Opening

97% Ghostbusters Aug 29
23% As Above/So Below Aug 29
36% The November Man Aug 27
98% Starred Up Aug 27
76% The Congress Aug 29

Top Box Office

92% Guardians of the Galaxy $17.2M
20% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $16.7M
37% If I Stay $15.7M
21% Let's Be Cops $10.8M
18% When The Game Stands Tall $8.4M
34% The Expendables 3 $6.5M
32% The Giver $6.4M
45% Sin City: A Dame to Kill For $6.3M
66% The Hundred-Foot Journey $5.3M
19% Into The Storm $3.8M

Coming Soon

—— Innocence Sep 05
—— The Longest Week Sep 05
—— The Identical Sep 05
67% Thunder and the House of Magic Sep 05
74% God Help the Girl Sep 05

New Episodes Tonight

—— Jonah From Tonga: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

75% The Cosmopolitans: Season One
100% Defiance: Season 2
100% Garfunkel and Oates: Season 1
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
56% Married: Season 1
39% Rush: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
82% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Certified Fresh TV

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
91% Doctor Who: Season 8
83% Extant: Season 1
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
87% The Knick: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
73% Murder in the First: Season 1
89% Outlander: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
82% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Bloodrayne Reviews

Page 1 of 219
Christian C

Super Reviewer

October 27, 2012
Terrible film. How does Ben Kingsly live with himself? Has he no shame? The script seems like it came right out of an 8th-grade student's creative writing journal. Bleh! (Still, it gets a star because it's not as bad as director Uwe Boll's insulting film, "Alone in the Dark".)
TheDudeLebowski65
TheDudeLebowski65

Super Reviewer

August 21, 2011
Bloodrayne is clearly an unfocused, poorly made action horror film with some impressive names attached to it. Bloodrayne can be regarded as an exercise in bad filmmaking 101. Although not as awful as the two other entries, this film is still pretty bad. With a paper thin story, a poor cast and very poor directing, Bloodrayne is a film that delivers mediocrity in spades. I thought that the film was pretty pointless and didn't deliver anything exciting or fun in an action horror film. As far as I'm concerned, the sequels to Underworld were far better than this train wreck. With awful acting complimenting his awful directing, Uwe Boll has created one of the worst horror flicks. You won't find anything of value with this film. This is just a poorly made film that never should have been made. The film lacks of a real inventive story mixed with bad effects and a very poorly written script really don't help. This film is a waste of time, and is one of the horror films that had the misfortune to watch. If you want a good action horror film to watch Underworld instead. I can't believe that Ben Kingsley agreed to star in this; luckily for him he would make Shutter Island with the great Martin Scorsese. Don't go in with high hopes for this one because this is one awful that truly is one to avoid. Uwe Boll has sunk to a new, and he clearly can't make a good film out of a video game. Fans of the game will surely hate this one.
EightThirty .

Super Reviewer

April 24, 2007
I expected abit more, it was pretty Plain ^_^
FiLmCrAzY
FiLmCrAzY

Super Reviewer

November 29, 2007
this movie is so laughable it is unbelievably bad!!
not a bad cast either, but the movie is just terrible which is a shame but o well not worth the watch!
FilmFanatik
FilmFanatik

Super Reviewer

September 27, 2008
Not quiet a great flick, but it is nice to see a lot of gore back in movies that are so devoid of it these days. Also a very very hot sex scene that really stands out in my mind as one of the hottest in film. Overall, horrible acting, atrocious editing and a rushed ending are its downfalls.
Jani H

Super Reviewer

June 26, 2008
Okay... This videogame based movie sucked in so many ways that there's a new definition for the word sucked. BOLLshit.

The worst fight scenes in cinema history are in this movie. You have to see it for yourself but please for the sake of your own health, don't.

The acting... Yes, the acting. I have to wonder, how in hell did Uwe Boll get Ben Kingsley to act in this crapster. If you've liked Kingsleys previous work and want to like him in the future, DO NOT watch this movie. Same thing goes to Michael Madsen fans.

I recommend that no one watches this, unless you want to suffer the consequences. And I promise, myself, now in front of you all, that this was my second and LAST Uwe Boll movie. A true crapsterpiece!
Dean !

Super Reviewer

December 31, 2006
Another pretty bad Uwe Boll film, but not his worst! Had a lot of promise with a strong cast and based on a cool vampire hack and slash game. However this is pretty poor, none of the "stars' give a half decent performance and the fight choreography is very lame compared to most films of today, no energy or passion, very slow. There is a fair bit of blood, a Meat Loaf cameo and half decent CGI and that is it! Stick with Blade!
Brian D

Super Reviewer

May 31, 2008
hi ha hi ha uwe boll sucks all the time.
Al S

Super Reviewer

January 18, 2008
Ben Kingsley what were you thinking. Another teriable piece of work from the one and only uwe bowell
Edward B

Super Reviewer

November 2, 2006
The funny thing is, this was a masterpiece compared to Boll's other films.
Emily A

Super Reviewer

September 28, 2007
You know, a lot of people rip on Uwe Boll, and they are TOTALLY right in doing so. He makes crap. The acting he coaxes from his actors is crap, his costumes are crap, the dialogue is crap... and it basically compounds until he ends up with a borderline-unwatchable mess. He's done this a number of times, and this is one more. Maybe he should try his hand at directing porn: the random sex scene in this flick seems to be the only one where he exhibits any skill. Well, that and in somehow coercing big name actors to be in his movies. I mean, I suppose this movie is enjoyable in an ironic sort of way, but that's the only merit one can draw from it. I can't believe there's a sequel.
Dean L

Super Reviewer

July 16, 2007
There are two reasons to see this film...and they are prominently on display between 54 minutes and 54:54 minutes. Seriously though, total cr@p. I would say see it for Ben Kingsley and Michael Madsen, but their talents are wasted here. If they were going for "campy" (like, "Army of Darkness")they missed. If they were going for real horror they missed by a mile. The only fun to be found in this movie was the excessively, graphic gory battle scenes. THOSE were funny. They even recap a lot of the gore at the end...very strange ending I might add. Pass on this...really. Watch the vidcaps of Kristanna Loken on the web and save a rental. PS-Michelle Rodriguez doing an English accent is beyond funny...ok, maybe some of the campiness worked, but the movie really reeked.
nuheart
nuheart

Super Reviewer

December 26, 2006
Boll steadfastly refuses to rise above the level of crap he's been dishing out.
Aaron N

Super Reviewer

May 30, 2006
How this was made, who knows...blackmail maybe. But I could only wish to see a spinoff movie entirely about Billy Zane and his wig.
deano
deano

Super Reviewer

August 29, 2006
Yawn horror-action I ever watched (bad luck it has no English substitles on DVD).
Dann M

Super Reviewer

October 25, 2012
Based on a video game, BloodRayne is a gory action film that's astonishingly bad. The story follows a half-vampire named Rayne who joins a secret legion of vampire hunters in order to seek revenge on the vampire lord that raped her mother. The cast, which includes Kristanna Loken, Michael Madsen, and Michelle Rodriguez, deliver performances that are pathetic at best. And while the story has some intrigue to it, the gore is so comically that it distracts from the rest of the film. BloodRayne is a poorly made film that squanders all of its potential.
ascordeiro108
ascordeiro108

Super Reviewer

December 19, 2010
god no...
Duncan R

Super Reviewer

May 15, 2008
This is the first of the infamous Uwe Boll's movies that I've had the "pleasure" to lay my eyes upon. It's not all Boll's fault, though. Oh no, there's plenty of blame to go around.

Let's start, if we may, with the script. The characters are all cookie-cutter archetypes without any sort of development, aside from the occasional monologue. A good portion of those characters are there simply to move the bare-bones and wholly unoriginal plot along, and that gets really annoying. On top of that, every single word of dialogue sounds like it's been lifted from a prepubescent emo girl's Hellsing fan-fiction. Who's to blame for that? Why, Guinevere Turner, one of the co-screenwriters of American Psycho, that's who! I don't know how much of her script was changed around by Boll for the end product, but I'm sure it wasn't tinkered with that much. Shame on you, Guin. Tsk, tsk, and tsk again.

Who else gave a poor contribution to this dreck? The cast. It's a surprisingly impressive lineup, which makes their performances all the more disappointing. There are only two actors who's performances actually impressed me: Geraldine Chaplin, who was a fortune teller in one scene. And Billy Zane, who played a vampire that was, in the end, not really all that important to the movie.

As for the rest of the cast? They just sucked (no pun intended). Sir Ben Kinsley is a brilliant actor (he's been knighted for Christ's sake!) but his performance as the movie's villain was probably the worst I've seen him do. He was bored, and I could tell. Coming form an actor of his caliber, I shouldn't be able to tell (he's been KNIGHTED for Christ's sake!). Kristina Loken, sexy though she may be, is a wooden actress. It may work for playing a robotic killing machine, but it does not work for playing a half-vampire, all slinky vixen killing machine. On top of her acting range that's on-par with Keanu Reeves', she "acted" with a very unconvincing British accent. Her co-star, the equally sexy and usually more talented Michelle Rodriguez, layed on a thicker, but equally unconvincing, accent. Hearing both ladies deliver their lines in this movie made me want to curb-stomp a baby. Add to that fun bunch: Michael Madsen, probably the most overrated actor of our generation. The only good performance I've seen him turn out was his iconic one in Reservoir Dogs. His performance in this as a Van Helsing-esque vampire slayer didn't change my mind.

And for the spoiled creme-brule on top, we come to Boll. He failed to get the best from his cast, and his ham-fisted directing left us with the god-awful fight scenes. They were all about the geysers of blood, and not enough about making the actual combat leading up to them convincing. Seriously, nobody swings a sword that slowly in a fight and lives to see the light of day!

Is there anything nice I have to say about this movie, some of you may ask? Well...the music was pretty good...and the cinematography, not counting the fight scenes, was really pretty. ...Oh, and Billy Zane and Geraldine Chapman, but I already mentioned them.

Other than that, it was awful. Really...really...awful...
Yinalí R

Super Reviewer

November 16, 2007
I expected more.
Page 1 of 219
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile