Opening

97% Ghostbusters Aug 29
21% As Above/So Below Aug 29
35% The November Man Aug 27
98% Starred Up Aug 27
76% The Congress Aug 29

Top Box Office

92% Guardians of the Galaxy $17.2M
20% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $16.7M
38% If I Stay $15.7M
21% Let's Be Cops $10.8M
18% When The Game Stands Tall $8.4M
34% The Expendables 3 $6.5M
32% The Giver $6.4M
45% Sin City: A Dame to Kill For $6.3M
65% The Hundred-Foot Journey $5.3M
19% Into The Storm $3.8M

Coming Soon

—— Innocence Sep 05
—— The Longest Week Sep 05
—— The Identical Sep 05
67% Thunder and the House of Magic Sep 05
74% God Help the Girl Sep 05

New Episodes Tonight

—— Jonah From Tonga: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

75% The Cosmopolitans: Season One
100% Defiance: Season 2
100% Garfunkel and Oates: Season 1
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
56% Married: Season 1
39% Rush: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
82% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Certified Fresh TV

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
91% Doctor Who: Season 8
83% Extant: Season 1
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
87% The Knick: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
73% Murder in the First: Season 1
89% Outlander: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
82% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Body Double Reviews

Page 1 of 22
Clintus M.
Clintus M.

Super Reviewer

August 1, 2013
I first saw this film when it was released in 1984, was immediately captivated by it, and have re-visited it many times since then. Body Double may be my favorite DePalma film, even more so than Scarface since it blends different elements together so entertainingly. Body Double is of course a thriller, containing various Hitchcockian themes and devices for which DePalma has become famous. Its also a spoof of the porn industry, but it treats the porn business and B-movie slasher films in a refreshingly frank and candid manner. Its done with humor and without any moralizing, just another part of the business. Also, the LA locations, like the Tail O' the Pup hot dog stand and the futuristic Chemospehere house, not only lend the film authenticity, they really add to the memorable quality DePalma achieves.

I enjoyed the performances of Craig Wasson, Dennis Franz, and others, but Body Double may be best remembered for Melanie Griffith's breakthrough role. She's sexy and totally hilarious. Her list of adult acting "restrictions" is one of the all-time greatest monologues. Wasson, who I liked in Ghost Story, is similar to De
Palma's idol Hitchcock's hero in Vertigo Scotty (Jimmy Stewart). He is paralyzed by claustrophobia and "can't act." Wasson as Jake Scully is the perfect unpretentious "set-up witness." I can't fail to mention former Miss America Deborah Shelton as Gloria Revelle, one of the most beautiful women who ever graced the silver screen.

There's a lurid fascination about this film. Its got sex, voyeurism, a power-drill murder, and the most palpable claustrophobia I've seen. You've also the Frankie-Goes-To-Hollywood "Relax" tie-in. It will harken you back to the glory days of MTV. All in all, its great tongue-in-cheek entertainment and, for my money, the most notable voyeur fantasy movie ever.
blkbomb
blkbomb

Super Reviewer

August 8, 2012
Sam Bouchard: Don't be so melodramatic. 

"You Can't Believe Everything You See"

Body Double is Brian De Palma at his core. This is a film that driven by erotica and violence, and De Palma balances the two of the really well, while paying homage(or ripping off, however you want to look at it) to Hitchcock's Vertigo and Rear Window. The film is odd for sure. De Palma isn't known for making non-odd films, but this one is even weirder than his norm. 

I liked it for sure. Actually, I loved it for the first hour or so. I loved the scene where Jake follows the woman for like 15 minutes straight on screen. There's little dialogue, but it works perfectly because of genuine suspense being built by watching Jake follow a woman who's being followed by another man. The movie falls apart in its last third, but not enough to change how much I liked the movie, especially the first hour. 

Jake is a struggling actor who was just fired from his acting job as a vampire because he is claustrophobic and can't handle the coffin scene. He also just broke up with his girlfriend and doesn't have a place to live. A friend of his sets him up with a nice place and shows him a woman that does a little naked dance in the window every night. Like any guy, Jake watches her every night. Through watching her, he notices another guy watching her, and sees him follow her one day. The guy steals her purse, but Jake gets it back for her. Later that night, Jake views the same guy breaking into her house. He tries to save her, but is too late. Yeah, that's just the set up.

If you are a De Palma fan, you should get a lot of satisfaction out of watching this one. If you aren't a De Palma fan, this movie is why you hate him. It definitely is not anywhere near his best, but there is something that is incredibly interesting about it. I could never recommend this to anyone though, because most people would probably be turned off to it. And I would completely understand why.
dietmountaindew
dietmountaindew

Super Reviewer

December 30, 2011
i laughed my ass off when i saw the scene where the dude steals the worn panty from the chanel paperbag in the garbage can...definitely bonerifici. lol.

it was a classic WTF moment. you were wondering whether this is a cheesy porn or really an artsy work by director like de palma..

HITCHCOKIAN PORN.
AJ V

Super Reviewer

September 6, 2010
I loved this thriller, it's got a great mystery, and keeps you guessing till the end. It's very cool, and I highly recommend it.
Conner R

Super Reviewer

January 20, 2010
It's a movie that really can't be described, it's more of an experience rather than a movie. It is incredibly campy, perverted and flat out weird, but I love every minute of it. It's kind of like Brian De Palma combined Vertigo and Rear Window into one plot and made James Stewart into an even more pathetic character who has a severe case of claustrophobia. My favorite parts though are the amazing Frankie Goes To Hollywood music video that comes out of nowhere and Melanie Griffith. She is by far one of my favorite female characters of all time, Holly does Hollywood is priceless. I think you have to be a fan of De Palma and truly understand him in order to fully appreciate this treasure.
366weirdmovies
366weirdmovies

Super Reviewer

September 29, 2009
A claustrophobic actor witnesses a murder while peeping at a beautiful woman through a telescope. This eroticized Hitchcock ripoff/tribute is fun at first, but the longer it goes on the more obvious it becomes just how wide the gulf between Brian de Palma and the Master really is.
Pierluigi P

Super Reviewer

July 9, 2007
DePalma rips-off Hitchcock once again, this time makes an uneven but enjoyable mixture between Vertigo and Rear window. a fun ride of eroticism, suspense and satire. great soundtrack by Pino Donaggio.
Chris G

Super Reviewer

March 18, 2008
This is what would happen if Vertigo and Rear Window had a baby and it went into the porn industry.
Lady D

Super Reviewer

March 25, 2007
A very odd cheesy film from the 80's which somehow held my attention, it was possibly a bit better than I'd expected.
deano
deano

Super Reviewer

November 19, 2006
This Brian De Palma thriller is often gruesome, disgusting, and exploitative. Craig Weeson is first-rate as a young actor who witnesses a brutal murder, and Melanie Griffith is often hilarious and sexy as the porno star who holds the key to the crime.
Stephen M

Super Reviewer

December 9, 2007
I like De Palma, so I can forgive him a lot, but I'm kind of with his detractors here. This ultra-sleazy fusion of "Rear Window" and "Vertigo" is hugely inferior to "Dressed to Kill", "Blow Out" and even "Raising Cain". A silly voyeuristic thriller, it features a murder plot so audacious - and so reliant on the unpredictable manipulation of a third party - that it would surely never have been attempted. Rather than squirming uncomfortably with passive complicity at the hero's voyeurism, you'll probably be laughing out loud at the hapless dullard. Some poor make-up work gives the game away from the outset, but the promise of a 'Scooby-Doo' ending might keep you watching.
Lafe F

Super Reviewer

August 2, 2007
Another great murder suspense thriller from Brian DePalma! This one was quite interesting, with a Hollywood theme, and some great plot twists throughout.
Mike T

Super Reviewer

June 26, 2006
Okay, come on. Sleazy Hitchcock ripoff has little to offer except for good cinematography and editing. The protagonist is horrendously acted and dreadfully stupid, and the movie carries the most brutal of '80s vibes.
Critique Threatt
Critique Threatt

Super Reviewer

April 6, 2012
First "Body Heat" and now in "Body Double", director Brian DePalma pays homage to the Alfred Hitchcock movies (Vertigo). Craig Wasson plays Jake, a struggling actor who keeps losing jobs because of his claustrophobia. To make matters worse, his girlfriend has walked out on him, so he has no place to sleep. His pal offers him the use of his apartment for the evening. The apartment happens to be equipped with a huge picture window and telescope, enabling him to spy on his beautiful neighbor Gloria (Deborah Shelton) while she undresses. He also bears witness to her brutal murder. And then he meets a porn star (Melanie Griffith), who has just taken a job posing as the late Gloria.

Brian DePalma "Body Double" is his love of making movies about movies. He uses Hitchcockian tones, pornographic homages, strong LA locations, 1980's decour and even 1940's film noir. I wouldn't say this is DePalma's best's but the movie picks up once the facts came altogether. I felt all the clues came a little to early in the middle of the picture. The best performance is from Melanie Griffith as adult film star Holly Body. Griffith doesn't make her character as a stupid blonde. She is seen as someone who is tough, has high standards, sensual and a swarmy sense of humour. Craig Wesson (who was great in Four Friends) plays the flawed main character Jack Scully who audiences will always remembers as the guy who picked up the panties from the garbage bin and puts it into his pocket. "Body Double" sure has it's strange moments of akward humour.
Tecnoandre
Tecnoandre

Super Reviewer

June 29, 2011
In my oppinion, this is one of Brian De Palma's best movie, and the most "Hitchcockian" of all.Starring Craig Wasson, Melanie Griffith, and Gregg Henry, in fact, the film is an homage to Alfred Hitchcock's Vertigo, Rear Window, and Dial M for Murder. The beautiful original musical score was composed by Pino Donaggio, and the cinematography is an exercise of good film making.For me is a cult movie, since i watched first time in time of its release in 1984.Real pleasure to rewatch it today.
Marcus W

Super Reviewer

February 20, 2010
In the novel, American Psycho, Patrick is obsessed with this film and continually rents it out, and it's easy to see why.

This, part-Hitchcock, part-Giallo, part-Scooby Doo, and part something else entirely is so completely different to anything else that it's almost impossible to categorise.
De Palma once again shows off his photography skills, and the plot will have you guessing right to the end.
Complete fucking genius. To say more is to ruin it.
KevinTheMovieManiac
KevinTheMovieManiac

Super Reviewer

January 19, 2009
A very creppy movie.Better shut your blinds,lol
January 10, 2014
One of the first films that I recall watching and feeling as if I'd discovered some sort of secret adult world as a teen. I recall catching it numerous times on network television as a kid, then once in the VHS days, but this recent Blu-ray re-watch really blew the doors off as far as how good the film can look.

Great stuff, sleazy and stylish fun.

Well worth a rental.
July 10, 2012
lmao! has anyone seen it again. it's hilarious! in its time i'm sure it was very racy and pushed its limits. comparing movies release now a days... it kinda doesn't hold well (to these current times) great comedy. gosh! just to think: my parents censored this movie while i was growing up! now that i'm older and had a chance to view it; i ask myself - really?
Page 1 of 22
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile