watch T.V that often.. so missed out on seeing the beginning of Will and Grace.. which is probably a good thing.. because the first time I saw Sean Hayes was this movie.. He is SOOOO much more than "just Jack".. Oh well.. charming movie.. not the most socially important gay movie of all time.. but charming..
zeiko18
December 17, 2006
Sweet, funny, relatable. It also has some really gorgeous dream sequences that recreate famous movie scenes. Surprisingly understated.
July 16, 2013
The title card says "A Tommy O'Haver trifle" and that's pretty much correct. There is nothing of consequence in the film, but he really knows how to put a film together and Sean Hayes, pre "Will & Grace", is a charmer. Extra points awarded for featuring Richard Ganoung, from "Parting Glances".
Brian M. Moviedude
October 1, 2009
This movie was pretty good. I liked Sean Hayes as Jack on Will and Grace, so, when people told me he had a movie out, I decided to give it a try, and I wasn't disapointed.

It's not the best movie, and the acting is just ok. But, I liked it because I could identify with the charactors, and it seemed like it was taken out of someones diary, and not just a holloywood made up romance flick.

Of course Sean hayes pretty much ruled the entire movie, as the only memorable actor. Well, Brad Rowe was also good, but, it didn't hurt that he was also a total hunk. The rest of the movie was just kind of fun.

The only thing I didn't like about the movie, is that half of them men were drunk a good portion of the time, and bringing out the pot, and making one of the guys a stoner, gives people the impression that all gays a drunk and high.
Which is true for some, but, not everyone.

It is a very mellow movie though. no action scenes, or high drama. Just like real life. That's what makes it different.
Prettysweetkid22
March 28, 2007
[size=3][font=Franklin Gothic Medium]Late I know... so now for the show!

Flags of our Fathers is the companion film to the 3rd best film of 2006 according to me. It does not deserve such a buddy. Foof is one of the most boringly mediocre war films i have ever seen. Even the action scenes i found myself zoning out and not paying attention. I literally zoned out. The color pallete is boring with no striking visuals. Even the gore blends is mediocre. The sub-plot about the war bonds is sorta interesting... but I already learned about it in history class so it's not that cool. The film really isn't about Iwo Jima, it's mostly about war bonds. As I say many times every director has there bad film.... and I think this can count as Clint's. You can see some intellegence behind it with the non-linear plot, but it still bores you to death and that isn't good for a war film. And if you are looking for a little novelty in this of having one of the characters from Letters to appear, it's not in here. You barely ever see a Japanese let alone one you recognize. Even Letters has got them beat there too.

BHSK is the story of a gay man who is a photographer ( in which Poloaroids are his medium) who falls in love with one of his models, yet the model doesn't know if he's gay. The film plays out like a PG-13 or PG romantic comedy, but since the MPAA is homophobic it got an R, but it does play out like those ratings in the way that it has a sort of innocence too it. It's pretty much a normal romantic comedy that is about gay people so it's "indie". There are some funny parts and overall it's an enjoyable movie. Some of the actors seem like they are on a soft core porno on HBO, but Sean Hayes is pretty good. The best part of the film is the little touches however. In one shot 2 people are talking in Billy's apartment and there is a bin full of records near there feet, and the record up front is the soundtrack for Flower Drum Song. Overall a film worth watching on IFC or something, but it has it's flaws.

Sorry not enough time to review Namesake fully, but it's pretty good.

Peace
[/font][/size]
alistarr
June 9, 2004
Billy?s Hollywood Screen Kiss (1998) - An amateur photographer falls in love with his model (Brad Rowe), who is spirited away by a professional modeling magnate. In the brief courtship between their first meeting and the professional modeling career, where the model is unsure of his orientation, the relationship between the two is marvelous. When the model does finally realize he?s gay, he goes for a fellow model, leaving the photographer behind. This movie was highly unusual in that rather than dwelling on the trivial, transient heartbreak that is the lot of most gays, it showed a stronger undercurrent of relationships within the community, without which these guys would go insane. This was a fun movie to watch.
Page 1 of 5
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile